We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Akumal Beach
from US$ 89.00
More Info
from US$ 145.00
More Info
from US$ 122.00
More Info
from US$ 89.00
More Info
Reviews (12,510)
Filter reviews
12,510 results
Traveller rating
8,048
3,066
872
270
254
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,048
3,066
872
270
254
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach sea turtles fish public beach snorkel gear white sand life jackets dive shop huge turtles great snorkeling sting ray clear water playa del carmen pesos collectivo buoys seaweed
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 12,510 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous beach, snorkelling saw turtles, have to pay 100 peso to get on beach plus 150 for a bed and then 500 for snorkelling guide. Really worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank TrailBlazer304409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is a pretty little beach but it was so mobbed over spring break week we could not get over it. We went out for a snorkel but it was a little confusing where we could and could not go (others we spoke with felt the same). We swam out two different places and saw nothing. Then we rented a boat and went out around the reef. Saw a few fish and turtles (which was terrific). We could not believe all the hype about snorkeling at Akumal. There is nothing there. Coral is dead, at least what we saw. The turtles were wonderful but with all the people, I'm surprised there are any at all. Akumal is pleasant enough (though not over spring break),just don't go with high expectations for snorkeling.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank shegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The only way to get to a sandy area of the Akumal Beach is to pay 100 pesos (around $5 US) and enter through the Dive Shop. While the $5 isn't a problem, the masses of tourists relative to the small area of beach where they can go is a bit of an issue. Although it is a long beach, most of the upscale hotels control the vast majority of it and don't allow anyone not staying at their hotel access, thus creating the overcrowding on the 'open access' area in front of the Lol-Ha restaurant. It seems to be a shame that the large, expensive resorts have claimed most of the beach areas which should be open to the public - especially to the ocal people. Although the snorkel tour with a guide to see the turtles was a good experience, we probably won't return. Note that guides are mandatory in order to go to the area where the turtles are located due to new guidelines that help to protect the turtles (which is a very good thing) despite anything that you read to the contrary. It seems that the guidelines are changing daily but this is what we learned while there. That said, having a guide is a good thing since they are trained to spot all types of sea life that an untrained eye may not notice. The cost for the turtle guide was $35 US per person.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This beach is amazing, don't worry about the seaweed. The reef and coral just off shore is beautiful. You only have to go out a few feet and you are seeing incredible sea life. Bring your snorkle gear - no flippers are allowed.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank wheatie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This was a beautiful turtle sanctuary a few years ago but is slowly deteriorating due to the high volume of tourists who snorkel. The Government needs to restrict the number of snorkellers immediately. We have been visiting here for several years and the ocean was blue and clean, its now brown and dirty.(cigarette butts and plastic garbage everywhere). There were hundreds of turtles years ago and now there are only a few left. Too many snorkellers are destroying the sea grass. It used to be only sea grass in the ocean and now its mainly sand.
Greedy tour guides and lax government rules have caused this destruction.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank BERJOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews