We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,155)
Filter reviews
11,155 results
Traveller rating
6,833
2,736
906
392
288
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,833
2,736
906
392
288
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar dolce vita infinity pool a la carte restaurants fish don pablo frutos del mar akumal buffet other resorts butler service akumal section main lobby tulum ruins show table adults only section activities pool cancun airport
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 11,155 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Luxury Grand Bahia Akumal Don Pueblo Collection

There was a total of 6 family members on this trip 2 from Montreal and 4 from Toronto. Traveling from September 1 - 8, 2018. We all traveled with Air Transat, for us flying from Montreal the flight was on time and uneventful as was the flight from Toronto. The bus ride takes about 1 1/2 hours. My wife and myself arrived earlier getting to the resort at around 2 PM at the time our room wasn't ready so we walked around and went for a bite to eat at the main buffet. We had been at the Sian Ka'an Don Pueblo Collection in January with my mother so we knew the resort fairly well. The food was just as we remembered it very good and plentiful. After lunch we got our room. The room had a muggy smell which either we got used to or it disappeared after a day or two. The rooms as has been mentioned are dated but comfortable, always cleaned very well, bar filled and hot water for showers and of course air conditioning and a ceiling fan to keep you cool. What else do you need. In total our group occupied 4 rooms in block 65 and no one had a problem with anything. The rest of the group came in around 7 and by 7:30 PM we were seated in the main buffet for supper. Saturday is lobster night so for the first night there this was special, lobster wine family and good food come on this is heaven. As my brother in law put it this is the best buffet I have ever been to bar none, great choice and very good. This was the first time to Mexico for my sister, brother and brother in law one of the main reasons for choosing this resort was the food, service, activities and overall great very attentive good people. I needed it to be a good comfortable experience for everyone. The beach had an issue with seaweed no one's fault although we could walk the beach and swim in the ocean if you wanted. We did notice that by the third day of our vacation you could swim in the ocean it got progressively cleaner. The ocean water did still have a greenish tinge to it but it was markedly better by the end of our vacation. We still took the opportunity to feed the fish and enjoy the beach. Our block 65 was located right beside the adults only infinity pool. This was and is a great feature in the area you have the pool, beach access and a buffet area for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast was very good and I would say we ate there for breakfast at least 5 of the day we were there. We did have lunch twice there very good but nothing beats the main lunch buffet for choice. We did watch a couple of the night time shows which were very good. Sorry no excursions to report on this trip everyone just sat back and enjoyed what the resort had to offer. Because we had been at the Sian Ka'an in January one afternoon we went there to show my sister and brother in law what we had experienced there. The lunch buffet again was great not as much choice as Akumal but very good. We got to show them one of the rooms at the resort and we all agreed that the rooms we much more modern and stylish. The Sian Ka'an is a laid back easy going resort very quite, Zen with a more take it easy relax we'll take care of you feeling. I do believe that some family members will be returning to the Sian Ka'an. Both resorts are fantastic you can't go wrong with either and because you book at the Luxury Akumal or Sian Ka'an you can go back and forth to either. Only difference is you need to take the shuttle to the beach, gym, tennis courts and a few other places.

We as a family want to thank the team at the Grand Bahia Principe. Our family trip was very memorable and a great place to start for people who have never been to Mexico

Room Tip: As mentioned in review block 65
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sunseeker058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationAku, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal; we would like to thank you for trusting in our Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We are grateful with your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great food, entertainment, your clean room, and the great service of our staff.

It will be wonderful to welcome you again, so please contact us 3 weeks before your next arrival at our email address info.akumal@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were apprehensive about staying here due to the size of the site. However this was a bonus as we were able to walk to the other hotels and use their facilities. We quite liked the Coba of an evening as they had some decent entertainment. The other things we liked:

Adult only breakfast area by adult pool
Branded drinks
App for your phone so you could book your own specialty restaurants
Excellent staff
Decent food

The best New Year’s Eve do we have ever been to. We were concerned as we couldn’t understand where everyone would go but they have a large area by the Tulum which is normally used for the market which was converted for the event. The main DISLIKE was there was an area by the dance floor cordoned off for VIPs which made it difficult to get to the dance floor. When you pay as much as we did for Xmas away, everyone is a VIP.

Would I recommend this hotel - yes I would.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BeckyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationAku, Online Reputtation at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying in Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

It is a real pleasure to read your kind words. It is wonderful to know you could enjoy the adult only area, drink selection, the food and the excellent staff.

We have taken note of every detail you have mentioned in your review and they been sent to those departments involved.

Be sure we all will be waiting your next stay in paradise; it will be wonderful to serve you again! Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.akumal@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Our warmest Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Day 5 just got up at 5.30am again. I feel like I'm at work getting up this early Hotel where are all your umbrellas? You know this is a problem why havent you sorted it? Please give a straight answer.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
22  Thank mexico2018848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationAku, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for trusting Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal. It will be a real pleasure to assist you!

Accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may be experiencing, I have reported this situation to the department in charge. A proper follow-up to your comments will be given right away.

Our philosophy is focused on our guests’ satisfaction and we are doing our best to change your perception.

We kindly ask that you approach our public relations desk and contact one of our Guest services managers, they will be happy to assist you.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us again. We also let you know that one of our Guest services will be in contact with you for further assistance.

Kind regards and have a great day,
Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arriving at the complex we were quite struck with the imaginative temple like structures being slightly hoodwinked by the enthusiastic attentions of many porters insisting on attending to our bags and this continued with similar attentive welcomes from many other staff whilst checking in. We were transported to our room 6313 (near the infinity pool) via electric buggy by our designated Butler, initially this was overwhelming however we quickly realised its all about tips as the wages are so pitifully poor!

Our room smelt damp as the balcony is north facing along with high humidity it remained that way throughout our two week stay even with the patio door left open with fan and air conditioning several items including clothes developed mould spots and were subsequently ruined. The room itself was large being fitted with reasonable quality units, a flat TV and a massive super King size bed spoilt by everything including the bed constantly being damp.

Having spent a few days travelling around the resort via the brilliant electric cart / road trains and of course on foot we agreed the Akumal complex where we were staying was by far the best as this area afforded a massive pool area at the main reception / entertainment area along with two other pools including the infinity pool (adults) where we spent most of each day relaxing.

Beware though the photos published are NOT the same as what we experienced as the sea is not stunning calm crystal clear waters! Quite the opposite, as the waves crashing in they are treacherous with swimming being confined to the man made bunded areas. The beaches are man made and they are fighting a loosing battle against the tons and tons of seaweed being washed in whist even these areas are being eroded by the waves. Every day large groups of workers armed with pitchforks, rakes quad bikes JCB diggers and Bobcat front loaders, lorries, trucks and trailers are carting the massive amounts of seaweed away. These activities are not shown or declared in any of the promotion materials and as a consequence we were very disappointed. The smell and noise is not at all pleasant or conducive to a relaxing 5* holiday resort!

Moving on trying to remain positive, as with many A/I resorts the impressive selection of food initially looked inviting however after just a couple of days it was agreed more effort and emphasis had been placed on appearance rather than taste or compatibility of ingredients making it at times (frequently) very difficult to build a meal such as for instance, my wife commented she would never have opted for a slice of pizza and a chicken wing on the same plate but it was all she could find that looked appetizing.

Service was mostly enthusiastic (for tips) although often very slow as we realised the table service waiters would attempt to capture many orders in one visit to optimise the potential of tips. Service at the bars would be hampered and delayed by the bar person attending to the table orders or simply being rude and ignorant. On two occasions the rudeness went too far, upsetting my wife and daughter, subsequently two written formal complaints were made. It is important to get the names of those that do it to you and find the appropriate Manager however to-date I never received any feed-back or confirmation any action had been taken and again this raised question of the accuracy to the star rating?

With regard to the issues raised regarding quality and standards I have written a more extensively detailed letter of complaint and compliment emailed to the Manager; info@bahia-principe.com

Overall we had a really nice holiday and I must include as we were increasingly becoming frustrated with so many failings and shortcomings we arranged (booked) a gormet evening meal at the golf complex and wow what a fantastic evening, meal and top quality service was experienced by everyone in our party of ten. Wilbert our waiter was utterly professional in every way he executed his duties ensuring we had a fabulous evening (so sorry if name is spelt wrong).
We had previously tried the 'Brazilian' evening and what a shambles, the service was rushed with the waiter becoming frumpy and rude along with quite horrible poorly cooked food with everone agreeing in disappointment at wasting our evening enduring such rubbish!

We had a good holiday in what in reality is perhaps a very good 3* or very poor 4* NEVER A 5*! Whilst I have rated the property as average, this is because it was very good 3* worth the visit however we have had much better closer to home for the same or less cost. Also beware this is a massive complex arrangement of several hotel lobbies with various facilities however once you are here thats it theres nothing else as the bars close at 11.00pm sharp there really is nothing else! The Hotel boast 24hr A/I thats NOT being totally honest as indeed there is a 24hr snack bar however it is very basic with very limited choices of food and drink. It is grubby and unappealing and was closed without notice on two evenings, other arrangements were made whereby it was warm tins of cheap lager, a few spirit drinks and one choice of cocktail potentialy 2* standards on a good day!
Finally, where would you want to go where sewage water is freely being spayed over the grassed and flower bed areas next to the pools, to the side of seating areas by the bars and outside our rooms, remarkable!
We had a nice holiday because we made it a nice holiday, we had to!

Room Tip: There are villas with sea views almost on the beach near the infinity pool
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NIGEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationAku, Online Reputtation at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal and for making us participants of your experience at our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments regarding your vacation with us, it is unfortunate that we could not make your stay as good as you expected and deserved. We thank you for letting us know your observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us

We have sent this information to every Department Involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction.

We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.akumal@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind regards!

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

just returned from this hotel.We have stayed in some nice hotels in the past but this surpassed any thing we had stayed in before.It would be difficult to fault anything.From location to hotel in general to all staff to the weather.For us it was truly heaven,we wanted a quiet relaxing week,and boy did we get it.spent most days on beach where we were extremely looked after being with drinks when ever requested.food as good, a la carte restraurants too numerous to mention all across complex..thank you akumal we will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank daveandjaneWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationAku, Online Reputation at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team we want to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking from your valuable time to share the positive aspects from the services you enjoyed while you were with us.

It is a real pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time, and you enjoyed our facilities and that our services was what you expected during all your stay.

Our entire team will be flattered by reading you had a great time among us and we all hope to welcome you back very soon, to pamper you as you only deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.akumal@bahia-principe.com for any assistance.

Kindest Regards,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews