We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Off season is quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montagnard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Montagnard
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
376 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Off season is quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent a night in their deluxe suite. Clean, quiet. Actually we were the only people in the hotel so we got great service...from our arrival to 5 pm. Then we had the whole place to ourselves.
We had breakfast included so they brought us a tray with plenty in it and...a toaster.
The hottub was great but this is the second place in a few days that apparently can't afford the support for the cover that makes it easy to open alone...and good steps to get in! I am tall, yet I had a hard time getting in and out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our group of 9 people stayed here over a weekend (Jan 27-29)of skiing/boarding at Sutton and Jay Peak. We stayed at Chalet #395.
This chalet is very convenient to Mont Sutton and the main strip in Sutton. The kitchen was fully equiped, and functional (including dishwasher), the 3 bedrooms were small, but functional and clean, but nothing luxurious. The lofted area had 3 single beds, perfect for children. There is only 1 bathroom. The views from the chalet were pretty.
Service: This is where the hotel can improve. Although check in was fast and easy, when we asked that sand/salt be placed on the icy driveway (since 2 cars got stuck) this was never done. We asked for draino for the bathroom sink since it wasn't draining, that never happened as well. We purchased our lift tickets through the front desk and the girl who we quickly realized was new and not trained properly. She forgot to charge us taxes on the lift tickets and we received a call to pay for it the night before checking out. Not our fault that proper training was not done and funny that you contact us for taxes yet our simple requests were never addressed. Although the chalet was adequate, the walls are paper thin. We were able to hear the people below us, so I can only imagine how us simply walking around could have been annoying for them.

Overall, I would stay here again, only because of location to Mont Sutton, Bromont and Jay Peak. If you want something more, I'd consider looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for upper part of chalet. Paper thin walls, being on the lower level would be potentially noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in condo 1 for 3 nights of skiing and boarding at Sutton. We were part of a larger group that took 2 condos (1 & 13) and one hotel rom. The condo unit #1 is acceptable and has the basics, plus a few things. We were a party of 6 in that unit. The 2 bedrooms are extremely small. There is insufficient room to have your bags in the room and still walk around the bed. The beds are acceptable, with clean but inexpensive hotel-chain sheets and blankets. Both small rooms have queen beds. The closets are all but useless as they are so small. The gas fireplace is nice. The kitchen area is getting tired. The plywood cabinets are pulling off the wall and none of the doors close properly. The cooking utensils, cutlery and glassware are all acceptable. The bathroom is large, clean and functional. The 2 pull out double sofabeds are unpleasant for adults, but probably OK for kids. One couple of the 3 chose instead to sleep on an inflatable queen bed we had with us. You have to exchange dirty towels yourself, in the lobby. We had to ask for toilet paper. It is a very short drive to Mont Sutton, and a shuttle bus operates on weekends and school breaks. The hot tub is fine but closes at 9pm each night. We did not try the bar or continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The 4 of us were looking for a condo with kitchenette in the Eastern Townships. Le Montagnard seemed to offer exactly what we were looking for.
Service and reception desk excellent but there is nothing deluxe about the place! It has all the amenities you might need for a short stay but I don't consider towels as a decoration in a bedroom as that's all there was. 2 night tables with lamps - poor light - no chair - no door for the closet... Basic !
My advice; a fresh coat of paint needed in living area and bathroom! Frames & mirroir needed and maybe curtains in bedrooms! For the price 292$ (with taxes) pretty heavy price for a 2 bedroom w kitchen!!! Usually at that price at least a couple of logs are included for the fireplace but not this one - had to pay 15$ for 6 small logs!

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury but very good location as 5 min. from Mount Sutton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QQQQQQQQQMonteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Despite their cancellation policy being a 100% refund if you cancel within 48 hours of the check in date, I was charged a $29.95 administration fee. I booked the room and had to cancel it the same day -- and it was 16 days before the check-in date. I spent over an hour with Expedia on the phone trying to get a refund and they spoke with the owner of the hotel who refused. This admin fee was pointed out to me in the fine print. However, I had spoken with someone on the phone to confirm the cancellation policy before booking and this was never pointed out to me. This isn't how I would ever conduct business.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vermonter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.2 km away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
0.3 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sutton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge des Appalaches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#2 of 7 in Bromont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
19.8 km away
Jay Peak Resort
Jay Peak Resort
#1 of 4 in Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
19.5 km away
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
#1 of 3 in Lac-Brome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnard

Property: Le Montagnard
Address: 264 rue Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,730 - ₹ 10,248
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Montagnard 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Montagnard is a mountain Resort at the foot of Mount Sutton. It offers different types of accommodation: hotel rooms, condos and chalets. It has a double Hotel Classification ...Hotel and Tourist Residence (condos and chalets ) . It has 3 stars in both ( 2) categories. On the main site , we find a bar (Le Zest), a meeting and reception rooms depending of the needs of our group. A WIFI access is also available. In addition , an outdoor pool, a Jacuzzi (open year-round) , a volleyball and badminton court, a firecamp, a children playground and a direct access to hiking trails. As activities you can choose between skking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing in winter, while in summer you can choose between golf, cycling, wine tour , water slides and ... Much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Le Montagnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnard Sutton, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing