We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but noisy location”
Review of Lone Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lone Star Hotel
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The staff were very friendly, and I really appreciated the call from the front desk about 15 minutes after we checked in, to see if everything in the room was okay. I've never had anyone do that before! It was an easy location to find, but unfortunately it (as well as most hotels in North Battleford, it seems) is located very close to a railway track. The first night we were there I was awakened four times by the train blasting its whistle as it came through town (after 1:00 am). The room was clean and comfortable and the high speed internet connection worked perfectly. But I don't feel that I got a good rest while I was there. The motel is currently under construction, they're adding a new multi-storey section at the rear. Perhaps the new rooms will be quieter. I guess I tend to be a light sleeper since my travel companion slept very well and didn't hear a thing!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryPrairieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

Perfectly decent motel close to most things considering you are in the middle of nowhere in a town that looks like it's still stuck in the days of Little House on the Prairie. Surprisingly strong and dependable in-room internet access. The shower was erratic - sometimes hot and sometimes cold. An entire new section was being built, so I'd imagine it would be much nicer. The staff was sullen, but polite. The breakfast was minimal, but there is a diner/cafe right across the street that serves butter and lard.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Do not stay at this hotel! Here is list of our complaints:
Construction has the motel torn-up and areas are inaccessible
Rooms are dingy and walls are marked and peeling
Pillows are extremely lumpy
Rooms are small and have limited furniture
Little attention to small details
Breakfast is deplorable, there is no seating area and limited choices
Internet access is sporadic
Very over priced at $130 per night

This was the only chain motel in North Battleford, that is why we chose this hotel, but after booking on-line and arriving late, we had little choice but to stay.

The hotel should close and re-open after construction is completed and existing rooms are renovated.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank Coast_2_CoastToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

needed a place to stay,another motel was closed super8 was open 24 hours,the manager offered a manager special, good
clean room,good breakfast,signed us up for trip rewards,called our room after we checked in to see how it was,very impressed.
the exterior does need upgrading,but you cant judge a book by
its cover.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank herman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Lone Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

thanks for your comments.any time we can help feel free to call 446-8888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 for one night while on business in North Battleford. We arrived at the hotel and the front desk staff were polite and we were checked into our room immediately. The room was small with one double bed. Although it had been listed as a non-smoking room, a distinctive smoky/air-freshner scent lingered in the air. The bathroom appeared to have been updated somewhat recently. There was one window and an air conditioner which was wrapped with plastic so that we were unable to use it. The room must have been 30 degrees celcius when we walked in so we opened the window to allow some fresh air in but it would have been nice to use the air conditioner to avoid the outside noise and it also drowns out noise from other guests. The bed was very worn as we could feel every single coil dig into our backs as we tossed and turned attempting to fall asleep. It was so horrible we actually considered sleeping on the floor instead. Finally at 3:30 am we decided to check out and attempt to find a good nights sleep at a different hotel. The night manager refunded us a portion of our nights stay. We eventually ended up staying at the Eagle Lodge beside the Casino and were very pleased. IF you are looking for a comfortable bed and a good nights rest the Super 8 is NOT the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank christyandshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Lone Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I so sorry it took so long to write. When you stayed there we were just starting renovations.
We have completed them and all new beds and furniture,and carpets, new windows and ptac units. I invite you to try us again and i am offering you 15% off for your troubles,feel free to contact me. 446-8888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Battleford
1.2 km away
Gold Eagle Lodge
Gold Eagle Lodge
#1 of 8 in North Battleford
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Canadian Motel North Battleford
Canadian Motel North Battleford
#2 of 8 in North Battleford
106 reviews
0.5 km away
Battlefords Inn
Battlefords Inn
#3 of 8 in North Battleford
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Hanna's Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Hotel

Address: 1006 Hwy 16 Yellowhead, North Battleford, Saskatchewan S9A 3W2, Canada (Formerly Super 8 North Battleford)
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > North Battleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in North Battleford
Price Range: ₹ 4,774 - ₹ 6,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lone Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone Star Hotel is a place where we try to make our guest feel like home away from home. We try our best to take care of the guest and make sure that when they leave the hotel they are happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lone Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Battleford Hotel North Battleford
Super Eight North Battleford
North Battleford Super Eight
North Battleford Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing