We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place ”
Review of The Kiwi Cafe

The Kiwi Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 12
Cuisines: International, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

The Restaurant is welcoming and the food is delicious. It is a hub of village life. Everyone is so friendly and it's a great place to hang out , to meet local friends and to seek advice on local sightseeing. We had brunch twice and the omelettes are superb. Poached eggs are perfectly cooked.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicafe1492, Owner at The Kiwi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We moved to Nova Scotia a year ago and in Chester discovered the Kiwi Cafe. If we want good food served by friendly, good-humored people, we go to the "Kiwi"--probably two or three times a week. If you are looking for high-end, fine dining, this is NOT your place. You shouldn't even be writing a review. But if you want good food, never failing, this is the place. And it serves the best damn chowder ever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicafe1492, Owner at The Kiwi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thanks for your kind review, we think we have the nicest customers around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This was a delightful (and colorful) place for lunch, very good bakery and fine coffee. Chester is a nice little fishing village not far from Lunenburg and Peggy's Cove (and far less crowded with tourists), with a number of shops along with the scenic harbor. The Kiwi was the perfect spot to pause.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

If you want to find anyone while visiting the quaint seaside hamlet of Chester, just hang out at the Kiwi Cafe and they'll likely show up at some point for the great coffee or the great company, not to mention the yummy baked goods and Wi-Fi service. Always friendly, always buzzing with energy, Kiwi is a worthwhile stop for any meal, especially fabulous breakfast fare after a night of Maritime fun by land or by sea.

Thank WhositOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicafe1492, Owner at The Kiwi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the cafe and Chester too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My favorite place to go to in Chester. I just love this place! Eat outside if you can. The food is delicious, creative and can't be beat. Order the lobster roll, have one of their delicious soups, have a glass of wine, order a homemade dessert. The Kiwi is one of the best spots in Chester. Trust me, you won't be disappointed. Glad we went back!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicafe1492, Owner at The Kiwi Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for your kind review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kiwi Cafe also viewed

Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Chester Basin, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Chester, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Kiwi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing