We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge McGowan
Nearby Hotels
US$ 133
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel de l'Outlet(Magog)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 232
US$ 224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 85
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
9
3
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
9
3
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

We had a memorable time @ the auberge..first of all the way to the location is incredible....Autumn @ its best... We had dinner on the terrace n the table dôtle was value for money....except tional menu not to be found else where....service was excellent same as the food....our room we could nt expect any better... Clean and spotless....Even there was not tv...it covers all...its a rendezvous not to b miss...Thxx you Maryse and Yanik for the wonderful experience :)

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Richie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Beautiful view of Lake ....but the breakfast.....2 out of 10 ...
First the terrace is not clean....and the tables would have needed to be washed.....the coffee was cold ....the toast was hard ...the eggs were half turned over and on top of each other ....
The waitress was trying hard to please but...... when she bent down we could see her bum and Gstring .....cause her skirt was unbelievably too short...she stopped at our table to ask if we wanted more coffee and she never came back to bring us more ....so we went inside to pay and then left....very disappointing experience.....

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gwenmagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The Auberge McGowan, in the quaint tiny hamlet of "Georgeville" abutting lake Mempremagog about 10 miles south of Magog, QC (in the Eastern Townships) was recommended by our inn keeper "Erik" of the "Cerf Argente" B&B about 5 miles up the road. We dined outside on the terrace with most of the other people. The restaurant overlooks the lake with spectacular views of the lake and the abutting hills. Felt like I was in Lugarno, Switzerland! We decided after reviewing the menu to go the whole "monty"... Table D hotel. We had salads to start, then appetizers of Smoked Beef and Lasagna with "pulled pork". Very tasty and creative! We next followed with the main courses of Fillet (grilled steak) and chicken breast with mushrooms wrapped in a dough, sought of like Chateau Briand. Dessert followed with apples wrapped in puff pastry and "lava chocolate cake" which I might add, did take a long time to deliver. When asked...our wait person "Amy" replied that they had to make the cake. Not a problem! Everything was made to order. We thorougly enjoyed the meal but had no idea it would be take 2.5 hours. Still worth it and enjoyable. Would certainly come back!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NTVBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a review of the restaurant as my wife and I stayed nearby.

The Auberge had come with high recommendations so, accordingly, our expectations were high. We had dinner there the week of August

The meal was average at best, the lighting on the terrace poor, the delivery of the food sporadic and the staff service average. My main meal, when it finally arrived, had obviously been under a heat lamp at an angle: half warm, half cool. My in-laws meals, as well as that of my wife, were average as well.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms as we only ate at the restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had dinner at Auberge McGowan on a Wednesday evening in August, 2013. Having received a positive recommendation from the B&B we were staying at for the night we visited it during the afternoon and noting a staff person we requested a table at the railing of the terrace.

Returning at six thirty we were greeted and led to the requested table. The menu featured a large number of entrees and appetizers. My wife thought the shrimp and scallops were excellent and the beef bourguignon, a special for the evening, was quite good. I also liked the shiraz which was served with the dinner. The service was excellent and attentive.

As others have mentioned the view from the terrace is superb, much more appealing than that available in Magog.

We made our reservation for an early dinner for two reasons: the sunset and getting one of the parking places alongside the auberge. Reservations are recommended; the dining area was fully occupied during our visit.

We think of the dinner as one of the high points of our recent trip and would certainly return for another meal. I cannot make any comments on the overnight accommodations as we stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews