We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
8
6
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
6
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in shower few blocks hola centro alicia cobblestone sink taxi mexico
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We are very excited about returning to La Joya del Lago for the 3rd time. It truly feels like home. The caring and friendly staff go out of their way to make our stay wonderful. It is a little gem in the quaint village and the location is far enough away that it is peaceful and we are able to get our daily excersize by walking to the centro. It is easy to make friends at the many restaurants and shops in the vicinity. Eagerly awaiting our return.

Hola Carlos and Alicia

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Hola, this is our 8th year that we spend the winters in Ajijic and our 3rd at La Joya Del Lago, the location is just wonderful because of being far enough from the carratera so less pollution, less noise from the heavy trafic and less dust. If waking is part of your exercise you are at 20 minutes from the Centro via the malecon there are groceries and restaurants at short distance.
La Joya Del Lago changed ownership in the spring of 2016 and what a difference it made, the apartments surroundings has been refurbished with taste, the pool area has tables, chairs and shade plus 3 large palapas. As the night falls the beautifully lit trees and the solar lights longing the side walks and the sun set makes this resort like a jewel.
Alicia the manager, Hilaria and Lupita the mades are always there to serve you and the gardener Alexandro keeps the area tidy and will go out of his way to help if need be. The utilities are included and we have and excellent internet service. The place is secure with a fenced parking area and the night guard Rodrigo is also there to greet you if you arrive past 7:00 PM.

Room tip: the first floor is wheel chair access
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Clean, comfortable rooms well equipped with coffee maker, microwave, 2 electric burners and refrigerator. The staff is friendly, helpful and always ready to assist you with any of your needs. The grounds are lush and beautifully cared for. There is a huge swimming pool plus a gazebo for get-togethers and grilling. Hot water a-plenty plus free washers and dryers if needed. There is WIFI plus free phones for calls to Mexico, United States and Canada. Just a short walk to beautiful Lake Chapala. A taxi is a phone call away and the bus is about a half-block away. A quiet, serene and beautiful setting.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank _rosecb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

After spending 5 months here last year, we decided to spend the full 6 months this year. Everything started out good, but slowly went down from there until it came to an abrupt stop two weeks before leaving. Upon paying our first months rent, we were advised that our rent for next year would increase 500 pesos a month (10%) which we considered quite reasonable at first. However, a number of things had changed since last year. First off there was no hot water... the best we could expect was lukewarm. Then after about two months we had hot water for about two months but then it went back to lukewarm for the last two months. And on a number of occasions there was no propane and we didn't even have that. At one point the pump broke and it took almost three weeks or more of the gardener patching it until a plumber was brought in to fix it "properly". It has been off and on ever since. And internet access has been off and on most of the time with it being out for around two weeks at Christmas until they finally replaced a couple of the routers and wifi access points. Shortly after, the old wifi access points were put back in and it was back to being off and on. And the gardener has slacked off considerably this year, leaving garbage lying around, lawn clippings on the walkways and in the pools and hoses on overnight causing flooding. And the pool was rarely cleaned which caused them to become quite green and unusable for days at a time! There was also no longer any lounge chairs for the pool. And advising the superintendent was met with the same response: "I'll talk to my boss." Near the end we noticed a drastic change in the gardeners work ethic and were advised that there was new investors who now had a 60% ownership but not to worry because nothing would change for a while. Shortly after paying our deposit for next year, after assurances that things would now improve, we received quite a shock when a small note in Spanish was taped to the office door on a Saturday afternoon once all the employees had left for the weekend, from the new (100%) owners advising that effective immediately, the new monthly rate was now $600 US (a 100% increase!) with no exceptions. Upon arriving Monday morning the superintendent advised that the new owners would honor anyone with a contract, but not likely those with only a deposit (a meeting with the new owners girlfriend, since he was out of the country, would happen later during the week to answer our questions, but it never happened. I returned to her office on Tuesday and got my deposit back, but have heard since that some people have been told they cannot get theirs back until she "talks to the new boss". In our opinion, this is not currently a $600 US/month place and will not be until they make substantial changes here. We have booked into a different place for next year, and in talking with a number of the other snowbirds and permanent residents, the majority of them are also looking into other places. La Joya was a jewel in the rough and the old prices reflected that, but the new prices are for a polished jewel that currently does not exist.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank mcleod15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

My wife and I, along with our small dog, just stayed at La Joya del Lago for the past few months and really enjoyed it. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with the "small" studio apartment we had booked. It was quite spacious for our needs. There is a small fridge with freezer, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and two element (1 small, 1 large) electric stove (no oven) with a range hood with light and fan and a small sink. There was a 20L bottle of drinking water included as well... and additional bottles are available for $20 pesos each. We had a tv with satelite, ethernet outlet as well as wifi and a phone for making local calls and there are two phones in the lobby to make free long distance calls to Mexico and Canada/US. There is a small dining table, couch and a queen size bed with small bedside tables and two ceiling fans. There is plenty of cupboard and closet space. And there is a fair size walk in shower. Water pressure is generally good and there is plenty of hot water (solar and backup on demand that may take a few minutes). There is also a laundry room available in the main building with two washers and two dryers available for free or you can pay the very hard working cleaner, Hilaria, to do it for you. You can also pay her to clean your room if you're not interested in cleaning it yourself. :-) There is an unheated, olympic size pool and "kiddie" pool (unfortunately not a jacuzzi as advertised... unheated and no "jets", but the kids love it) and beautiful gardens and grounds kept clean and trimmed by the very hard working gardener, Fernando. There is also a gazebo with a charcoal BBQ. We've enjoyed steaks and and hamburgs, pot lucks and many games of Mexican train. And since Claudia has taken over as manager, she has been making slow and steady improvements both inside and out. We have looked around the area since we've been here but La Joya is definitely the Jewel of the lake! We may be a little ways from the town center but if you're walkers like us, then it won't be an issue (once you get used to the cobblestones), but if not everything is a short drive by car, bus or taxi. This is a wonderful place for singles, couples, families and pet owners... there's something for everyone.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mcleod15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews