We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real truth about Bahia Principe Akumal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The real truth about Bahia Principe Akumal”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you want an honest review of this resort here it is. My family has vacationed in the Playa del Carmen area every year for the past 5 years and usually stay at an Iberostar resort, this year we had a family wedding that was at this resort so we thought would give it a try. While this is a beautiful resort they have many problems. One of the things I noticed right away was the staff, they did not have enough of them in the buffet and those that were there are so over worked that they are not friendly and cannot offer good service to anyone. To get a glass of ice water at this place was like finding gold in a stream. I tried to just get the water myself, and then was met by disapproval from the server. Next were the rooms, we had little or no air-conditioning for 5 of our 8 days at the resort, despite numerous complaints, we had "fresh" towels that had makeup on them, our sheets had footprints and various other stains on them. The pillows had a funky odor. The biggest problem was the cockroaches! I did not bring one piece of luggage into my house when I got home. Many of the people we were traveling with had no hot water for their entire stay. The beach is very rocky, and if you dig very far down you will begin to find trash. The swim beach is a looooong way from the rooms, so be prepared for your daily hikes. The food is mediocre at best, and there is little Mexican food at the buffet and what is there is the same every single day. While you can get transportation to the other resorts, Tulum and Coba, you have to wait for the shuttles (up to 15 minutes) and then literally fight to get on one because there are so many people trying to "escape" from Akumal. If you have a 6:30 reservation at a restraint at Coba you had better start trying to get there at 5:30. One advantage to staying at this hotel is you are close to many attractions in the area. Overall I would never stay here again, bad service, dirty rooms, bad food, bad beach. The Iberostar resorts are much much better.

Room Tip: Good Luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,898
    2,372
    748
    310
    206
See reviews for
2,832
4,146
75
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,019)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Akumal resort a few years ago, we decided to return. Unfortunately, our experience this time around was not as great.
Positives:
-A majority of the staff were friendly except for the front desk where you would expect a smile to be cracked.
-The buffet was great especially at the other nearby resorts. Highly recommend dining at the Coba resort. Customer service was much better.
-The 'a la carte' restaurants were ok not great. I would recommend that the minute you arrive reserve your 'a la carte' restaurants.
- The ice cream and yogurt were amazing...just as we remembered.

Negatives:
-The cleanliness of our room was extremely disappointing. The bed sheets and pillow cases smelled very badly. So bad you did not want to sit on the bed. We immediately called housekeeping to get them changed. After 4 hrs someone did arrive and she kindly switched them out. The smell was better but lingered. Unfortunately, we slept on towels throughout our trip. Our room resided on the main floor with very little airflow. So when we would return to our room we had to quickly open the balcony and front door to air things out. The humidity and lack of airflow not only contributed to the musky smell in our room but probably to the sheets. As well, the beds were hard.
- If you want a chair by the pool or beach, you need to get up at 7am. Any later, you will notice a sea of 'blue' towels; beach bags and sandals...but no owners. Despite the fact that there are tiny signs that do not allow the reservations of chairs...no one cares.
- If your not a golfer but want to accompany your spouse or significant other, expect to pay $70 USD because they will not allow you to tag along and watch.

Overall, our experience at this resort was not as enjoyable as the first. We definitely noticed the Akumal resort has gotten a lot busier which is great for the resort but from a quality perspective it has definitely declined.

Room Tip: Select a room on the top floor. The breeze will help air out the room from all the humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockstar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

The whole family enjoyed this resort. The kids loved the animals that the resort brought around each day. We all loved snorkeling at the beach. We even saw a sea turtle! The location of the resort was great for short day trips to the ruins of Tulum, and there are lots of cenote caves nearby to see. The staff were all really friendly. We especially enjoyed joking around with Jose the bartender at the Coba beach bar (loscocos) who always made sure we were well looked after. :) Our only complaint was the strong smell of mold from our room. There was a small amount of visible mold on the ceiling of the washroom, which was disappointing, and a little scary.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Went to this hotel with partner and freinds we absoutly loved it. staff are great grounds are lovely, food was ok could have been better. make sure you have your walking shoes the hotel is massive(they do have buggys that transfer you round the hotel) Dont understand people who have complained about the hotel they seem to be petty complains.

only thing i would say if you prone to mosquitos bites i would thing about 2wice going to mexico

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warren58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Found the hotel to be good because you can use the Tulum & Coba restuarants & bars/shows a well. Me & my wife found the food & service to be better at both the Tulum & Coba, this was not a problem as the transport to them made it easy. In our room (5723) the system for heating the water was very noisy & was a problem at times when trying to sleep at night , I am not sure if other rooms are the same. I was also disappointed with the beach (very rocky & man made in some areas) but having been on Punta Cana beach last year which is long with great soft sand i was expecting better. This holiday hotel was still very good & you are well catered for by all the staff with well maintained areas rooms & gardens. The food was of a good standard but not on par in our opinion with the Iberostar/Riu hotels in the Caribbean. I did not like the the way the hotel photographers used a small monkey & large Iguana ( which looked like it had been painted a bright shade of green on its lower body to get people interested, I just feel that they should not be used for photos this was upsetting for me & wonder our they are kept after photo time is over.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel65lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.5 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.8 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
14.1 km away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
8.4 km away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,730 - ₹ 48,408
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing