We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,962)
Filter reviews
5,962 results
Traveller rating
3,564
1,487
519
222
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,564
1,487
519
222
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs the white sands adult pool the salt water pool a la carte restaurants fish el dorado sports bar main pool mayan suite travel club punta emilia junior suite white party segway tour riviera lobby something for everyone
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 5,962 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend travelled here in July, and found it to be very different to the 5 star hotels we normally stay at when we visit Mexico (we have been 5 times before). What we first loved was that they had a cocktail menu; however what we realised is that what you order from the menu isn't what you receive. For example there are cocktails that include blueberry syrup or kiwi flavouring however these never appear in your drink. Also you will receive a different drink every time even though you order the same thing so don't get set on one cocktail because the chances of you having it again are slim.

We particularly enjoyed the hideaway adults pool as it was nice and quiet but you didnt get too bored as there were other people there, it was a nice pool and had its own bar and towel area. However, the waiter there is lovely however the service you receive is not equal, for example some days he will make a special drink or shot and offer it to two couples and thats it, so dont expect amazing service all the time at this pool. It was however, better than the service at the main pools regardless of whether you are at colonial or white sands you will find it hard to spot a pool waiter and if you want a drink you have to go and get it yourself which isnt what we expected from a 5* hotel even though we tipped and had money to tip there wasnt anyone around to give it to.

In regards to tipping, what we noticed is that staff at this hotel expect to be tipped, we always tip wherever we go if the service is good but staff here will provide average service and expect a tip regardless. In one restaurant i waited 40 minutes for my drink, we ended up coming home with a lot of our tipping money because the service was so bad in some restaurants they didnt deserve a tip.

In regards to the restaurant we enjoyed ribs and more and the steak restaurant; however as with all the restaurants they were all hit and miss. For example the first time we went to ribs and more we ordered off their burger menu and i had the chicken burger which was lovely, we then went back and i had the burger stuffed with cheese and found there was no cheese in it. Some restaurants are better than others but what we learned is youre better off having exactly what you had before. The tapas restaurant and the italian were the worst and everyone else we spoke to seemed to agree. Show cooking at the japanese was good and the mexican, the fish and the thai were average; however considering you had to book the fish restaurant we expected something more 'posh' than we got. You could tell it was a snack bar during the day and didnt look that great. The garlic prawns were really good much better than the ones at the tapas and the fish main with all the different types were nice but when we were there 4 of the mains they didnt have and it was only 8pm.

In terms of location we were in villa 5 in colonial and it was the best place to be we hardly used the golf buggies because we were within a 5 minute walk to white sands and a 5 minute walk to colonial, however i wouldnt recommend taking heels as i only wore mine twice due to the amount of walking. The rooms are nice, old fashioned in comparison to other hotels around but the beds were comfy and a room is a room at the end of the day we also managed to get wifi everywhere even if it was a bit slow at times.

We booked 3 trips, Xel ha, Xcaret and coco bongo. We enjoyed all three and would recommend coco bongo to everyone; however the policy of booking trips here is different to other hotels we have been to where you can 'shop around' the providers for the best price. Here you have to book with the company you fly with which was tui in our case.

Buffets were nice however there was no rotation so dont go in every lunch time expecting something different. Breakfast and lunch only buffets are open.

Overall we enjoyed our stay however we wouldnt class this hotel as even being close to a 5* hotel due to the lack of service and the food quality.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms, villa 5 if possible
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank courtney826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaR3270, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear courtney826,

Thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Colonial as host for your recent vacations and especially for taking the time to share with us your opinion about your stay.

On a positive note, we are very happy to know that you loved our grounds, the location and comfort of your room, your relaxing moments at our adults only pool and the great activities you have done outside the resort.

Regarding your impression of our food, we truly regret reading that our dining options have not met your expectations; please accept our sincerest apologies, especially for the inconsistencies in the different dishes you had and drinks, we appreciate your kind remarks and be certain that your comments will not be overlooked.

Moreover, usually our staff is recognized by their wonderful attentions and genuine interest to ensure that our guests are having the best time, reason why we were intrigued to read that you did not receive the fantastic service they normally provide, also considering that the tips are already included.

Nevertheless, we truly care about our guest's perception of us and we can assure you that your feedback will be shared with our management team; without a doubt, your opinion is a great help to improve our performance and achieve the highest levels of satisfaction of our guests.

As you are a frequent traveler to 5-star Hotels destinations, we would be very grateful to welcome you again and show you that we are capable of providing you with a stay that is exceptional in every sense.

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had never been to Mexico before, but I’m pretty sure this was one of the best holidays we have been on! We stayed in the Colonial for 1 week but there are other hotels on this resort. You can use all of the facilities at any of the hotels(except TRS) beach, pool, shows, bars, restaurants, etc. The Ala Carte restaurants were wonderful...No reservations except for the Japanese and Seafood. The buffets had plenty of food and variety. The pools were beautiful, clean and plenty of sunbeds. Excellent service!! The staff was always smiling and willing to help when needed, special thanks to Daniel from the adult secret pool, to Jorge from El Dorado, to Maria from Tikal. The rooms were always well cleaned and refrigerator well stocked. Definitely would visit this place again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibororban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaR3270, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear tibororban,

Thanks for the wonderful privilege of being your chosen hotel during your first visit to Mexico, it has been a real honor to receive you in this beautiful paradise of the Riviera Maya during your vacations.

We appreciate your generous and detailed description about the services and facilities that you enjoyed in all our complex, where we had the opportunity to pamper you with delicious food and excellent service!

We are also happy that our staff has made a positive impact on you, we will share your comments with María, Daniel and Jorge.

You are very kind for recommending us to other travelers, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Bets regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We spent two weeks in this hotel. A couple of weeks before the arrival we sent an email to them that this is going to be our honeymoon. We got a very nice room, and they surprised us with some little presents.
The size of the room is normal, it is clean and you can find everything in it what you need. The bed is convenient as well.
There are different buffets and a'la carte restaurants. There are lots of different selections of food, drink and desserts. The quality of the food was good, we specially liked the fresh-made mix of juices in the morning.
The pool is huge, you can enough amount of sun beds around it, and at the beach as well. There are different bars close to any area, but waitresses are bypassing frequently and collecting the orders.
There are different activities available during the whole day. The entertainment team does great job. We especially liked the beach volleyball, the crazy games, dance classes, sun salutation, pilates, jump fitness and yoga. We would like to say thank you to Uziel, John, Adriana and Yuliana for the unforgettable moments and the lot of fun.
In the evenings we enjoyed the amazing shows and the parties with the entertainment team. We really liked the white party with the Wobble baby song :D
We would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody, but especially for young people/couples. We will never forget the time that we spent there.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Péter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaR3270, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Péter

Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure if being your hosts during this special Honeymoon trip!

We are very happy to know that you loved the special Honeymoon amenities that were placed in your comfortable and clean room, that you were satisfied with the variety and quality of food in our restaurants, and that many memories were created during your stay with our entertainment team doing fun activities.

We will share you uplifting words with Yuliana, Adriana, Uziel and John, they will be so happy to know that you remember them!

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back many times in the years to come.

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Pros: Immaculate grounds. Luxurious rooms. Concrete walking paths. Delicious foods -buffets to specialty food (reservations). We ate Japanese and Steak House. Service was great.

Cons: Quite a distance from the airport. Small man made beach - had lots of sea weeds when we were there in March.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gregsC8557LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaR3270, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear gregsC8557LY,

Thank you for staying in our Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial during your visit to Mexico.

We are glad that we have made your rest enjoyable in our rooms, as well as delight your palate with our All Inclusive.

Concerning your comment about the beach, we feel very sad that during your visit in March it´s beauty was not up to your expectations, this is part of a natural phenomenon, we are proactively working on long-term, environmentally friendly solutions to have a beautiful beach and we continue working every day to remove the seaweed of the shore.


We will be happy to have you as our guest again, please contact us to ensure that we provide you with the best travel experience.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip to this hotel in Mexico and it was just as good as the last one rooms spacious and clean w was in block 20 near the main pool we had 2 interconnected rooms
My children are 18 and 21 plus my daughter brought her boyfriend
We was checked in quickly and taken to our rooms
Always very clean
We used the room service this time it does take about 45 mins but it’s all freshly cooked and delivered with a smile
We ate at the steak house Brazilian ribs and more Italian tapas my daughter also ate at the Japanese Thai and Mexican she want keen at the Mexican but all the service at all the restaurants was excellent you can use the buffets or the restaurants most nights we got seated quiet quickly my favourite was the Italian
Pools excellent you could still find sunbirds at lunchtime this is the only pool I have been to where you don’t see mould around the edges as they have people in the pool cleaning them all day long the waitresses at the pool are lovely the pool bar is very busy so just be patient they are very polite and good at their jobs
If you need a book to read head to the Hemingway bar in Kentahah side they have a wide selection in many languages I dropped my books off here
We went to see the release of the turtles which is done nearly every night as long as their isn’t a thunder storm check at the reception for times
My daughter went scuba diving which isn’t run by the hotel she done this a couple of years ago which was a better deal we paid 130 dollars each this time and the try to see if you liked it came out of your scuba diving time so did the safety video last time we had this on top plus a video recording and it was only your group that went down this time there was 3 groups and it was very short and rushed so I would look into it before you pay
We went coco bongos which I would recommend and the coba maya temple which was great
Would I come again yes we all would

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Redtraceyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaR3270, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Redtraceyy,

Thank you so much for helping us by posting this wonderful review about your second holidays in our Palladium complex.

We are really honored to have your preference and we are pleased to know that this family vacation was wonderful, while you adored our comfortable facilities, the meals in our restaurants and the moments you enjoyed in our pools.

We appreciate your tips and recommendations to other travelers and it is fantastic to know that you will be returning, hopefully soon!

In Palladium you have a permanent home and we will be looking forward to welcome you and offer you another excellent vacation.

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews