We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing condo to enjoy”
other travellers have booked this property
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area. It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area.
It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Courtyard
The building is located in the courtyard area.
Living room
Inside Condo
Inside Condo
Dining room with table setting for 6
Kitchen and Dining Area
New desk area in case you are on a working vacation - bring your own laptop - Free Wi-Fi included
Main bedroom with private bathroom and private balcony with view of the Caribbean
View from terrace off main bedroom
Second bedroom with two twin beds and programable safe
View from second bedroom
View from second bedroom
Our terrace pool for cooling off after a nice snorkel.
The terrace pool is waiting for you to jump in!
Breezeway to beach
Ahhhhh
Pool with wonderful view of Half-Moon Bay
Entryway to the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay
Beach with fresh-water showers, palapas, and loungers
Beach in front of condo complex
Half-Moon Bay at sunset
Half-Moon Bay
Ahhhh
Half-Moon Bay at dusk
Akumal Bay
Akumal Bay
Yal-Ku Lagoon - short walk away
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Cave Diving - there are lots of local cenotes to snorkel or scuba dive in.
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Turtle release on Akumal Bay
Fun at Xplor (eco-park)
Fun at Explor (eco-park)
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Butler
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing condo to enjoy”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Went spent 13 days in La Iguana #13. Our daughter also went with us. We had an extremely good time. You leave the condo and walk through a breezeway and you're at the Half Moon Bay beach. You can snorkel or just lay on the beach and enjoy the view. There are numerous places to dine right on the beach or you can prepare your meals at the condo. The walk to the entrance is approx. 1 mile and a very enjoyable walk. Akumal is a very quiet, enjoyable place to spend 2 weeks. We would definitely go back again. There are quite a few places that we still did not get to see. The people there at the condo are so very friendly, and very helpful. I could go on and on to tell you how wonderful this condo and the surroundings are. The maid service, her name was, Silvia, she was the best! We want to thank Mike & Peggy for their help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaf Key, Florida
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Loved Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PEHOWARD
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spacious, off the beaten trail, ocean front”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed 9 nights in La iguana #13 in April. Here is the good:
1. Peggy - Owner is SUPER helpful and very timely with answering email. She also sent a bunch of really great maps that helped us plan some day trips and provided a good overview of places to go and things to do.
2. Spacious - 2 very nice bedrooms and the 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom worked perfect for our 9 and 10 year old. 2 full bathrooms (with master en suite bathroom) also very nice to have. Showers only. FYI - You cannot put toilet paper in the toilet.
3. Location - Quiet part of Akumal located on Half Moon bay very close to Yal-Ku lagoon. Ocean front so you can walk right out into the ocean. If you like to snorkel or explore tide pools this is ideal.
4. 'Beach' - Not exactly beach access into the ocean. There is a sea wall and on the condo side of the sea wall is a 'man made' beach that offers very nice lounge chairs and small palapas to block the sun. These are only used by La Iguana so you are pretty much guaranteed to get a prime spot. And there is plenty of sand. On the ocean side of the sea wall is the ocean. I think it is limestone/ coral so you pretty much will want to have some sort of shoe on to walk around here. Kids got around in flip-flops. I used a teva sandal. The water visibility here is excellent. And you can swim a couple hundred yards to reach some really nice coral and see good fish. Good idea to wear a life jacket so you can swim as far as you want. Couple of folks I talked to also saw turtles in the area.
5. Air Conditioner - Had A/C in each bedroom and this really helped make it easier to sleep. They are a little noisy but they kept the bedrooms very comfortable.

Not as good:
1. Pools - The main pool in the courtyard is decent size. Maybe 20' X 8'. Not real big but enough that you can swim. The pool facing the ocean is a sheltered plunge pool. Not sure this ever gets used. If they could turn this into a hot tub it would be amazing and much more useful.
2. Ants - Peggy advised us there are ants and we did see them. We only saw the real small ones and we used lysol spray to wipe them off. Didn't bother us much.
3. Water - Daily maid service keeps a full water (5-10 gallon) bottle on the kitchen counter. You need to use this for ALL your personal water needs. We used the tap water to wash dishes but I would sometimes use the bottle of water for a final/quick rinse (drinking cups).
4. No TV service - This is good and bad. We didn't waste anytime watching TV. But at the end of the day we were limited to the videos that Peggy had in the unit. (Which we appreciated having the videos and we watched a lot of them).

All and all, we really liked this condo. It fit our needs. The biggest thing that we would change would be a bigger pool (for the kids) and a hot tub.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Powhatan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Choice at La Iguana #13”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Quiet location away from Town, with a pool right outside the door. Caught a sunset on the roof, snorkeled in half moon bay, walked the beach looking for turtles to hatch, and enjoyed having WiFi access so we could spend some down time in the Condo itself. Unlike a hotel room, it gives you room to spread out and still be together. Played Uno card game with the kids, made smoothies from mango and pineapple we bought at the Akumal farmer's market (one farmer, but visited him twice), and Peggy was great to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location on the beach, affordable price
Liked least: Air conditioning doesnt work well
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amerfam
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice clean condo.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying in la iguana #13. Beautiful location! Only thing that could have made it any nicer is if it was beachfront, but you can walk right down to the beach and swim or sit in the beach chairs and enjoy the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Not beachfront.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 165
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing