We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esterel Suites - Very Nice ultra-modern lakefront Condo Suite Hotel”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I really liked this very modern 4 star lakefront suite condo/hotel located about 10 minutes away from the ski slopes of St Sauvuer, about 40 minutes drive north from Montreal. All suites have a queen bed (I would prefer a king) and a sofabed plus a wet bar (with mini fridge, Nexpresso coffee machine, microwave, toaster oven, dishes and silverware as well) and a gas fireplace in the adjoining livingroom. Also there is a great balcony (some suites are lakeview while some face the road!). Nice staff, beautiful interior design, very peaceful, especially on Sundays (which is the least busy and least expensive day of the week). Great free wifi, free parking.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good and was reasonably priced, and the room service menu was also fairly priced, but dinner is a different situation. The resort has a very pricey gourmet restaurant which offers their 5 course menu for around $55 per person, but I opted for the more casual Bistro. I ordered a Crab Cake, a Panini with salad and fries and a beer and the bill was about $47.00. This meal shuld have been far beter for the money. Next time I will drive 2 minutes away to have dinner at the more famous Bistro Champlain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelReview2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterel39, General Manager at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear TravelReview2010,
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always like to have feedback from our clients.
Concerning the dinner, it can be added as a package at the front desk to save money. For exemple, the three courses dinner at the bistro is at 30$/person. We take note of your comment concerning the quality of the food to continue to improve our product.
Thank you for your review and we hope you will come back soon!

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

My previous visit dates back to 1989. I recently returned with my wife for a 2 day business meeting. I told her to expect a first class charming rustic hotel. Much to our surprise the resort has been completely remodeled and renovated. Furthermore they are presently annexing condos (app. 100) to the hotel. Bye, bye the old charm. First contact at the reception desk and checking out was barely acceptable. However the staff is generally friendly and helpful. The new suites are large and very well equipped. The bed, placed next to a large patio door, was very comfortable and offered an awesome view on the lake when awakening. However I agree with Ardee3 “if you're looking for privacy in your suite, the two rooms are open plan with a see-through fireplace dividing them.” The business meeting host treated us with a 7 course gastronomic meal in the private dining room located at the lower level. The food was very good but not gastronomical and the sommelier was not up to par. The dining room located on the main level has a spectacular view on the lake from every angle. The food is good but a bit pricey. All in all you get your money’s worth only if you take advantage of their promotional rates otherwise…

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClaudeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterel39, Directeur général at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Hi ClaudeC

As you wrote in your comment, Estérel Suites, Spa & Lac is a brand new hotel which opened in December 2010. Although located in the same area as the previous Esterel Resort & Convention Centre (closed its operation in March 2009) , it has no link whatsoever with it except for its pristine surroundings.

Estérel Suites, Spa & Lac is a 95-suites hotel, it will open in december 2012 another new 105-suites hotel (annexed to it and not condos). This new hotel will be named "emotion".

We strive to keep improving our product with customer feedback to be one of the best that Quebec has to offer. We do encourage future guests to use our online reservation and benefit from the promotional rates we have to offer.


Regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The hotel is newly renovated, all rooms are mini suites with kitchenette (micro-wave, fridge and coffee maker, plates, utensils, and kitchen sink. Separate bedroom with TV and bathroom. The kitchen has small table for meals, full living room and murphy bed with fireplace and second TV. Rooms fronting water have patio door and floor to ceiling windows that give direct access to lake and private patio table, chairs and hot tub !!!!

Restaurant is fantastic; food is pleasantly displayed, tastes great and restaurant is perfectly located with Masson Lake in background!!

Spa is newly opened and some kinks still need to be ironed out; but promises to be great.

Hotel is perfectly situated with lake on one side and mountains on the other.

My stay happened to be during Indian summer and colors plus water and trees and 23 degrees allowed for the perfect stay.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are soooo much better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laube1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We went to Estérel Suites Spa & Lac last summer for a family reunion and had a wonderful time. The rooms are modern, very spacious and gorgeous: we had a kitchenette with a microwave, a fridge, and best of all a Nespresso espresso maker. The housekeepers give you new coffee pods every morning when they make up your room. Near the bed, you have an I-pod charger with an alarm clock. The bathroom is beautiful too. It feels like a glamorous spa. We had a lakefront room on the 3rd floor and the view from the balcony was amazing. In the morning, after a quiet and restful night on the excellent bed, you can sit on the balcony with your coffee and the lake is like a mirror. Your contemplation of it will only be interrupted by the family of loons swimming around. the food in the main restaurant is unbelievable, you will think you are in a Michelin starred place. My only issue with the restaurant is that the service was not quite up to par, considering the quality of the food. I think they should have ITHQ-trained waiters only. The staff is general (including in the dining room) is friendly in general and really tries hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They greet you when they see you in the corridor which I think is a nice touch.
Rooms on the ground floor that face the lake have direct beach access which is nice but the water in front of those rooms has a few aquatic grasses growing in it so some people might not like swimming right there. A few feet away from the hotel is a grassy area with lots of lounge chairs. There is a small sandy beach there and we found areas of the water where there were no grasses growing to get into the lake. The water is crystal-clear and lovely to swim in, Very refreshing. Furthermore, you can swim to a small island in the lake, which is great fun for families. You can also rent boats but we found those to be expensive. I think they should include all-you-can-rent non-motorized boat rentals in their room-and-board deals, which, by the way, we found reasonably priced for the quality of the rooms and the food. There are also 4 outdoor hot-tubs overlooking the lake, near the bar area. Very pleasant day and night. The bar includes a wonderful deck on the lake so if the weather's nice, you can have a drink outside.
Here are the only recommendations we'd make: 1) get an indoor pool (for when the weather is bad... Staff told us that a pool had been planned for 2012.) 2) Set-up a game room for kids and adults alike (once again, in case the weather is bad, or if adults want to linger in the dining room after dinner and kids are getting antsy.) Include poo table, ping-pong, Foosball, board games, etc. 3) Have staff pick up dirty room service dishes from hallway floors a little quicker.
Overall, though, we had an amazing stay, and plan to come back!

Room Tip: Make sure one family in your party has a water front room so you can enjoy the peaceful view too. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsinthebelfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterel39, Directeur général at Esterel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Hi Catsinthebelfry,
We want to thank you for your good comments and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Be sure that your recommandations are very usefull to us, we will use them to upgrade our service.

We hope to see you soon again,

Regards,

Isadora Lacourse
General Manager assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I went to this hotel for a site inspection in view of a convention in 2012 for one of our clients.
We were offered a "standard" room but believe me there was nothing "standard" about it... Fireplace, very trendy and zen ambiance, view on the lake and perfect sleep (thanks to a very comfortable bed...
It was a perfect stay!
I will go back!!!

Room Tip: "Standard" room are well above average! View on the lake is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRed47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
13.4 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
207 reviews
20.1 km away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
325 reviews
20.4 km away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hotel Alpine Inn
Hotel Alpine Inn
#4 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
424 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Viking Resort & Marina
Le Viking Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
15 reviews
13.3 km away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range: ₹ 10,009 - ₹ 23,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estérel Resort offers an exceptional nature experience. Bordered by three navigable lakes, lush Laurentian forest and a Nordic spa, Estérel Resort’s two hotels offer a magical Laurentian backdrop, the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. An impeccable panorama and welcoming facilities make Estérel Resort the obvious choice for events such as weddings, conferences and corporate events. The three gourmet restaurants, banquet halls, suites with a fireplace and outdoor activities during both the summer and winter seasons are guaranteed to provide unforgettable memories. Treat yourself to a unique Laurentian experience with a stay at Estérel Resort. Estérel Resort, exceptional destination 1 h from Montreal – 6 h from Toronto – 2 h 15 from Ottawa – 4 h from Kingston 3 h 30 from Burlington, VT – 6 h from Boston, MA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing