We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mojoanday...
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say really, Yal Ku Cai is Perfection! Beautiful property located out on the point with panoramic ocean views and plenty of trade winds to keep you cool if you don't feel like running the AC. The staff is the perfect balance of attentive without being intrusive and incredibly helpful. These condos provide many of the benefits of a hotel but in a quieter setting. The owners live on site and are so kind and friendly. You really feel taken care of at Yal Ku Cai.
We stayed 8 days in the penthouse studio E1 where we made good use of the well appointed kitchen and lovely little pool. Just steps from the property is access to excellent snorkeling in Half Moon Bay, we saw all the usual suspects plus a giant tarpon, many reef squid and even a sea horse! Just steps down the road is Yal Ku Lagoon which will run you about $14 a head for entry plus $5 mandatory life vest rental. But we found it to be totally worth it. Our 7 year old daughter was new to snorkeling and it was the perfect spot to get her comfortable. Beautiful and filled with tons of fish. Go early when they open to avoid crowds.
Our favorite restaraunt was Que Onda just half a block away, excellent tacos at lunch and homemade pasta at dinner. Imelda's Ecocina in Akumal Playa was our other favorite, best fish tacos in town!
We bought fresh tortillas every couple days at the tortilleria in Akumal Puebla and took a couple trips to Chedraui in Porta Adventuras to keep our kitchen stocked. There are also a few little convenience stores in town but they are more expensive.
Change your money at the bank ATM in Akumal playa, low fees (49 pesos) and you can get up to 5000 pesos out at time. Do some shopping from collective of the local Mayan artisans in between the ATM and Imelda's, they are super friendly and many of the items are made nearby.
We just loved Akumal and we really felt like we lucked out with Yal Ku Cai condos. There are at least 3 other units there if the studio does not fit your needs, or you are looking for multiple families. I miss it already and can't wait to go back. Yal Ku Cai just feels like home and we will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Thank you for such a spot on, detailed and absolutely wonderful review of Yal Ku Cai 1E! Many, many future guests will appreciate such a detailed review. Yal Ku Cai 1E is my most favorite properties to visit when in Akumal. The endless ocean views are simply breathtaking! Please hurry back! We look forward to having you as guests again soon.
Caribbean Fantasy, Inc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Yosemite National Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect “island” like setting. Super clean, quiet location with wide open ocean views”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I like condo style vs. hotel locations. In the small well appointed kitchen I can make coffee early, make a healthy breakfast or quick lunch and eat at restaurants the rest of the time. It’s an easy walk to three good to great restaurant choices. The staff was super attentive and friendly. We like to snorkel, so we could get in the water next to the condo and swim to the lagoon and save a few bucks.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Jonathan, Thank you for your review. We couldn't agree more, Yal Ku Cai 1E is the perfect island setting and we are thrilled to hear about your wonderful vacation experience. Hurry back! Until then, may the memories last! Caribbean Fantasy, Inc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robnkrisk...
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you love the sound of crashing waves, this is your place!”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This place was amazing! First off- the best view EVER! You need a car to get around. We rented from Cancun airport, Easyway rental- they picked us up from the airport- drove to our rental place and we were off. Easy Breezy. We had great directions for the drive and it was easy. Be careful of the topes (speed bumps) and watch your speed- it changes radically, always stay in the slow lane. Police know you are in a rental because of the color of your plates, however we were never pulled over or had any trouble whatsoever. (During our stay we even drove at night from Chichen Itsa and got to Akumal around 11pm. but honestly I don't advise any night travel). Anyway, we got to the rental and it was very clean, (nice sheets btw- not cheap) bed was comfortable. Excellent air conditioner and room fans. Adequate plates, silverware, towels, coffee pot, pans etc. I went to sleep and woke up to the sounds of crashing waves. You have a gorgeous view from the living room and the bedroom of the ocean crashing on the rocks below. There are just rocks below - no sand beach, but you can walk a short distance to a nearby beach and also look for turtle nest on you walk. Great place!! One of the best parts was meeting JP. He was the caretaker and was excellent, professional, and really went above and beyond. He speaks English well and even arranged a private tour for us of a nearby cenote. He picked us up and drove us to it and he was extremely knowledgeable and so much fun. He even sent us pictures he took of our tour. Amazing person!!! Next, there are 2 great restaurants within walking distance....La Buena Vida .. a very cool place on the ocean with swings at the bar, a tree house and some of the best food ever. We ate breakfast there six times and were never disappointed- and food was very inexpensive I think we spent less than 10 USD for 2 people for breakfast. We did also eat here one night and had a blast. The bar was hopping, great music, fun people, drank a few too many Zombies, but met lots of amazing people. The other place was La Lunita... it is just a few steps from the condo on the beach. We ate dinner there 3 times (get the Snapper) truly amazing. My favorite meals were there, but they are a little on the expensive side- but remember expensive for Mexico . I think it was about 25.00 with tip for two- with dinner and 4 Sols (Mexican beer). Also make sure you hit Akumal Beach. It is gorgeous, ignore people trying to sell you tours. The water is great for snorkeling- calm, beautiful and reefs are excellent. You can also rent life jackets, fins, masks etc. We brought our own masks and snorkels though. You will love this place... forget all the touristy spots..seriously this place is it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Kris, Your review will help many, many future guests!! Thank you very much for including the spectacular details of Yal Ku Cai 1E and all that Akumal has to offer! Every guest in Yal Ku Cai 1E loves their stay - so glad you did too! Each guest departs planing their return stay .... Caribbean Fantasy, Inc. looks forward to working with you again, we can't wait to have you return! Your Caribbean Fantasy, Inc Team Jill, Toni, Amanda, Michelle, Sibley and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogatlake
Akumal, Mexico
2 reviews
“breath in...breath out....relax...enjoy !”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Yal Ku Cai on Half Moon Bay offers a quiet retreat from the craziness of Akumal Bay. The staff is amazing. Ocean waves lull us to sleep and Beautiful Sunrises are viewed each morning from our balcony.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Yal Ku Cai has good karma!

Thanks for the great review - we will look forward to having you return. This condo is the most popular with our long time return guests, and now you understand why!

Lisa
Caribbean Fantasy, Inc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sil43
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Response:
¡Ha resumido perfectamente por qué a todos nuestros huéspedes les encanta alojarse aquí! Muchas gracias por su reserva, ¡esperamos que regrese para visitarla!

Response Translated:You perfectly summed up why all our guests love staying here! Thank you so much for your reservation, we hope you will return to visit!

Review Translated: Everything was excellent in the E1 study. We loved it!! It is highly recommended. The proximity to the Yul Ka Lagoon was a find. The staff was impeccable !!! Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing