We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem! A perfect Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge des Eaux Vives
Ranked #1 of 40 La Malbaie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I really cannot say enough good things about this place. It is pure heaven. My boyfriend and I have stayed at many nice hotels and auberges around the world, and this one is at the top for sure. La Malbaie is a gorgeous area, so tranquil and vast. We live in Montreal and it was our first time visiting; we couldnt believe we waited so long!

Sylvain greeted us upon arrival and he was beyond wonderful. He has such a bright and friendly disposition, we were put immediately at ease. The house itself is not too large, but is beautifully renovated. It is directly on the water, you really cant get any closer. When he brought us up to our room (la brunante), I literally did a happy dance for like 10 minutes. I cannot really explain how wonderful the bedroom and private bathroom was...and the view. This is the kind of view you would have to pay 400$ a night for any where else. It sounds corny but we felt so lucky to be there. The room was equipped with a huge king size bed, two comfortable chairs, a flat screen tv (with surround sound!!!!), a blue ray player, music player etc. The bathroom was extremely modern with high end finishes, had a huge soaking tub and separate shower.

Breakfast was simply outstanding as well. Really different than what you get at other b&bs. Freshly squeezed peach juice, berries and some kind of lemon bread, eggs with smoked salmon, fruit and a blueberry chocolate tart for dessert. In the summer, you have the choice of eating outside on the deck.

This place is highly in demand, and Sylvain told us that he is almost completely booked until september. We were really lucky to get a room at the last minute, only because there was a cancellation. Book early, and be sure to book for as long as you can. Honestly, I didnt want to sleep that night because the view from the room was one of the most gorgeous things Ive ever seen.

This place is such a hidden gem, really one of a kind. It is so obvious that Sylvain and his wife have gone out of their way to make peoples vacations really memorable. It is rare to find people like that. I am extremely picky when it comes to chosing places to stay, and this place is the perfect mix of homeyness and luxury.
Let me know if you have any questions!:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclipze006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Wow, what a fantastic B & B. We are two adults and a 14 year old. The hospitality, atmosphere, cleanliness, service and decor was second to none. Sylvain made us most welcome. He went the extra mile to ensure our stay was most enjoyable. He booked the whale watching tour at Tadoussac for us, which was just over an hour away. He knew about the local restaurants and booked one for us. We stayed in La Petit Ourse which was a two room bedroom overlooking the marina and up the river. It also had a separate bathroom for our exclusive use. Everything was spotlessly clean and the decor was so tasteful. We could use the fridge in the kitchen to keep our drinks and some food. We shared the lounge with the other guests but it felt very much at home. The lounge was very tastefully furnished. The B&B is about 5 minutes from La Malbaie by car. So peaceful. I can't think of a nicer place that I have stayed. Most impressive was the breakfast. It was superb. I am sure Johan is a top chef. They even catered for my son who is gluten free. They prepared home made GF pancakes and breakfast pizza. Even had use of their laptop, fresh coffee machine, microwave and crockery. So thoughtful. Would definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hantshog36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at the Auberge des Eaux Vives for 3 nights on the Charlevoix leg of our tour of Quebec and thoroughly enjoyed it. Sylvain and Johanne have created an elegantly modern and comfortable B&B and Sylvain is the consummate host....always attentive when you need him but never intrusive. Johanne is often in the kitchen or at their restaurant down the road, creating something delicious. We had the Brunante room which has a very comfortable king size bed, flat screen entertainment system (instructions were all French but we figured it out) and a spacious bathroom with soaker tub and separate shower. There is a small balcony looking out over the St. Laurence and we left our sliding door open at night to fall asleep to the sound of the small creek that runs through the property. We enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace with our early morning coffees that we made using the self serve espresso machine (which we fell in love with but it wouldn’t fit in our luggage). Breakfast was in the sun room or a private table off the main sitting area and it was a highlight of our stay. Johanne can create some amazing, delicious and beautiful 4 course breakfasts that left us satisfied for the day until dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillAqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

- very welcoming, the host makes a real effort and visibly enjoys making guests feel at ease
- excellent location with stunning views
- the breakfast formula changed: the owner recently took over the little restaurant at the marina (100 yds away) and the b&b guests now get their breakfast there. Nothing wrong with the quality of the food but, in our opinion, a breakfast in the house itself would be more cosy.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Located 8 minutes east from bridge in La Malbaie. Our room they call "le petit" but we found ample room with excellent view of river from our queen bed. Small babling brook heard soft in distance is soothing. The breakfast were phenominal for our 2 night stay. Both days were different 3 course. Chocolate chips, crannberry french toast or smoked trout scramble on english muffin, 3 juice smoothies to start, yogurt with fresh fruit. Sylvan says he speaks un petite anglais but we found his ability was extremly good! The weather with blue sky permitted partaking breakfast on the outside sun deck (terrace) a mere stones throw from the river.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
5.8 km away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
4.5 km away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#5 of 13 in La Malbaie
187 reviews
5 km away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
286 reviews
4.9 km away
Auberge sur la Cote
Auberge sur la Cote
#5 of 40 in La Malbaie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Eaux Vives? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Eaux Vives

Address: 39 rue de la Greve | Secteur Cap-à-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in La Malbaie
Price Range: ₹ 8,536 - ₹ 9,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge des Eaux Vives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge des Eaux Vives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Eaux Vives La Malbaie, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing