We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most relaxing vacation ever!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Sitting area
Interior view
Sitting Area
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom (2)
Guest Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Master Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
captpeace
Ojai, California
1 review
“Seaweed desaster”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family made a reservation with Marilu for Playa Blanca #1 for late July of 2015. Beachs were infested with seaweed, which stunk like sewage and something dead, it was just as bad inside the condo as it was outside. The air conditioning was inadequacy, in the back room it was extremely loud and the only way to get cooled off was sitting right in front of the unit. The vents in the hall way were broken so the stink from the outside came in the house. My daughter and wife had to put towels over there heads to help them from gagging. My daughter became very sick, so after the first night I sent an email to Marilu telling her we would not be staying another night, the very next morning first thing her office sent the property manager over to have a sign a paper the everything was perfect. We told him that we were leaving and he said we would never find another place, but we already had. There staff instead of trying to clear the seaweed, just raked a little in front of the beach.
We returned to a condo we had rented the previous days in Puerto Aventuras, at those condos workers were at the beach each day clearing and cleaning the beach, there was no stink like in Akumal. I walked down the beach and the condos that were clearing and making an attempt to clean the beach there was no stink but in front and all around Condo Playa Blanca it was unbearable. I questioned Marilu about why they had not notified us about the seaweed problem and she said this natural phenomenon had only started 24 hours before we had arrived, which when I looked up on line it had been 6 month and for the last 3 months it had been horrible in Akumal. Even local residents said the same thing. The Becks would not refund our 3 extra days we refused to stay, not to sure which sticks more the seaweed or the owners. Not happy with our family dream vacation, we would not recommend this condo very bad experience and bad customer service. At first they said they would refund our stay then they reneged, all over $450.00. They did try to give us another 3 days stay, we have no plans on returning in the next 10 years.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acjazz
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most relaxing vacation ever!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We recently returned from a two week vacation. Our time at Playa Blana was incredible . The location is excellent, the accommodations were perfect. Listening to the ocean from morning till night is my kind of holiday. My husband dives and Akumel Dive adventures is right down the street. We rented bikes from the property managers $5.00 per day. House keeping was excellent really didn't need the full service every day but she insisted.the condo has two distinct areas so perfect for two couples or with kids. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was well stocked and it was nice to have a full sized fridge.
The beach has soft sand the ocean is rocky, bring water shoes!

We used Miguel the suggested shuttle driver on the website. His service is excellent!

We would defiantly recommend and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall size of unit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H
Redding, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

It was like having your own private beach, palapas and palm trees, right off your patio. It was comfortable, quiet and clean. The beach was spotless, no debree. The kitchen was fully equiped. The bedrooms were roomy.
Mari, Aukamal Rental, was great to deal with and the only flaw was the communication between the reservations office and the condo maid service. Once we let them know we were there, everything went well.
Our friends and I are planning on returning to Play Blanca,#2. It was a great find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Beds were hard, might be better if there were bedsprings under the mattresses.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked least: No bbq, no alarm clock
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GA
Reviewed 27 November 2009 for a stay in November 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing