We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My family and I spent a couple of weeks at the resort last summer.

We had no idea what to expect as this was our first visit. We always rent a car when in Cancun, and it took us about 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen to the resort. Our first impresion was very positive. Beautiful grounds and public areas. Check in was easy. We had two adjoining rooms on the second floor of one of the Kantenah units. Not too far from the beach and not too far from the Lobby area. The rooms did smell musty, but after turning on the AC it seemed to dissipate. The rooms were of a good size, and the bathrooms adequate. The TV was antiquated and broke down several times during our stay. The refrigerator was stocked daily with soft drinks and beer. The housekeeping staff was pleasant and competent. A safe was located in the closet.

We were there in August and it was HOT and HUMID. We like it that way. The resort is large! Walking a lot is unavoidable. There is transportation available from the lobbies, and regular stops along set routes. There is plenty to do. Numerous pools (large and small), a long and beautiful beach (most areas rocky - bring water shoes), a complete Spa, a sports area (not as nice nor as complete as it could be - my three boys were disapointed) and the kids' social/sports organizing staff were not exciting or motivating. There were lots of places to eat and drink.

This was a laid back vacation. No problems.
Food at the buffets was ok. Food at the a la cartes was fine. Sometimes you had to wait a bit. Entertainment in the evening was often crowded, but not bad. Wifi is available in the lobby areas, but is a bit spotty. We found most of the staff to be polite and helpful. The bartenders in some of the busier bars were not as attentive as could be desired.

We swam, snorkled, segwayed, danced, ate and ate more, drank and drank more, played soccer, minigolf, basketball,volleyball. We played cards, listened to live music, met friends and had a good time. Attitude is everything. No problems.

Sra Banesa Maria Burque we are coming back this August.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank execmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear execmd,

It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great vacation and to know that you come this august again.

Please, if we can help you with anything or with your reservation, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,010
    1,455
    481
    184
    101
See reviews for
1,582
2,271
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My familty and I stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantenah for 4 nights in Jan. 2012. I am First Secretary at the Canadian Embassy in Mexico City and my parents came from Canada to meet my wife and daughter in Akumal. Although I agree with the very positive comments about the Kantenah, such as beautiful grounds etc, we had a serious problem in our room that was handled extremely poorly. Our secound night there was a rain storm and our room flooded completely, damaging a 2 pairs of leather shoes and my wifes leather bag. We we~re told it was a problem with the air conditioning and the problem had been fix, after having to call 5 times and wait until 12 noon for someone to come.... the nex night it rained again and flooded the room again. I am writing this negative criticsim more to the fact that no one seemed to care about our problem and at no time were we offered a different room. We use TripAdvisor regularily and tried to find ^Banesa^ who seems to respond to the criticisms however no one knew who she is... or she was always at a different part of the hotel. When we checked out, we asked for some kind of compensation and even showed the pictures and explained, again, our situation. we we~re told that Gran Palladium ^takes no responsibility^. The hotel was very full when we went and we honestly understand that ~theses things happen^, but the indignidad and complete lack of respect was not worth the very nice grounds and beach area.... there are many hotels in the Riveria Maya area. I would not risk having something like this ruin your vacation. If you would like any further information please contact me and I will be happy to give you my contact information at the Canadian Embassy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank debby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear debby b,

I would like to give you my deepest apologies for the incident that you have had during your vacation.

I will see this with our team.

Please, if you decide to visit the hotel in the future, don't hesitate to contact with me.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2-week all-inclusive holiday booked via Thompson - and quite simply this place is phenomenal.

There are enough reviews on here that can tell you all about the facilities, staff, rooms, food, drink etc etc. Take time to read them through and appreciate that it is a very large resort with some much to offer.

If you are thinking about booking this resort - do not think twice. Everything positive that has been written about the Grand Palladium is true.

Rooms - Top quality
Food - Unbelievable...impossible not to find something you cant eat.
Drink - Endless and plentiful and cocktail heaven.
Staff - So genuinely happy to serve you and make you feel welcome

If you have read anything negative on here then ignore it - it has probably been written by either of the following:

a. Jumped up snobs who seem to think they probably deserve individual treatment.
b. 'Meat and 2 veg' eating hankie hat wearing Brits who would be more happy in Blackpool.
c. And some fairly odd others who probably had a dodgy Pina Colada.

Happy to receive any messages from Brits thinking about booking.

Room Tip: If you are perhaps a little elderly and dont like walking try and get in Villas 1 or 2 within the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adey&P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Adey&P,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for share with us your comments.

Best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and i just returned April 20-26, we both had the best vacation ever! This was are second trip to this beautiful resort and cant wait to have a third trip. Beaches are beautiful and u have your pick of plenty of beach chairs. Pools are very fun with group activities to join in or just to watch. Food was great everyplace we ate at. Especially the Japanese restaurant & the steak house. I loved that you dont need reservations and we never waited longer then 30 min. Workers are all very nice, kind, and fun. Please tip, cuz it means so much to them. Our room was very nice. We stayed at the Kantenah side. On the second floor. They told us that when its our third trip to this resort, we will get an upgraded room. Is that true??? I hope so. They did give us a nice fruit basket for our second time being here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jjoebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear jjoebon,

Thank you for share with us your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium. I am glad to know that you have had a great time this time too.
Regarding the up grades, are subject to the availability of the resort.

Please, if you decide to visit the hotel again, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

o.k., just got back from vacation last night and I must admit, for the price we paid for four nights (it was a quickie vacation, we live in the "neighborhood", Fort Lauderale, Florida) I was really impressed! The ride from the Cancun Airport to the resort would have taken an hour but since it was a "share" transfer" it took longer, but that's fine. When we arrived at the Kantenah we were greeted with drinks, warm towels to freshen up with, and an upgrade to a junior suite not far from the beach, which is what we wanted. I'ved read other reviews about the rooms, claiming they were' dated". I had no complaints. The balcony was large, faced the jungle, and since we were on the top floor we even had a tiny little view of the ocean. As far as the bed, I thought it was comfortable and clean. Housekeeping always did a good job, and we even had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. So far so good. To get around, you can walk, walk, walk, since it's a huge, really huge property with exchange privileges and shared facilities at the higher end Riviera and White Sands property, including their pools, bars, restaurants. Since the property is so large, if you don't want to walk they have golf carts that show up every 3-4 minutes that can transport you anywhere you want to go, they also have a tram/train that runs from hotel lobby to hotel lobby.

As far as the beach, I thought it was wonderful with plenty of hammocks, lounge chairs and tikis all along the beach which had to be at least 3/4 of a mile long. There were also a number of bars and two "on the sand" beach grills where you could get lunch.

And speaking of food, again, we were very impressed. The breakfast buffets were great, everything from freshly made omelettes, quiche, pastries, bacon, sausage, smoothies, loads of fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese and lox, to mexican specialties. If you can't find something to eat there you've got an eating disorder. Same thing for the other buffets (the one I wasn't that impressed with was the poolside buffet for lunch). As far as dinner, I loved the a la carte restaurants we ate in, the steakhouse, Portofino, and the mediterranean restaurant, I don't remember it's name, but I sure had a wonderful rack of lamb there, tender, tasty, wonderful. I also had a wonderful shrimp dish with jumbo shrimp at the Italian restaurant and all of the ala cartes we ate in had nice salad/appetizer bars. After dinner they rolled out the dessert cart with a nicely decorated and yummy assortment of desserts.

If you preferred the buffets for dinner, they had a different theme every night, french, mexican, seafood. They also have a nice beach bar b que with steak, chicken, ribs, burgers, etc. on Wednesday and Friday nights with music.

I think my favorite place in the resort was the rock pool. It was beautiful, with beach beds and you can climb into the pool and "swim with the fishes", since the pool is saltwater and opens to the beautiful Caribbean. There's even a bar there for drinks and the view of the ocean and the beach is phenomenal.

All and all, this is a fabulous place to go, For the money, it's definitely a five star property, but since it doesn't have room service, it's not a legitimate five star, but perhaps a 4.5 star property. It's lovely, though, but again, it's sprawling with lots of walking through gardens, jungle, past the flamingos, etc. One suggestion I'd like to make to management, though: You need more direction signs when walking through the jungle paths. We got lost and went out of our way looking for the adult pool on the Kantenah side. Other than that, this was a fabulous place to visit, especially on a budget as it's very reasonably priced. You get a lot for the money, good food, beautiful beach, entertainment (if that's your thing) a friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable accomodations. All in all, it can't be beat, and I disagree with a lot of the negative reviews. When we were there we had amazingly good weather (April 24 - April 28) and we didn't see a lot of bugs. I can see this place perhaps being crazy during spring break, but when we were there it was pretty quiet and mellow, there were families, couples, honeymooners and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Considering all the amenities and the cost, the abundant wildlife at the resort, the lovely beach and gorgeous pools (sparkling clean, like the rest of the resort) I wouldn't hesitate to go!!!

Room Tip: e-mail the hotel a week in advance requesting what you want and they'll try to accomodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Cosmom,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to thank you for share with us your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium.

I am agree with you, the saltwater pool, "Las Rocas", is a nice place and ideal for relax.

I will take note about your observations.

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
10.1 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
1.5 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
9.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,269 - ₹ 33,643
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing