We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
29
57
42
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
57
42
14
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Don't believe the publicity. This hotel has to stop charging exorbitant prices for their rooms. We stayed in two Riotel while travelling in Gaspé. They seem to undergo cosmetic renovations instead of proper renovations. Our room at the Bonaventure hotel had a musty smell, the creaking hardwood floors and bad insulation means that you hear your neighbors talk, walk, .... Our Matane Riotel room seemed to have been renovated by a lowest bidder: our bathroom door wouldn't close, the bathtub tiles were misaligned and moldy. I have travelled enough to know when a hotel it is not worth the expense. These are two of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LLalonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Friendly staff run a smooth ship. Unfortunately, the ship is squished between the main highway and the Baie de Chaleur. We booked a month ahead but still wound up with a disappointingly small (both couldn't walk around at the same time!) room overlooking the highway. We couldn't leave the window open because of the road noise. The air conditioner was noisy but effective. For the size and location of the room, the price was exorbitant. We wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was just a one night stop on our road trip but just like the Riotel at Matane the main thing that stays with me is the friendliness of all the staff we had contact with - without exception. it started with the receptionist and then the waiting staff in the bar and the restaurant carried it on. Just felt so welcoming and informal.

The room (I think it was #22) was fine the highlight being the fact that a few steps from the patio doors was the beach. Just great to be so close to the water and still remain dry. Nice little sitting-out area outside too. Two queen beds and plenty of space. Bathroom was fine. Parking right outside the door so very easy to move luggage.

Food in the restaurant was very good - it greatly surpassed expectations - and the dining room had great sea views. Really couldn't fault the dining experience at all particularly for the price.

So this was my second positive Riotel experience on this trip. You have a great staff recruitment policy. Either that or you pay them way above market rate to make them so happy and pleasant!

Room Tip: I guess all rooms have sea-views but if not that would be an essential.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

For the rates we were charged and for the wonderful website pictures one almost imagines a sprawling Oceanside estate...... No Way!

The Bonaventure location resembles a roadside motel picutres we terribly misleading. The rooms were cramped and the family which also arrived when we did also complained of the same. In perce the pictures resemble a wonderful scene on sprawling Oceanside ...... Nope. Crammed and congested with dated building. We headed to hotel Normandie same price better and cleaner for the rest of our Stay in gaspe and it was incredible!

Room Tip: City view the roadside view - superior room means ocean view but location is close to road and it's noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 587Taka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel clean, staff were great, evening meal great, but the view and the beach were awesome, we listen to the ocean all night, so soothing. Highly recommend this hotel. Make sure you are able to get a sea side room, you will be impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to share your impression with tripadvisor community.
We are glad to see that you have appreciated your tourist experience in our hotel of Bonaventure. Your feedback is really important , especially knowing how much time we spent enhance our hotel and improve our service team.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews