We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Matamoros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Matamoros
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Matamoros
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is my first time in the chain of Holiday inn hotels but I have to admit I was nicely surprised. It offers everything you need for a nice peacfull stay and if on a business trip very good working and meeting conditions.
Prices are quite reasonable, about 85 euro per night and for this I can really enjoy the hotel.
There is a pool, nice restaurant, it is close to a mall (25 min walk or 5-8 min taxi).
Rooms are clean, personal is helpful and speaks reasonable english.
The only thing that I didn't like are the windows, they are hard to open, and you can open no more than 15cm which is annoying if you want fresh air fast.
There is a parking infront of the hotel and even thoug it is near a major road in the rooms are silent.
Breakfast is as in any mexican hotel, nothing fancy.
Beds are comfy and you get different pillows hard/soft which are merked :_)

Room Tip: Anything not facing the front road would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdexoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
2
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've stayed in this hotel several times for work travel. The good thing about it is that it feels fairly safe in an otherwise unsafe Texas/Mexico border town. A gated entrance and elevator that requires room key to get off the ground floor are benefits. The rooms are not very well taken care of and when you get to your room most of the time the A/C is off, meaning you have to set it and wait for the room to cool down.
Depending on what room you get you either have a tub/shower combo or just a shower, so make sure to ask for a tub if (like me) you like to soak in a hot bath after traveling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Mel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

I stayed in the HI Matamoros, while on a business trip during the early part of June 2009. Arrived late and the staff were very helpful at the check in. One point, we were told not to go out of the hotel as there could be problems!

The restaurant is excellent and serves really good food, and the breakfast buffet has every thing. The staff are really friendly.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable; however, the decoration was tired in both the rooms and hallways. Also the place had a real "musty" smell about it.

There is a small gym, but none of the kit was working.

As the bed was clean and comfortable, and the restaurant served excellent food, I would stay again, as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

We decided to go to the Holiday Inn based on reviews I read here in Trip Advisor. The hotel itself was beautiful. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable and the staff was friendly. We didn't realize until after we checked out that all of my money had been taken from my wallet. We left at night to a Quinceanera (15th B-day party). In Mexico, these events and weddings last until the wee hours of the morning. My room was locked and the "Do Not Disturb" sign was on my door. Someone (I'm assuming a staff member) must have seen us leave all dressed up (formal dress) and knew we wouldn't be back for hours. Nothing else in the room was touched, not even my credit cards, just the cash (which was all I had for the rest of the week). I didn't notice until we left the hotel and were sitting at a restaurant to eat and I went to pay - no money! I was very disappointed because our stay really was comfortable there.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank mariawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

We arrived late at night after having a very bad experience at another hotel in town. This Holiday Inn has excellent customer service and English speaking front desk staff. We were moving to Mexico and had our pets with us in the car. We parked in the secure parking lot in the rear. Security offered to keep an eye on the car and call the room if pets needed anything, it made it a much nicer evening on us road-weary travelers.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamoros hotels
5.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza Matamoros
5.2 km away
Hotel Alameda de Matamoros Express
6.1 km away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#7 of 14 in Matamoros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
City Express Matamoros
City Express Matamoros
#9 of 14 in Matamoros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Gran Residencial
BEST WESTERN Gran Residencial
#10 of 14 in Matamoros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.5 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Jardin
#2 of 9 in Matamoros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Matamoros? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Matamoros

Property: Holiday Inn Matamoros
Address: Av. Pedro Cardenas 5001, Matamoros 87396, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Tamaulipas > Matamoros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Matamoros
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,988 - ₹ 6,942
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Matamoros 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MATAMOROS, Mexico and BROWNSVILLE, TX. a 2 nation destination!Welcome! Hotel for the New Millennium . Matamoros offers both the Tourist and the Business Traveler a variety of activities; from shopping at the local markets, dining at excellent restaurants or visiting museums, to golfing or fishing.Strategically located, only 5 miles from Matamoros Airport (MAM) and the new Veteran's International Bridge to Brownsville Bienvenidos! El Hotel para el Nuevo Milenio . Los arquitectos y decoradores locales, utilizando cantera y mármol, lograron una fusión entre el aspecto clásico del hotel y el estilo encantador pero elegante de nuestro México.Matamoros le ofrece tanto al Visitante como al Viajero de Negocios una variada gama de actividades. La compra de artesanías en los mercados locales, visitas a museos, excelentes restaurantes, pesca deportiva y golf siendo algunos de estos.Estratégicamente ubicado, a solo 6 kilómetros del Aeropuerto de Matamoros (MAM) y del nuevo Puente Internacional Ignacio Zaragoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Matamoros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamoros Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing