We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
19
10
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
10
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south of the border pool and hot tub horseback riding weather was perfect vineyards carpet trail wine luggage rancho mexico
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My wife and I stayed at the resort as part of a timeshare trial week and stayed over a long weekend. Driving from San Diego, the only complaint I have about getting there was it was not all that well marked on the highway so we weren't sure if we were in the right place when we drove up to the gatehouse and signed in. The check-in process was pretty easy and we then were shown to our room, in a building separate from the main building. Unfortunately we were checked in next to a room with an incredibly loud family next door and asked to change rooms. We were moved into the main building. The new room was nice enough but it had a skylight over the sitting room that made it quite bright in the room early in the morning so it made it a little tough to sleep in. There were several things we really liked about the resort. The mini-bar had free Tecate beer in multiple types, which was nice after a day out and about. The restaurant onsite was excellent, especially for dinner. The lunch buffet was ok but the dinner and drinks were very high quality for a reasonable price. The resort is also very conveniently located to explore the surrounding area. The resort also has horses available for riding and they provide riding demonstrations as well. There are a lot of walking trails around as well, but the area is not all that well marked so it's hard to tell if you're on resort property or private land. On the whole a pleasant place to visit.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rancho Tecate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016
Google Translation

Estimada Sra. Rosa M.

Nosotros somos un Resorte Vacacional tipo campestre el estilo de nuestras habitación es único y con historia lamentamos que no lo haya podido apreciar, al ser un Rancho la fauna local es persiste sin embargo el alacrán que menciona estaba muerto ya que cumplimos los estándares de fumigación más estrictos, sobre los comentarios sobre el evento todo lo que está firmado en el contrato se cumplió aun cuando el evento no fue cubierto por parte los contratantes.

Quedo a sus órdenes.
Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Just off the main road heading through wine country. I thought they were sincere in being of service, but sometimes things might be left undone. I stopped in out of the blue out of curiosity, while driving through Tecate. The room was clean, with soft big pillows on the bed. I wasn't sure about the big stain on the floor, but everything else was nice. Bathroom/toilet seemed a bit out of date and with a small showerhead. They offer to take you on a driving tour of the area. The pool area was nice with curtained cabanas to relax in. There is no cover from the sun in the afternoon. I ordered food at the pool, and they brought it out, but never came back to check until it was time for the check.

I thought it was a pleasant stay, and I would go back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takkotakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rancho Tecate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear Guest.

thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us, we are now ina renewal process in all the carpets and bathrooms, we hope that soon you can enjoy this improvements.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

It doesn't matter how aesthetically extravagant, elegant or modest a hotel can be, personally I think it always comes down to the hospitality and service offered by the personnel. Game strong for Rancho Tecate Resort, the minute we stepped into the lobby at 11 pm on a Thursday, we were welcomed by two team members with warm smiles despite the cold freezing weather. Okay maybe I'm exaggerating a bit but anything under 50 farenheit, I consider freezing weather. They helped with our luggage, they guided us to our room, gave us a bit of info. of the place, and wished us a good night.

First thing I notice after they left was a letter on the white fluffy bedspread that I was dying to slip into. I read it, and thought about how tasteful, cultured and welcoming this gesture was.
It's amazing how while being a guest at Rancho Tecate there aren't any set schedules or routines. Time just stops and allows you to enjoy yourself, and to mentally and physically relax without trying to do so.

Day 1: Breakfast was amazing by the way, and the service was even better! The hotel offers a buffet breakfast on a daily basis and it's seriously perfect. Not too many overwhelming entrees but just enough to make you want to taste a few of their carefully selected dishes, fruits, cheeses and pastries. I had fresh fruit, a veggie omelet with salsa made with the chili peppers directly from their garden, chilaquiles, a quesadilla with chorizo (fresh hand made corn tortilla of course), and more of my daily caffeine fix.

After breakfast we took a walk that ended up feeling like a mini excursion. We came upon a beautiful, picturesque lake full of cute ducks getting their tan on. We continued on our way and found a spot in nature consisting of huge boulders and ended up taking in a beautiful view of the ranch and the mountains surrounding it. Okay that lasted for about 30 mins. because I am easily bored and the sound of nature was killing me slowly. We continued with our walk and explored the grounds. It was seriously peaceful and a natural stress reducer.

Day 2: The second day was better than the first because we were somewhat acquainted with the grounds. After breakfast we decided to explore the entire place or at least we thought we would, but it takes more than two, three days to do so; it's immense! Since the ranch is never ending we got a map of the place and drove around the surrounding mountains. The personnel did offer to take us on a tour, but being the Mexicans that we are and thinking we are full of super powers, we decided to explore on our own. Our initial plan was to go to a marked viewing spot shown on the map, but we sort of totally deviated from the trail and somehow ended up sharing our breathtaking view with horses, a cow and a bunch of goats. These creatures are safely taken care of way up in the mountains and unless you drive or hike up there, you'll never see them roaming the grounds; thank god!

We finally made it to the trail that would take us to the viewing place and when we saw the locked gate that lead to the viewing spot we were like... Darn! We should've totally taken up the offer of the tour, man! But in all fairness we did find another breathtaking view on an opposite mountain. After that experience, we drove back down to the main grounds, and to our surprise they had a horse show going on, and the beautiful country setting gave everything the perfect touch. Horses are my favorite animals so that alone made the afternoon superb!

After the show, we went to buy a bottle of wine (which was made with Rancho Tecate's 2012 harvest), a baguette and fresh made fruit spreads across the street and went back to the surrounding mountains to watch the sunset. Oh my god you guys! Our sunset watching plan was a complete fail, FAIL I tell you! First of all, the sun rises in the east and sets in the west right? Well duh Sherlock! Our usual sunset viewings are usually done at the beach and we had a huge brain fart. Guess what? The stupid mountains were totally blocking the sunset! Well whatever, we did get to see a bit of the sunset for about 30 seconds before it hid behind the glowing mountain. The wine in our glasses made the experience 10 times better!

After sunset we sat by the outdoor fireplace, enjoyed a glass of wine and had dinner at Puerta Norte; the hotel's restaurant. Dinner was succulent and my dessert was perfection.

Day 3: Our third day at Rancho Tecate was my favorite but sadly it was also our last day there. Our Sunday Funday started off perfect with a succulent Baja Med brunch which consisted of an array of dishes that included spit-roast piglet; delicious! After breakfast we went on a horse ride and to my dismay finalized our stay in Rancho Tecate.

You guys, this place is seriously amazing. I'll be honest, when we first booked our stay, I thought I would be spending most of the time in our room relaxing and maybe going out to eat; I was obviously mistaken. Everything about this place is perfect except the lighting in my room! My room had only one window to let the sunshine in, and the lamps in the room throw more shade than anything but I managed (I'm super blind guys!), other than that no complaints whatsoever. The decoration was also one of my favorite things, the tiled walls, the floors and the entire country setting welcomes you and makes you feel at home. Next time a suite is a must for us and I'm dying to go back!

If you've been following my blog and other social media platforms you might have figured out by now that I'm a beach girl. Anything having to do with snow, camping, hiking or any outdoorsy non-beach related places is NOT my thing except my frequent trips to Valle de Guadalupe, however this place exceeded my expectations and it's probably one of the only places I will go back to to get in touch with my non-nature side. Although I would love to go back during the summer to get the full on experience and enjoy the pool, the weather (yes super hot weather that I thrive on), the wine tasting directly from their vineyard that welcomes you when you arrive, and a longer horse ride will be a necessity!

We booked our stay to celebrate my husband's birthday, however this place is not only perfect for couples, but for the entire family and perfect for big parties or as a wedding venue as well.

Rancho Tecate also offers so many activities such as cycling (hotel guests can borrow the bikes they have), hikes, horse riding for all ages although we did find out children must be 1.5 meters to be allowed to ride by themselves... lakes, a waterfall, vineyards and amazing, breathtaking views. This place is a must and no, this is NOT a sponsored post!

Room tip: All rooms are non-smoking.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Shamelesslyfabylous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We arrived Fri. to a receptionist that likes to pretend she doesn't see you. I had to ask a guy that later I found out was the bellman how to register. He directed me to Ms. I don't see you and were advised the room would not be ready for another 30min. Check in is at 3 we arrived @ 345. Of course Ms. personality was off- going and did not inform her replacement that I was waiting. @ 415 the bellman ( I cant remember his name but he was awesome) offered us complimentary beverage and offered to check our room status. The new reception guy advised that he was not aware we were waiting for a room and would have one ready for us in about 30min(been 30 already).We got the room and it was a Rustic Motel 6 quality room with 2 beds, I advised that it was not what I was accustomed to receiving with RCI trades and they offered me the "Good Room" but I wouldn't be able to get it until Mon. On Mon the room was spacious w/ a living room n all da comforts. There is NO Tennis, NO Golf, NO hiking trails( just dirt roads being driven by guests or construction workers,a lot of new home construction going on). Mountain bikes available but are quite unsafe(beware), property tour was nice , huge property with a lot of nature. they want to charge for everything we were there all week n 1 of very few if any guests when we sat at a pool cabana(pool was EMPTY) n were quickly approached n advised we had to pay to sit there. we tried to roast marshmallows at a fire pit and were told we had to pay for them to light the fire (Zippo Baby). the bikes were included with the stay but everytime you go get one they try n charge you. I called them on it n they stated they were not aware I was a guest (happened 3 out of 4 times) same receptionists the Guy n Ms happy. The rest of the staff bends over backwards to be nice. Don't expect much Relax n enjoy the scenery, location and rustic cowboy feel n you will be fine.

Room tip: ask for the good room/ bigger room with a living room
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Me and my wife stay for one night for valentines day had a great dinner everything was nice we are planning on going back soon thanks rancho great quiet The food was very well presented and tasted as all high end restaurant’s but at a fraction of the cost.rooms are real spacious and clean We will return for another visit.we are planning on getting a peace of property there as everything is real close to the usa border and international air port from tijuana or san diego ca...

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carita-cuervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Manuel P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rancho Tecate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in Rancho Tecate, we are very glad that you have a good time with us, we hope that your next visit will be very soon.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews