We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,439)
Filter reviews
2,439 results
Traveller rating
1,142
742
341
144
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,142
742
341
144
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau montebello log cabin indoor pool dog sledding ottawa river horseback riding sided fireplace outdoor activities grounds are beautiful main lobby resort fee cross country skiing one of a kind winter activities crepes outdoor bbq central fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
1,626 - 1,631 of 2,439 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A true beautiful winter wonderland! My husband and I came for the weekend and enjoyed many of the great activities offered at the Château. Here are a few tips we would like to share:
1. The rooms near the lobby are noisy. We stayed in the Lacombe wing and enjoyed a quiet night.
2. The food is excellent! Make sure to reserve a table for dinner at the Chantiolles. We recommend the beef and the crème brûlée.
3. The cost of wine is ridiculous. Bring your own and enjoy it in your room. There is a SAQ within a 10 minute drive. While you are at the SAQ pick up a bottle of Sortilège, a maple flavoured whiskey.
4. Cross-country skiing is a must! You can rent skis for 15$. There is an easy 5 km trial the takes you around the entire property.
5. Bring your bathing suit. There is a very large pool and two hot tubs.
6. Bring a book and sit around the majestic six-faced fireplace.
7. The breakfast buffet is delicious! If staying on the weekend i wouldn't bother spending the extra 20$ per person for the Sunday brunch.

The only drawback to this place is the cost. There are many interesting activities (horse sleigh rides, curling, snowmobiling) but all are very pricy.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantal_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future

Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont Le Château Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Visitors to Canada always seem to make their way to the Rocky Mountains to take in the stunning scenery. So they should. They should also not overlook a few gems in Eastern Canada such as the sheer comfort offered by the Chateau Montebello. This great wooden Valhalla (largest log cabin in the world) situated on the Ottawa River between Ottawa and Montreal should be a must for anyone who enjoys a winter getaway. You will feel the spirit of the cour de bois when you sit by the massive fireplace in the main hall after a cross country ski adventure. While the hotel is historic, and the rooms not that modern the ability to enjoy winter sports, excellent cuisine and true Quebecois hospitality will no doubt be the pinnacle of any visit to the Eastern half of Canada. Drinks are a bit expensive so be sure to bring a bottle or two of your favourite warm up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your last stay at Fairmont Le Château Montebello

It is always gratifying to know that we have met the needs and expectations of our guests. I have taken the liberty of passing along your comments to our colleagues, and I know that it will go a long way in making them feel that their efforts are worthwhile.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon to our beautiful hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our stay at the Chateau Montebello was an excellent one. We stayed in a Jacquzzi suite and it was worth the extra expense! There were lots of activities available during the day, from cross country skiing to skating and snowshoeing. The spa was a great way to spend a cold afternoon! The facial was amazing!

The food at the main, formal restaurant (Aux Chantignoles) was fantastic!

Little did I know that I was going to leave Montebello as a bride-to-be! What I didn't realize at the time (and know now!) was JUST how wonderful the staff were there. When we arrived, chocolate covered strawberries arrived in our room. (Should have been my first clue!). The Maitre 'D masterfully organized, with my now-fiance, the engagement, arranging for a special dessert to arrive after dinner, with the ring on top!

The next evening, we just went to the other restaurant, La Seigneurie Bistro. Somehow, they found out that we were the 'engaged couple' and to BOTH of our surprise, they came out with a complimentary dessert, the words "Congratulations" scrolled in chocolate!

I still remember this trip and will forever remember my engagement! Thank you to the Chateau staff for going above and beyond!
:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to to take this oppotunity to thank you for the kind and generous comments.

We would like to congratulate you for your proposal. The Chateau Montebello is offering many wedding packages, and we would be really happy to help you plan your wedding.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the Le Chateau Montebello on your next visit to Montebello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

As my title says the main room is amazing, great history in building. rooms were very average, maybe even below average. 2 lights in my room didn't work, the bathroom door would not stayed closed in our room as well as the tv remote didn't work. the pool was great, skating, tennis, horse riding all fantastic. The man running curling was extremely rude, we were extremely offended, also had many issues with staff making errors and embarrassing our company host. very unprofessional staff, however the greeter was fantastic as well as the admission staff and sleigh host. overall decent but not really worth the money. my spouse and i considered coming back for our anniversary but decided against it after our stay.
Not recommended as they are very disorganized.

Room Tip: All of our guests had double size beds on the main floor, they were not comfortable. would not recommend. Also bathrooms lack a lock which is awkward with 2 couples staying in the same room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauMontebello, Director of Sales at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at Fairmont Le Château Montebello
While, we are very pleased that you liked our main lobby, your comments regarding our service are very unusual.
Rest assured we will do a follow up with the department concerned. We continually seek to improve our service and facilities and your feedback will assist us in these efforts.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to our beautiful hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The best place in the world to spend a winter day is the lobby of the Montebello in front of the huge six sided fireplace sipping hot chocolate and reading with your family. Lots of outdoor activities are available in a beautiful winter wonderland. The indoor pool was 84F and the atmosphere is right out of the Golden Age of The Canadian Pacific Railroad Hotels, a feeling that has not been lost and must be experienced to be appreciated. Our sixth visit here and will return as many times as we can. The staff is one of the most helpful and friendly of any resort that we have visited.

Room Tip: A view of the Ottawa River is a excellent choice. Rooms are rustic and charming, would not change anything.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livsworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews