We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always looking forward to our return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Always looking forward to our return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Our family is looking forward to our 5 trip back to Buena Vista...and we aren't a fishing or a diving family! Yes, the hotel is dated. It is not "plush" but the warmth of the staff and "at home" feeling completely makes up for that. Our kids are safe to roam and play around the pool and beach area. The ocean is calm and beautiful. The rooms are clean and a/c is more than adequate. The water is from a hot spring and is safe to drink. On one stay we had the desk arrange atv rental and we rode down the beautiful white sand beach. There is nothing better than heading out to the beach to enjoy my cup of coffee and the sunrise. When we ask the kids what vacation they'd like to do, the answer is always "Buena Vista".

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same configuration. Connecting rooms make for a perfect family set up. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

In conjunction with Baja on the Fly, I've been hosting saltwater fly fishing groups to Mexico for sixteen years. Fifteen of those years have been spent at Buena Vista Beach Resort hotel because I have found it to be the perfect spot for the kind of trip I offer. One year we tried a different hotel, but went right back to Buena Vista. Why? Wonderful fishing, great, uncrowded beach where you're never bothered by someone trying to sell you something, clean, comfortable rooms, and very good fishing. the hotel is always glad to see us and makes us feel like family. They are always willing to make cheviche for us out of the sierra mackrel we keep and they serve it to us along with their warm, right--of--the-oven chips on the patio. They definitely make a mean margarita! We especially enjoy the patio buffet in the evening for a chance to sample many different Mexican dishes along with their fish specialties.

No question about it, I"ll be back in 2012!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pudgge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
190 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I spent one nite at the Buena Vista so he could go scuba diving at Cabo Pulmo. We were referred to this hotel by a time share salesman so before booking we checked it out with the hotel concierge. She said ,"it's fine but maybe you'd like to consider these other 2 hotels..." That should have been a clue for us to choose one of the others! The hotel was built in 1952 and other than the pool nothing seems to have been done to it since then. The rooms are dull with a very small bathroom quite rusty around the toilet...very small ants crawled around the bathroom but the worst part was finding them in my bed! They have a beach but the water is so full of sea grass you can't swim. We had lunch upon arrival and found the guacamole to be a green colored sour cream...the fish tacos had bits of what looked like bits of cheap canned tuna...needless to say we went into town for dinner. The pool was ok and Manuel at the pool bar did make excellent margaritas. My husvand did have a great dive at Cabo Pulmo so it's worth going...just select another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBVBR, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond and be assured your comments are taken to heart. With 35 years in the hotel/resort business in Baja, we are well aware of our problems and remedy them as quickly as possible. You arrived at the tail end of our season – not your fault, obviously – prior to our closing in early 2012 to paint, repair, renew and address some of your facility issues.

As for the invasion of sea grass on our beach, usually the waters in front of the hotel are gin clear. As I recall, the wind had blown from the north the weekend before you arrived and may have pushed some sea grass up against our beach. Not much we can do about that, this natural episode happens, once or twice a year. Thankfully, the sea grass didn't impact your husband's scuba dive that he apparently enjoyed at Cabo Pulmo.

As for your comments about our food service, please be assured that you don’t run a resort for 35 years in Mexico or anywhere in the world by selling green sour cream as guacamole! To give you the benefit of the doubt, perhaps ours is a different variety of avocado than you usually see. I honestly don’t know the answer. As you experience the resort is mainly focus on fishing and diving, and we are honor to serve the freshest fish, which comes straight to our dock. We ask of our staff to deny fish when we haven’t had any fresh fish come in, since our goal is to continue my grandma’s legacy of a fresh cook meal. I apologize for this inconvenience. Nevertheless, we are very proud of our local staff, which in some cases has been with us since my dad started back in the 70’s. They are hard workers, loyal and very honest, and as you pointed out, they become friends of our guests, which is part of our small, family own resort’s charm. I truly hope you give us another opportunity and stay a little longer next time.

Hopefully, on your return to Baja you will have an opportunity to visit our resort and I can personally show you the room renovations and upgrades.

Sincerely,

Axel Valdez
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just spent the Labor Day weekend at Hotel Buena Vista Beach resort in Los Barrilles, Baja California Sur. I went with my son as well as a friend. We enjoyed the huge pool with nice warm water & swim up palapa bar. The fishing was great! We caught a total of (24) tuna / (1) dorado / (1) sailfish. Highly reccomend if you want a inclusive fishing package and a good shot at catching fish. This guys make you feel like you are at home. It is also VERY kid friendly :-) This is my fifth time to this resort and I have been to the old RBV (now closed) as well as Palmas de Cortez (3) times. Would rate this resort at the top along with Palmas

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get the rooms by the poolas they are close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOENIXFISHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

My boyfriend and I went here for our vacation this year. If you want a home away from home this is it. The staff...WOW truly hospitable. We went fishing and day 1 caught my much desired Marlin. Captain Rosario and son Julio were awesome. Swim up bar at pool always a nice place to relax after a day in the water. Reservations was easy and smooth thanks to Hortencia. She was awesome. Thanks Buena Vista for giving me a vacation I will never forget. Til we meet again.... :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenavista
0.0 km away
Positano Hotel
Positano Hotel
#50 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.3 km away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 km away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#2 of 4 in Los Barriles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Address: Carr. Federal # 1 Km. 105, Buenavista 23580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Buenavista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,594 - ₹ 11,593
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista hotel is located in Baja California, Mexico overlooking the Sea of ​​Cortez . It offers a variety of activities , peaceful rooms and excellent facilities . Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort features Mediterranean- style guestrooms with private patios furnished with hammocks. El Navegante restaurant serves traditional Mexican dishes for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Guests can order nachos while soaking up the sun by the pool or take a drink at the poolside bar . After dinner you can go to the bar El Pescador and enjoy a drink . Just minutes from the Buena Vista Beach Hotel offers activities such as fishing, diving and horse riding. You can also explore the 50 km of beach, or play a game of tennis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Buenavista
Resort Buena Vista Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing