We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop on our snowmobile trip”
Review of Forestel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forestel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Val d'Or
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

The place looked new with very nice room of a good size. The restaurant was very good. This a place i'd go back for sure. Although some guys on the group had to wait 2 hours (no joke) for their late dinner (they forgot or the order got lost). It was nicely decorated and felt comfortable.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank JF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Web at Forestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you, we enjoy having comments from snowmobilers !
We are also sorry for the late dinner and hoping our staff of restauration area gave you some explanations about this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2016

4 Older Men on snowmobiles came in around 5 pm we had seen their brochures on the web advertising rates at 74.00 per person including dinner....On arrival they said the room was 174.24 per nite and NO meal included but offered 15% off..
Rooms are large and nicely appointed Rates are too high and the average price for dinner started at around 30.00 and up....Hard to find on a snowmobile and front desk have no local Val dor maps showing access and exit...would be nice if they offered that service

Room Tip: confirm price b-4 arriving....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kawartha Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Web at Forestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

I've been looking around on the web, on our Facebook page and website, I haven't seen advertising with a price anywhere. I also called the tourist office they said another hotel offered this type of package for 89$. So, I imagine this was a missunderstanding, but if you see this ad somewhere it would be appreciate to share the link with
us so we can fix this.
Our snowmobile package have 2 choices: 1) with breakfast and dinner, but over 100$ and another one cheaper 2) dinner not included but offers 15% discount.
Concerning the maps, we have 2 maps alvailable for clients; Abitibi-Témiscamingue snowmobile map and one for Val-d'Or, they are available in the hall and at the front desk. Also, the tourist office is just in front of the hotel if you need more specific informations.
We are sorry for all those contradictions and we hope you had a nice trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The feel of a boutique hotel
Well appointed, modern looking
I had a loft room, king bed, flatscreen
Nice sectionnal sofa
Big shower
Really impressed
The only thing that does not fit the rest of the decor is the bar and restaurant
Food was OK

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Web at Forestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Thank you for your nice comment ! you see it right, we are going to be some change in the restaurant area because it is not as modern as the rest of the hotel ! Have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days for work related purposes and it was terrible.
My husband and I drove 7hrs, coming in from out of town, and once at the hotel greeted by no one. There was a back room where we saw one staff member sitting, hearing her debate with another, who would come out and tend to us, both seeing who could be get out it...great start! Then after standing up for a few minutes we were greeted by the most attitudy receptionist we have ever met!!! The reception's unwillingness to answer simple questions, and her constant need to flicker and open her eyes wider, tilt her head, emphasize different words, did not go unnoticed.
She also greeted us the same way on our departure. We had to leave a 75$ deposit that would be returned the day of our departure, she asked for our credit card then to realize the machine wasn't working and then stated we would be reimbursed later today when they switched their machines....ummm really??? and honestly I could hardly understand what she said as she repeated herself more quickly with less description. The attendant at the back began to explain as we confronted the one facing us with our lack of undersnraidng and her need to give attitude, I mean, we are clients.. The attendant in the back explaining from the back room, I could hardly hear, and couldn't see her
when I asked for her to the front, the one facing us said well Ur husband can hear just fine...wow! She then came from the back room to reassure us that it would be reimbursed or "dégelée" time depending on our bank.
And just so you know my colleagues also complained about her attitude.
During our stay:
2/3 very noisy, unsettling nights, people knocking on door, partying???
Good points:
Bed was comfortable
Clean surroundings
Cleaning ladies were very nice

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank Ash2015101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Web at Forestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

As I can see, your terrible experience is based on the reception which is supposed to be the most agreable part of your stay (arrival and departure).We will try to find out what happend in this situation and make sure the employees to not talk with customers at the front desk from the back office. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful Sleek Hotel...Nice and Cozy King Suite...Staff was Wonderful and Helpful...We Arrived Very Early in the Day and Tracy was Very Accommodating to these Two Weary Travelers (11 Hour Drive from New York) Our Room Happened to have Been Ready so Tracy Let Us Check in Early...Very Much Appreciated!!! ...and Unfortunately We had to Leave a Day Earlier than Expected and The Forestel made it Possible to Modify Our Booking without an Extra Charge...I Would Recommend this Hotel to Everyone!!! It is also Minutes from Town which is Very Convenient :)

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank photojesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline T, Web at Forestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2015

It's nice to have personnal comments about our staff, really appreciated! Thank you, for understanding and enjoying your experience ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Or hotels
4.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Val d'Or
3.1 km away
Hotel Continental Centreville
4.9 km away
Comfort Inn Val D'Or
Comfort Inn Val D'Or
#4 of 7 in Val d'Or
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Auberge de l'Orpailleur
Auberge de l'Orpailleur
#5 of 7 in Val d'Or
14 reviews
4.3 km away
L'Escale Hotel Suites
L'Escale Hotel Suites
#2 of 7 in Val d'Or
59 reviews
3.6 km away
No photo provided
Motel Prelude
#7 of 7 in Val d'Or
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forestel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forestel Hotel

Address: 1001, 3rd Avenue East, Val d'Or, Quebec J9P 0J7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Val d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Val d'Or
Price Range: ₹ 7,972 - ₹ 9,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forestel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Forestel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing