We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have already recommended this hotel to several people”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent 5 days at this resort, all suites with balconies and kitchenettes, tastefully updated, all overlooking beautiful lac Dupuis. The hotel offers good deals if you stay for 3 or for 5 nights. There are many activities right on the premises including golfing, kayaking, canoeing (extra costs) and of course swimming in the crystal clear lake or relaxing in one of the many outdoor hot tubs. Breakfast is an extra $15 per person, required, and includes an omelette bar as well as a fairly large buffet in a lovely, roomy and bright room overlooking the lake. Fine dining and a bistro are also part of the facilities.

We found the staff friendly and helpful, especially in the dining room/bistro, but were disappointed in the front desk staff (with the exception of the young woman who checked us out). As the first point of contact, the employees need some serious public relations training. Also, we had asked a manager in writing and in person to be informed if we could stay for the following weekend if a cancellation opened up but no-one got back to us. We found an excellent alternative for the last few days of our trip.

A word of warning - if you're looking for privacy in your suite, the two rooms are open plan with a see-through fireplace dividing them.

Room Tip: A higher floor provides an outstanding view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

I went there with my girlfriend for a friend's wedding. The event was fabulous; the service was excellent and the food much better than expected considering they served 150 people at once. The facilities all have been remodeled lately, the rooms are as beautiful as they are comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay, we will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Pros:
Rooms are great. Lake view very peaceful. Good deals to be had
Spa Services. Friendly relaxing
5 course meal is worth the time and money
Good wine list
Cons:
Service still very inconsistent
Bistro food very inferior to restaurant
Grounds not developed and no pool.
Only one elevator which is slooooow

The hotel has undergone a significant refurb. Rooms are spacious, modern and very well fitted out. We stayed in a lake view room on the fourth floor which had direct sunshine for most of the morning and early afternoon.
Rooms had a small fridge, coffee machine, microwave, two televisions and split aircon as well as a separate bath and shower. The standard of finish in the rooms is very high and was the highlight of the stay. Bed is very comfortable.
The problems and the reason for the lost star relates to service and the overall amenities.
Unless you are looking out on the lake, the hotel grounds still resemble a work in progress. Equally, the hotel has no pool and you can try to swim in the lake but it didn't look that attractive to swim in.
You have to pay for rental of the pedalos and water equipment which seems a little mean. You also had to go back up to reception to pay and then come back down to the rental centre with a piece of paper saying you had paid. This leaves a penny pinching impression as well as looking badly organised. it is worth going out on the lake to look in at the impressive houses.
There is a small deck over the lake with sun loungers but it is laughable how they have squeezed far too many into a small space resulting in you practically climbing over other people to get in or out. Private it certainly is not. they need to either widen the deck or take some of the chairs out
Food was quite high quality but service was poor. Beware that despite the fact that the bistro and restaurant are all part of the same room there are two different chefs. Service in the bistro was poor, slow and the food much inferior to the restaurant. my wives' salmon was very dry and overcooked. Generally the restaurant service was more snappy and the food better prepared. Breakfast is excellent with a huge range of options to choose from.
Another problem was that we paid for 5 course menu in advance. For both the evenings of our stay they did not have the documentation saying we had paid meaning we had to go through the process of showing them the printout of our online booking. Another example of poor organisation. Furthermore, having been told there was no need to book the restaurant, when myself and my 8months pregnant wife turned up we were then told we would have to wait an hour even though the restaurant was less than 50% full. When I pointed out that women who are about to give birth don't really want to wait an hour they found us a table but poor communication between front desk and the restaurant again.
Wine list is comprehensive and competitively priced relative to the high costs in Quebec.
The spa was relaxing. Service was good and pricing generally in line with other hotels.

In conclusion, if you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, then the prices are very reasonable. In terms of service however, the hotel is still showing a lot of growing pains. I will track how subsequent reviewers see the service but I expect it will improve and if it does I would happily go back again for a weekend visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gibbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were there for 3 days in June with a couple of friends. The hotel has been completely refurbished over the last year and a half. Our suite had view on the lake, which was about 20 feet from our huge balcony, a gaz fireplace and two flat screen TVs.

Plenty of excellent food in the five services dinner.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Suites with view on the lake are worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ok2roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Rooms are just wonderful, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is huge, pretty and you can fit 2 in the shower. Read the other reviews for more detail.
The beach suites are very cool, with your very own "bain tourbillon" on the deck outside. A swim in the lake, then a hot tub, then back in the lake, then a beer in the tub, rince,repeat.

Food was absolutely amazing. We were part of a group and had a "table d'hôte" menu on friday (main course choices was meat, fish or pasta) and I got the meat but tasted the fish and the pasta. Everything was tasty, fresh, a bit of originality and perfectly cooked, presented and served. Wine list is made for knowledgeable amateurs (with private imports in there) but the staff know what to serve you is you don't feel like choosing. The cheaper bottles started around 37$-40$ range. We had the private diner in the wine cellar room on saturday and I'll remember it for a looooonnnngg time. Original, modern, distinguished, 7 service with it's own wine (or port, or pineau...). Each course was amazing.
Breakfast was equally nice with fresh food, lots of things to choose from. Nothing is cheap, but then again you get what you pay for.

The golf course is not that nice: I think their greens had some type of disease. But they offered us a substantial rebate because of it. And although I was there in mid june, the mosquito kept mostly to themselves.

The drive to get there is easy and it's very close to St-Sauveur so it's a quick drive from Montreal (compared to Tremblant...).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracedebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
13.4 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
207 reviews
20.1 km away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
325 reviews
20.4 km away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hotel Alpine Inn
Hotel Alpine Inn
#4 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
424 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Viking Resort & Marina
Le Viking Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
15 reviews
13.3 km away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range: ₹ 10,009 - ₹ 23,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estérel Resort offers an exceptional nature experience. Bordered by three navigable lakes, lush Laurentian forest and a Nordic spa, Estérel Resort’s two hotels offer a magical Laurentian backdrop, the ideal setting for a romantic getaway. An impeccable panorama and welcoming facilities make Estérel Resort the obvious choice for events such as weddings, conferences and corporate events. The three gourmet restaurants, banquet halls, suites with a fireplace and outdoor activities during both the summer and winter seasons are guaranteed to provide unforgettable memories. Treat yourself to a unique Laurentian experience with a stay at Estérel Resort. Estérel Resort, exceptional destination 1 h from Montreal – 6 h from Toronto – 2 h 15 from Ottawa – 4 h from Kingston 3 h 30 from Burlington, VT – 6 h from Boston, MA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing