We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing Time !!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2006

Hi my boyfriend and I went to the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal from the 3rd of september to the 10th of september. We had an amazing time there. I hope people take the time to read this review. It is a little lengthy but there is a lot to say about this resort because it is so big.
First all this resort is huge, a lot of walking. But it is the cleanest place ever!!
As you know that you have full advantage of the Coba, and Tulum resorts on this property. There is a tram that takes you around to the different resorts.
I will start with the negatives:
1. If you are a lover of the beach this resort is not for you, the beach is VERY rocky and really unswimmable. The beach was very dissapointing for me.
2. They dont have room cards they have room keys. With your room number stamp right on it. So if you lose your room key all someone has to do it look at it and read the room number and they can get into your room no problem.
3. You have to pay for you room safe. 4.75 us a day. I think that it should be free.
4. There is not one place in this resort that is air condtioned, I know what people think that you are away and you shouldnt want air condtioned. Besides your room that is the only place that has it. We went in september and let me tell you that the days are so hot and night time does not cool down. When you are sitting in the sun all day, most people have sun burns at night time your body does not have time to cool off. I found it really hot.

Positives:
Tne food was great. There is something on the menu for everyone. We tried three ala carte restaurants, The mexican, the Arlequin and the Gran Turango. The food was good in all three.
The buffets have lots to choose from.
The drinks on this resort were the best that I have had in all the all inclusives I have been to. At the pool bars they have where you can poor your own beer, pina coladas, and mango and strawberry daquiris. At night time when you go to the buffets get a flaming coffee, they are so DELICIOUS.
This is the only resort that I know that they have champagne cart at the lobby every day and they serve you champagne and orange juice at breakfast time.
They have international liquor but you have to ask for it. IE, smirnoff vodka, bacardi rum, and absolute vodkas. They even have baileys and kalhua.
The service in this resort is excellent.

We were golden club members and I cant say that it is worth the extra money. We went during so slow seasons. The only perks that are worth it are the free internet. If you are not a golden club member you have to pay for it. We never got a bottle of tequilla in our room or a fruit plate. We never got one turn down service.'
When you are a golden club member you are in the villas closest to the beach, but it is deceiving because its not like you are in a villa thats right on the beach that you can use. You are just close to the water.
They have a shopping centre right on the property called the Hacienda. And it is not like the Dominican they dont hound you to go in there shop and you dont have to bargain with them, things are priced right.
There is an mexican fiesta at the hacienda on thursday night, it cost 16 dollars a person and they have mexican food and mexican games and a night show. I wouldnt say it was worth it but was a good time there. The only thing that I didnt like is that people who were eating at the oriental restaurant got to go free because they just hung around until the show started, YES you do get bracelets but they dont check everyone. They should close that restaurant for mexican fiesta.
All in ALL we had a good time, We would go back but beware it is a huge resort, From the main lobby to our villa it was a seven minute walk yes there is trains that can take you around but if you just missed one you could wait about 10-15 mins.
If you have any questions feel free to e-mail me
smcmahon@rogers.com

  • Liked — the big pools and all the shelters they had.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank sami8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,811
    2,331
    737
    307
    205
See reviews for
2,770
4,079
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,986)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

Was there for my sister's wedding. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. It was sunny and super hot 90% of the time with a coupke of very brief showers.The beach was gorgeous. Not so wide but the water was so pretty and warm. Pools were great. As everyone else has said the beds are indeed rock hard.

Food was better in the a la carte restaurants than in the buffet. The drinks were so-so. Your best bet is to go to the inside bars and order top-shelf. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and mini bar kept stocked. I loved my daily towel sculptures. The kids in our group had a great time.

Only had 2 complaints. 1. with the new airport arrival guidelines it's rather far from the airport. Staying nearer to Cancun will maximize your vacation time. 2. The thing that almost spoiled the vacation for me were the vicious mosquitos. I couldn't enjoy being out at night due to being eaten alive by the evil creatures. Even when I used insect repellant, they would bite through my clothes

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank afuab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2006

My husband and I and some friends vacationed August 28, 2006 for five nights. It took over 1 1/2 hours to get their on the Apple bus and what was worse it took three hours to get back to the airport when we left. Mainly because we had to pick up other people at other resorts. That's a long time to travel without a bathroom. Our over all stay was good. Very HOT! We knew it would be. The pool water was too warm, so we mainly stayed on the beach where you could get a breeze. The ocean was great. We also lucked out as far as the weather. Had a few sprinkles, but nothing to spoil our day. We read in the trip advisor that the beds were hard. We didn't realize they were that hard. We think they have to be because it's so humid. The drinks were ok, but we couldn't find anything we liked. I never heard of putting orange juice in a long island ice tea. Tastes terrible. The food was excellant and the desserts actually had great flavor. The best food and dessert we've experienced in any of the resorts we've stayed at. The mini frig wasn't working in my brothers room and it took 3 days for them to fix it. The other couple had problems with the AC so they were transfered to another room. Our room was perfect. NICE AND COOL. Only one restaurant had AC. The only other place you could get releif from the heat was in your room. NO OTHER AC. We won't go in August again.

  • Liked — The main buffet and beach
  • Disliked — Traveling lots of stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a small fan, lots of suntan lotion, sandals, thermos cup for drinks
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jskcordova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, on
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

My Husband and I spent a week in the Akumal(july 09july 15), It was a wonderful experience and if we ever going back to the mayan will go back to this hotel.

Rooms in Akumal were junior suites which did not make big difference if they were just standard, since we are on vacation and not to stay in the room all day. However room was kept clean and spotless all the time. Even one day our AC did not work , it was fixed within no time.

Beach:the Akumal beach is really rocky, if you want to swim then try Coba or Tulum beaches. They are walking distant. At the beach we never had problem finding lounges. Around the pool can't get crowded and yeah you need to put your towel on the lounge in your way to the breakfast. Since we were more interested in the beach we didn't bother spending much time at the pools.
Pools: they are plenty we found Coba pool less crowded and the quiet pool at coba was the best for relaxation.
We tried the pools in all 3 hotels and they are all clean.

Entertainment: There is a night show at each theatre in each hotel they start half an hour apart so if you don't like the first you can get going to the second. I read reviews about how boring the shows were, let me tell you ,show were ok actually good, the entertainment staff tried their best to please people, and let alone for the amount they are paid they are doing a heck of great job.

Staff: all were freindly and go out of their way to help and please the visitors, they don't expect a tip, always similing and exlremely helpfull. Also remeber we are on vacation but they are at work.
The waiters in all restaurants were freindly and made sure we had every thing we wanted.

Food:after reading the reviews on the food in tis hotel we were worried but let me tell everyone who is going to read this review, there is food to satisfy even the picky eaters.The main buffet restaurants were always busy for breakfast and dinner so we used to swing to the dolce vita for breakfast less crowded and less varities but was excellent too. We tried breakfast on the 2 main buffets in the three hotels and all are good. lunch we tried once @ dolce vita and once @ gran tortouga and both were great.
We had 4 a la carte dinners.
First was at the fruto del mar , was good the second was the medeteranian in coba whci was great.Don pablo gourmet in Tulum was unique experience the service and food were expectional. same goes for the oriental restaurant @ the hacienda.
I don't drink so I can't comment about the alcoholic drinks but the fruit juices were amazing.

Shopping: We did our shopping in the hacienda since 2 trips to the playa deemed prices not the cheaper.

We did the Tulum trip on our own instead of paying $80/pp we took the collectivo for 20 pesos dropped us on the entrance we took another thing there looks like train for another 10 pesos for a round trip otherwise you can just walk it less than 7 mins.
entrance fee is $4.5 and you could swim and the beach of this site is worth exploring because it's so powder like and the color of water is nothing I have seen before.

We took the collectivo to the playa then for another 43 pesos you can go to cancun , we took the bus for 10 pesos to the hotel zone we explored the area then took a ferry to Isla mujeres which was beautifull.
So if you kinda like do it yourself instread of the planned tours , that another way to explore the region and of course for cheaper as well.

We had a wonderfull time in the Gran bahia we are not looking to try their hotel in the dominican republic.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
26 Thank yyzdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coldlake, alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

This place is Awesome. we just got back from a week at the akumal side of the resort, Aug 19 , 2006 thru Aug. 26 ,2006.
We we treated like kings from the time we arrived till we left. All staff treated us great, we only speak english & had no trouble with anything. The staff goes out of their way to please you.
I paid for the trip, then read the reviews. Do not believe what some people write. I was almost scared to go after reading the reviews.
This place is huge. The staff is excellent. The food is hard to get used , but this is a diffent country. The buffets are huge, the restarants are great. You can always find something to eat. You have the run of the complete resort ( 3 hotels ) all of the entertainment , food & pools.
The pools and grounds are in perfect condition , groomed daily by many friendly staff members. The place is so big you have to travel around on golf carts, but there are many & you can get around easily. There are pools & bars everywhere.
If you are planning to go, check it out its great - you won't be dissapointed.
We checked out other resorts while we were there and none compare to this place , not even close.
We are going back to mexico soon and we will be returning to this place for sure.
I would like to thank every member of the hotel staff for a great, rememberable vacation. See you soon.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — large resort
  • Tips/Secrets — keep an open mind
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank burgewx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
8.4 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.1 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,241 - ₹ 35,913
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing