We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All but luxury condos??” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montagnard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Montagnard
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
Monteal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All but luxury condos??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The 4 of us were looking for a condo with kitchenette in the Eastern Townships. Le Montagnard seemed to offer exactly what we were looking for.
Service and reception desk excellent but there is nothing deluxe about the place! It has all the amenities you might need for a short stay but I don't consider towels as a decoration in a bedroom as that's all there was. 2 night tables with lamps - poor light - no chair - no door for the closet... Basic !
My advice; a fresh coat of paint needed in living area and bathroom! Frames & mirroir needed and maybe curtains in bedrooms! For the price 292$ (with taxes) pretty heavy price for a 2 bedroom w kitchen!!! Usually at that price at least a couple of logs are included for the fireplace but not this one - had to pay 15$ for 6 small logs!

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury but very good location as 5 min. from Mount Sutton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QQQQQQQQQMonteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Despite their cancellation policy being a 100% refund if you cancel within 48 hours of the check in date, I was charged a $29.95 administration fee. I booked the room and had to cancel it the same day -- and it was 16 days before the check-in date. I spent over an hour with Expedia on the phone trying to get a refund and they spoke with the owner of the hotel who refused. This admin fee was pointed out to me in the fine print. However, I had spoken with someone on the phone to confirm the cancellation policy before booking and this was never pointed out to me. This isn't how I would ever conduct business.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vermonter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed for one night at Le Montagnard and were pleasantly surprised by the newness of the resort and the very up to date room. We had a fireplace and kitchen area with great furnishings.
The location was good and we got good information and guidance from the front desk.
The breakfast could have been better.
Definitely a place I would recommend and go back to again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We rented a deluxe studio on the second floor. There is nothing deluxe about it but it has all the amenities you might need for a short stay. The price was $140, which is rather cheap for a large room like this. It had a view of the swimming pool. The unit is comfortable, but just a little larger than a motel room. The furniture and the decoration was decent and the unit was very clean. There is a fireplace for the winter. Kitchenette is very well equipped. The bed and the sofa bed were ok but somewhat too soft for us and we woke up with backaches. But this might work for other people who are used to softer beds. The staff at the front desk are very nice. The view is quite beautiful and this Auberge is about 2 minutes by car from Sutton, which is a really nice small town. Beautiful boutiques, art galleries and cafes. This place as a nice big room with a bar and pool table, which we used a lot. Please note that there is no internet in the studios so you have to bring your computer to the main building if you want to get a connection. There is no AC in the rooms, only one small fan. However, there is much fresh air coming from the mountains as this facility is located quite high in altitude. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and the grounds are covered with nice flowers and trees. Important to note as well is that there is no food service except for the breakfast. You have to drive to Sutton to one of the restaurants or to the IGA grocery store which has a nice selection of all types of foods you can imagine, as well as a good selection of wines. We would go back again. We really liked our stay.

Room Tip: studios are worth the extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed in La Paysanne for three nights --- a room in the main building - it was quiet , clean , the beds & linens clean and comfortable , the small fridge and coffee maker were clean - The bathroom was clean, with newer fixtures, lots hot water , built in space heater and hair dryer - towels newer and good quality .

A very good value is the three night stay (3rd nite half price)---and the lift ticket was only $65 per adult for two full days + half day of skiing - the hotel sells that discounted lift ticket at the front desk .

The staff are friendly as is the owner and he is also quite accomodating -

We were snowed in for an extra night beyond our reservation - the owner gave us a break on the rate for one night in condo 13 - the staff moved our stuff while we out skiing that day --- it's a two bedroom unit with full cooking facilities ---similarly clean and comfortable as La Paysanne -- quite cozy, but tight as they have too much furniture in there .

There are no food or beverage services on site -- but restaurants are nearby .

In the nearby Sutton business district you'll find an excellent IGA grocery store , a liquor store and restaurants .

This a good place to stay for a ski holiday with friends or family --- I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allez-y-donc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.2 km away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
19.8 km away
Jay Peak Resort
0.1 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Auberge des Appalaches
19.6 km away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
22.4 km away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnard

Property: Le Montagnard
Address: 264 rue Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,399 - ₹ 10,094
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Montagnard 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Montagnard is a mountain Resort at the foot of Mount Sutton. It offers different types of accommodation: hotel rooms, condos and chalets. It has a double Hotel Classification ...Hotel and Tourist Residence (condos and chalets ) . It has 3 stars in both ( 2) categories. On the main site , we find a bar (Le Zest), a meeting and reception rooms depending of the needs of our group. A WIFI access is also available. In addition , an outdoor pool, a Jacuzzi (open year-round) , a volleyball and badminton court, a firecamp, a children playground and a direct access to hiking trails. As activities you can choose between skking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing in winter, while in summer you can choose between golf, cycling, wine tour , water slides and ... Much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Le Montagnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnard Sutton, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing