We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,457)
Filter reviews
6,457 results
Traveller rating
3,783
1,740
579
218
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,783
1,740
579
218
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs mayan suite beach bar el dorado a la carte restaurants fish the salt water pool main pool the white sands colonial lobby outdoor shower punta emilia adult pool junior suite tikal buffet white party make reservations
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 6,457 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This was our third time at this resort, we were excited to go back as our previous two times were fantastic. We were given red wrist bands which said VIP on them, which doesn't get you anything more than other guests at the resort. We arrived at the resort at 10:30 in the morning hoping to check in early. We were dealing with a trainee at the front desk so he asked a co-worker if our room might be ready earlier than the regular 3 p check-in time. We were told to come back in an hour and see if our room was ready. When we went back we sat around in the lobby waiting for someone to figure out what was going on with our room. Finally after going back up to the counter over and over they said or room would be ready by 2pm. So we dug through our luggage and changed in the washroom. Went to the pool, for a bit, went back to the counter at 2 our room was not ready. We waited until almost 3:30 for our room. We had booked one of the Mayan suites because that is where had stayed the other two times. They are lovely rooms very close to the beach with an ocean view through the trees. We found that our room was a bit run down compared to just a year before. Not sure if it was because it was a different building than in 2017. This year we were put in Villa 34, room 3406, half the lights didn't work in the room, we had no outer deck lights working, we would get an over-whelming sewage smell in the room at least once a day. There was termite damage to the closet door trim. Our shower would run super hot every once in a while, so hot we couldn't stand it. The plumbing made weird noises all night. The stairs to our room needed some repair as well. We hit a few loose boards. The one robe in our room was stained.
On to the food, we ate at the El Dorado steak house one night, service was slower than usual but still good, I had the filet steak, other than being more under-cooked than I asked for it was good. My wife had the T-bone which was awful, full of fat and grisle, needless to say she left most on the plate. The next night we ate at the Brazilian place, I believe it was called O'Pavao, it was decent food and service there,except after waiting for 10 minutes and not seeing our waiter we just left without getting our dessert.
The buffets were about the same as previous except the nightly theme was a weekly theme. Every night we ate at buffet it was Oriental night, kind of disappointing to have the same food every night.
The El Gran Azul buffet for lunch was quite good, good selection and nice hot food.
The pools were good, water was a good temperature in all three pools we went to, bar service was good. We were very disappointed that we were not able to use the salt water pool anymore as it is now exclusive to The Royal Suites section only.
All in all we were not as impressed with whole resort, the rooms are adequate but not worth what we paid, we will not return for a fourth visit.

Room Tip: Mayan Suites are the only rooms we have stayed at, this years room was a bit run down
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank PaulTeresa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear PaulTeresa2014,

Thank you for returning for the 3rd time to our Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah, it has always been an honor welcoming you!

We feel very sad to read the impression you took home of our Hotel services and facilities on this occasion, as we would have love to know about it while you were here, to make sure your stay was nothing less than grand, starting with the irregularities in your room.

We truly apologize for not fulfilling your expectations also in terms of food, we can assure you that your observations regarding the quality of dinner and service at our restaurants “El Dorado” and “O´Pavao” will be improved by our chefs and all their team.

We hope to restore your faith in us, the same faith that made you choose us for your vacation during the last 3 visits to the beautiful Riviera Maya, rest assured that the most important is your satisfaction and we will do everything in our power to provide you a better experience, should you decide to return in the future.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We have been to all the different sections of the "Palladium" including the Colonial, the White Sands, the Royal suites and the Riviera over 25 times and if you want a quieter closer to the beach room, this is perfect.. Just a short walk away from the Restaurants, the main pool and a plus is that the "royal section" beach is right there!

Stayed: May 2017
4  Thank EileenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Eileen,

We are so glad to hear of your satisfaction with our rooms in Kantenah!

It is truly fantastic to have your trust for all this years and welcome you during this trips to México is our greatest honor.

We know that our readers will appreciate your suggestions in termos of room location, especially with your experience in the different areas of the Hotel.

All the staff, that considers you part of our family, its anxious to give you a warm welcome back on your next visit, your home away home remains with the doors open until you return!

Kindest regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Beautiful location

Location is super, hotel complex is large with little carts and trains to take you around the other resorts. You don’t feel like you are over-crowded

Rooms
Junior suite large enough for 2 adults and 1 child, marble flooring so take some comfy shoes for padding around the room as feet get tired.
Tip – take a 3 way /4 way extension plug as not enough power points in the room.
Bathroom a good size – Built-in Hairdryer in the bathroom. Good mirrors and working order toilet. Take note RIU: bath is actually contained in the bathroom
Large safe and plenty of space in wardrobe for clothes and empty cases.
Fridge –not very cold but filled with water and non-alcoholic drinks. Coffee is an old-fashioned filter machine so if you like your tea or special coffee take a travel kettle. Cups in the room so again if you like a large cup of something take travel mugs.
Good aircon and fan.
Numerous channels on the TV if you would like to watch it.
Free wifi – mostly good sometimes, understandably, patchy at the beach.
Maids do a fantastic job of cleaning rooms – no set time to when they will come.

Grounds
Beautiful grounds – feels like you are walking through the jungle – lots of covered walkways to get you from A to B and – raised walkways through the mangroves.
Lots different types of birds, Iguanas, Coatis, Butterflies, Moths & Agoutis to see on your walk through – you may even be lucky enough to see a spider monkey. Oh and of course the odd resident cat that look likes it need a good feed but think they do fairly well from tip bits.
At dusk you get hear the resident frogs although as they are so tiny – we have yet to see one.
The ground staff work really hard to keep it special for us all – thank you to them for working in the hot temperatures for our enjoyment and protecting the environment.
Flamingos near receptions well cared for by the hotel staff and in a natural environment.
As you are located in the jungle I would highly recommend strong DEET mozzy spray and to be applied at dusk and buy sunscreen with it in for during the day – the walk back from the beach/pool at the end of the day is when we got bitten!

Environmental Policy
Good environmental policy – separate waste for paper and alternatives – drinking straws only handed out when asked for which is super so they don’t end up at sea. Plastic cups for around the pool and beach are reused – and locations to drop them off. Well done Palladium.
Beach
Kept very clean and the staff do a fab job of cleaning up any sea grass that gets washed up.
Very special turtle enclosure where the Mexican turtle conservation programme staff do a wonderful job, absolutely a once in a lifetime opportunity to see these baby turtles released back to the sea. They work long and hard evenings making sure the adult turtles coming in to lay their eggs are safe and the baby turtles make their way back out to sea. Please respect the conservation staff when they ask you not to get too close, touch or use flash photography. In my opinion, seeing their conservation work is an experience which puts the cruel sham of the dolphin encounters at other resorts into perspective. There are reasons for us not to touch - they wear special gloves and the majority of us are wearing mozzy spray – human touch could ultimately mean an unwell turtle that does not survive on it’s journey. Flash photos confuse the baby and mother turtles and often results in mothers returning without laying eggs and babies getting confused or blinded by the event. Expect to stand in the dark to watch this amazing wildlife experience and it not to be at a set time for us – has to be right for the staff and the turtles. NB it’s not part of the entertainment programme!

Beach bar staff are very friendly and can’t do enough to help you. Ice cream available at the beach bar and at lunch time buffet.

Entertainment
Large theatre for night time entertainment and the dancers and entertainment team work very hard to please all. Very professional shows.
Food
They do offer a card system for those with special diets – we didn’t need one for being vegetarian however - see this as positive for those with very special diets. As a vegetarian, there is choice although don’t expect that choice to change throughout your stay. The same products /meals pretty much every day. Would be nice for the hotel to maybe add some different meals to their repertoire as it has pretty much been the same choice for years.
Not so positive:
Buffet - reduction in quality over the last few years. Food is not served at the correct temperature – often cold. The only way to get hot food is by the show cooking, soup or the pasta bar. The staff seem to be just putting out ready prepared food – pizzas are stone cold and vegetables often hard sitting in luke warm water. There doesn’t appear to be any mechanism for the staff to heat or bring out food hot – it appears to be just a preparation area behind the closed doors where food is brought in. The food temperatures was mentioned to the managers on several occasions especially at breakfast where you could get a cold hash brown! This is the same in all of the buffets in the evening that we experienced.
Evening Buffets – the maitre d that asks for your room number and take you to a table are not that friendly – they don’t take any preference request and again seem to favour the travel club members. Not sure why but we were often offered a table where everyone else is queuing (kind of feeling not very special) this happened even when we were dressed for a special occasion. We were, as a family, not asking for special treatment just some respect and a table out of the way. Disappointing.
Evening buffet – on the last week we were there we did see some cockroaches around the deserts. This we have never experienced before on any of other 5 other visits to this resort. This was mentioned to the management at the time.

Lunch time – buffet (near pool)
Food isn’t great but OK for lunch time snacks and there are plenty of different breads and salad for you to choose from. There are staff preparing hot food fresh – tip: wait for a new batch to be put out – lunch simple food such as wedges, burgers, paella and fries. Strangely the pizza rotisserie still stone cold!

Palladium – please sort out your food temperatures in the buffets – this would make a huge difference to people’s opinion and is letting down the awesome resort you have. W have noticed even some of the latest reviews (Jan 18) still talk about warm food. We know that you are capable as have enjoyed hot food with you on past visits. Please consider addressing.
Restaurants – Italian we tried – food actually arrives hot – however they preference the travel club so you may need to wait for a table. There could be a queue however the travel club always jumps to the front. This didn’t used to be a problem however, on observation, this seems to have increased this last visit. They also seem quick to ask you to complete a satisfaction survey!
Bar drinks – evening
OK but not a great choice for those who don’t like beer, rum or vodka. Wine also not the greatest.
Most of the staff are lovely. They work very hard – long hours in high temperatures so keeping a smile on their faces must be difficult at times but they manage it! A special mention goes to the team at La Jarra bar.

Travel Club/ Royal guests
This does seem to be taking over somewhat – from observations on our from our last trip. Less carts/buggies available to the rest of the resort – more whizzing by just specially for travel club members. We do realise that these people pay a premium however without the regular customer the resort would not be in existence. Do hope that this does not grow to the point that other guests are completely disrespected. We travel a very long way to visit this hotel and spend good money to do so – Last trip we were starting to feel like second-class guests. Also worth noting, The royal areas are for adults only and as we travel as a family we do not like to be excluded from better pools, better areas of the beach or better restaurants.

We hear rumours of plans to expand beach areas specifically for travel club and royal guests at the Kantenah – this would sadden us – we are happy they have their own little exclusive areas but if this expands to make us feel closed-in, when we feel we have space with the way things are, then we would not find this acceptable.

Overall – beautiful hotel, fab rooms.
Some teething problems with the food temperatures – which can easily be resolved by management. Staff training for some on how to treat a customer politely – again, easily solved and Travel Club needs to be kept in check.

It pains me to write negatives about this hotel however we see this as an opportunity for the hotel to take on board comments and resolve as they are all easily fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for thinking of us again after your last visit in August last year.

We truly appreciate your comment and it is fantastic to know that you have been here for 5th times and still love our comfortable rooms, entertainment, our environmental policy and our care for the natural surroundings.

Regarding the food temperature, this subject has been addressed by our Food & Beverage Manager and his team, we feel sad to know that this is still an area of improvement, we can assure you that they will find the best way to resolve this situation.

We also feel very concerned to read your opinion about the golf carts, no cart was taken from those that already existed for our regular visitors, on the contrary, we made sure to purchase more carts to offer service for Travel Club Members and TRS guests, with the purpose of releasing the regular carts to meet the demand of our guests.

Nevertheless, we will consider your comments as this is the best way to know, what our clients consider of the changes we make in our complex. Ultimately, what interests us most is that our guests are satisfied and return year after year to enjoy an excellent vacation.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back on your next stay.

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Every year we question "Should we go back to the same place again?" and every year we are thankful we did! This was our 5th visit to the Grand Palladium Kantenah, and we had another fabulous time.

I've done full reviews of the resort previously, so if you want to see that please check my other reviews. I will cover what we noticed as different since last year.

First the BAD.
1. The resort complex is made up of 5 hotels. One of which is TRS - The Royal Suites. It appears that TRS is the big focus now as they have taken one of the 4 other hotels and merged it into TRS. What this means is that unless you stay at TRS (Adults only) you no longer have access to the Saltwater pool. This was a disappointment to my kids as we usually snorkel in that pool as there are lots of fish to see and it's a safe environment.

2. Steak House - El Dorado
Overall the food was decent, but our waiter messed up about half the orders and some of the steaks weren't cooked as per the order.

3. Service at Grand Azul - They seem to be under-staffed at the Grand Azul, as the service can be quite slow. It's an outdoor buffet, so the only service required is drink orders and table clearing. Prompt table clearing is important as the animals will come into the seating area to pick food from the plates if they are not cleared away. Need more staff here at lunch time!

4. Umbrellas in the room! - It rained a few times while we were there and it would have been nice if there was a courtesy umbrella in the room for evenings.

5. Beach Bar table service was a bit slow.

6. Breakfast Buffet - Always seemed to be a shortage of ketchup for some reason.

Now the GOOD
1. They expanded the beach bar which now has more seating.
2. Breakfast buffets are still absolutely amazing...everything you could want.
3. Hector from La Hacienda provided wonderful service at dinner.
4. New ping pong tables are top notch and the central location is also better than under the trees.
5. Big Chess is back!!! Thank you!! My kids and I LOVE the big chess board and pieces, and given that it was always being used, I guess lots of other people do as well!
6. Daniel (bartender) at the beach bar was excellent.
7. Alberto who delivered drinks by the pool near the Grand Azul was excellent and always stopped to ask if we wanted drinks and never messed up a single order!
8. The Animacion team are fantastic, specifically Axel, Alexia, Alejandro and Brandon
9. They implemented TV screens in the lobby that shows the GPS location of the inter-lobby trains....very cool as you can now see how long you need to wait, and can make an informed decision to walk if you prefer!
10. At O'Pavao restaurant Lorenzo, Alberto and Federico provided Excellent service. Although the cuts of meat were sometimes chewy.
11. New Buffet: La Dahlia: This was going to be a negative point originally, as they removed the giant Kabah buffet and replaced it with this smaller one. But it is fantastic! Service was excellent, food was amazing, and the decor was just great. Loved this place! Froylan gave us excellent service there as well!
12. The Animacion team would walk around with large sign boards explaining what activity was happening and when. This is a great idea! Very easy to see what's going on.
13. Casino night was so much fun!! Well done whoever dreamed that up! You need more tables and chips for next year!
14. Portofino Restaurant - Being of Italian descent, I was skeptical about this place but my wife wanted to go. I thought the food overall was very good, and Basilio provided great service! One tip for the chef...the centre of my ravioli was cold....make sure you let them heat through properly!
15. Lots of live music all over the resort. Very nice touch.
16. There were "Pop up" bars making specialty drinks in the White Sands resort which was a very nice touch and allowed you to try something you might not have otherwise considered. Great idea!!
17. Don Julio Reposado - Excellent Tequila. Thank you for stocking this wonderful spirit!

Overall we were extremely happy with our choice and would likely go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank FabioB_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Dear Fabio,

Thank you for once more, taking the great decision to return to our paradise, we are very honored to have such a loyal family spending holidays with us!

First, we want to show you our appreciation for this fantastic feedback, your observations regarding service in our restaurants and the suggested umbrella for the room, have been transmitted to the corresponding departments.

Furthermore, we understand that not all changes we have done will be well accepted by everyone, be certain that your perception will be share with our Management, nevertheless, our goal is to continue innovating, creating new spaces for you and your family to enjoy and as you could have noticed with our renovation of the snack bar and new additions in restaurants and premium beverages, we will continue to grow year by year, offering you novelties for your satisfaction.

We are also very appreciative of the compliments for our exceptional staff throughout the property, and will be sure to share your comments with Hector, Daniel, Alberto and everyone else you mentioned in your review. They will all be very glad to hear you were pleased with their service.

It will be so lovely to welcome you soon, rest assured that each time you stay with us we will endeavor to show you that you have made the right decision by choosing us for your holidays again!

Kind regards from all your Palladium Family!

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I really wanted to love it here. We traveled with my sisters family and my parents. My mom was diagnosed with terminal cancer and we were taking a family trip.
FRONT DESK: I emailed the resort many times to communicate our situation and ask for rooms that would be best for my Mom. I called customer service, posted here in questions (Pedro responded) and emailed all the suggested people. Lucky my family got there a day before my parents. When we got there, no one had any record of my requests. NANCY, the most unwelcoming, patronizing horrible customer service person I have ever met. She did not even say hello when we arrived. She is trained to say no to everything 5 times. I finally got 2 (of the 5 rooms) in close proximity. It was 930.
The first set of room in building 46: our room was completely smoked through. The room also had stained comforters, hair in the bathroom and stained sheets, a broken screen door, broken dresser door, broken phone. So we went to our kids room to call the front desk (the terrible Nancy). Our kids room had s missing door handle so we got trapped in the kids room and had to be rescued by security. After a long haggle, Nancy had us sleep elsewhere while the original room was ozonated overnight. We got to our room by 11:30. The next day, with the smoke still a problem, we had to haggle for another 1.5 hours to get moved to livable rooms best building 47. My sister had the same problem with her room (smoking). We also noticed that something was broken in all the rooms.
LESSONS Learnt: ask for service, they will say no, ask to see Pedro, they will send another “customer service” person who will give you something a tiny bit better, ask for Pedro again. After 5 tries, you will not see Pedro but they may fulfill your request. It’s all comical except, you are wasting time and energy.
FOOD: This is the first time is all of our all-inclusive travels and cruising that I had a hard time finding something to eat. We don’t eat pork so this may have been a unique situation, lots of pork options.
BEACH: awesome. Yes, there where rocky parts, but it was spacious and when it was calm, crystal clear. Lots of shade, we could always find chars. No towel cards when we were there.
SERVICE: it’s a shame that the front desk killed it for us. Everyone else works so hard to make your vacation special. The rest of the service staff were the best we have had anywhere. Buffets, restaurants, bars. Can’t say enough good things. Maybe Nancy should be trained by one of the buffet servers what customer service means.
ENTERNTAIMENT: We found this resort a little quiet for our group. No happy music or dancing. It was boring at night.
CLINIC: this is purely for planning purposes… unfortunately one of our kids had the flu so we saw the docs twice. They can prescribe antibiotics and check for general symptoms but… flu tests or strep test had to be done at the hospital. I recommend you bring meds with you if you anticipate possible problems, I wish I had antibiotics for my kids.
Overall, I probably would not go back primarily because of Nancy.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank kokaadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Dear Guest,

First, thank you for deciding to make this special trip to the Riviera Maya with your family and for selecting our Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah.

It makes us feel very pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty of our beach and facilities, all our staff will be very happy to know that attentions in general received from bartenders, wait staff and more was the best service you ever had.

We deeply apologize for the situation presented with your rooms upon arrival, all your requests were in our system indeed, but as you might know, our front desk depends on the availability of rooms they have at the time of your arrival.

Of course, this does not justify the bad smell of your room and we regret to know that the situation was not well handled by Nancy, we have already transmitted your observations to our Management, to make sure that this does not happen again.

We tried to do everything possible so that you and your family were comfortable, accommodating your different requests in the room, which is why we are saddened that these events, in some way, harmed your general perception of the services and attentions received in our Hotel.

We assure you that we will work on the points you mention to improve and we hope you reconsider the possibility of visiting us again, it will always be a pleasure to welcome you in the company of your beautiful family.

With our best regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews