We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,471)
Filter reviews
2,471 results
Traveller rating
1,157
754
343
146
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
754
343
146
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau montebello log cabin indoor pool dog sledding horseback riding ottawa river sided fireplace outdoor activities grounds are beautiful main lobby resort fee cross country skiing winter activities crepes one of a kind outdoor bbq central fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 2,471 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Wonderful 4 day stay. Dog sledding, curling, snowshoeing, swimming, spa, evening movies for the kids. Omega Park nearby incredible. Staff friendly, polite and responsive. Food good, and there are a few local spots to go if you want to save some $. Overall amazing trip.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Happiness451873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for this great review! I am so glad to read this and will gladly share with my team!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This is one of the most beautiful, scenic and charming properties I've been to by the Fairmont Chain. In all honesty, I've been coming for 35 years . They say it's the world's largest log cabin. It's truly breathtaking and unique but what's most wonderful is it feels as if you've stepped back in time. You don't want to check emails or update your facebook profile. You want to cozy up in the lobby by their huge fireplace with a board game- yes, a board game... sip a glass of wine, listen to the piano player and let everything else melt away. It's INSTANT decompression. Think you'll get bored being so far away from big cities and night life? Think again... dog sledding, spectacular indoor pool, indoor tennis courts, curling, skating, cross country skiing, tubing and summer offers just as much if not more. Could they update their rooms, carpets, furniture? Yes... but that would definitely take away for the 70's like vibe the place has going for it. The menu is okay... really great steak tartare and salmon. Skip the breakfast buffet-very little selection and BLAND. shocking for the Fairmont. This is the perfect family escape-something for everyone. Leave your cells and computers at the door and go back to simpler times. A true GEM of a hotel!

Room tip: Rooms are small- this was built in the 30's... UPGRADE!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you so much Cathie L! This is exactly what Montebello is all about! I am so glad to read your review.

I would love to hear your feedback about the breakfast; what is missing? What could we add to make it a WOW?? Our culinary team has been working very hard to upgrade the breakfast buffet and it seems to me that we have everything to please everyone, so I would love to hear from you. You can reach me at genevieve.dumas@fairmont.com.

Thank you again and see you soon!!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The focal point of Chateau Montebello is the fireplace. Can't management show some loyalty to its customers and give a notice when there will be a repair done to the fireplace? Well,... the answer is no! There was not a notice that the fireplace would be under repair during our stay. We can decide to book anytime and we would have appreciated knowing about the repairs. We travel quite a bit and there are many options. We won't book the Fairmont for the next year and perhaps you want to take your own action and do the same?

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pepelepew848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback pepelepew848. I totally understand how our fireplace is a must during a stay here.

I want to point out that we experienced a chimney fire earlier in February (February 2nd) and following that, we have called specialists to come and perform a complete inspection and to determine necessary work that needed to be completed.

They came back to perform the work on the week of February 26th and this was considered a minor procedure with a simple modification. To our surprise, they requested that we stop fires in all chimneys for a few days as it was too hot to complete the repairs in the two chimneys. Obviously this was not planned.

We immediately reacted to offer an alternate solution by opening up our great fireplace on the restaurant mezzanine to ensure our guests could experience a relaxing atmosphere.

pepelepew848, I can assure you that we do take all necessary measures to advise our guests when such situation occurs, and this is obviously one situation where we could not have planned.

Again, sorry about the inconveniences you experienced.

Sincerely,

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay & hope to return before year’s end! The sparkly lights at drive entrance and attentive arrival service from Bruno set the standard for this wonderful mini vacay. The staff at this hotel is fantastic in all areas-from quality service to point of saying ‘Bonjour’ as pass in the hallway. Thanks to all who keep the foyer fire burning, play the piano, make the towels so fluffy and soft, chef & serve the fabulous meals, look after the rooms, pool/gym & outdoor spaces! The only change would enjoy, would be tastier coffee in the dining room. In closing, appreciated Patrick’s attentive check-in/ out services and found the ability to text front desk with any questions very helpful. Merci, Château Montebello! À la prochaine!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SMT_JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Merci SMT_JT! What a pleasure to read your review, and I am always really touched when I read our guests review that mentions our colleagues names. They are very passionate and I will gladly pass a thank you to them.

We too look forward to seeing you soon!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Beautiful hotel. Lots of activities on site (snowshoeing, cross country skiing, etc) Big indoor pool. Country feel to the hotel but only an hour out of the city. Love the atmosphere. Friendly staff. Good food on site.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sweaterlady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for sharing Sweaterlady27! It is always a pleasure to read our guests feedback.

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews