We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
51
27
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
27
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tent sites free showers great wifi seasonal campers tree roots bathrooms and showers lovely pool decent size cabot trail cape breton would definitely stay here again two nights base camp small beach swimming pool great place to stay laundry room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and used this as our base camp taking day trips out to see the sights. The campground is a family run campground. They have and excellent bath house and showers with great water pressure and plenty of hot watwr. A clubhouse with wifi and tv's books movies that you can watch for free. A nice laundry mat and mant other ameneties. We had reserved to stay four nights but left after three and they refunded the dourth night back to us. This campground is located right at the beginninh of the Cabot Trail. If we ever visit Nova Scotia again in our camper this will be where we would stay again. And on top of that their rates were great compared to other campgrounds

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank franzeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, General Manager at Baddeck Cabot Trail Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi there,
thank you very much for the wonderful review and staying at our campground for 3 nights. We are very happy to hear you liked all our amenities and the rates we are offering. We always try to refund our guests if possible and we were very happy to have you here for the 3 nights. Thanks again for staying with us and coming all the way from Tennessee to our beautiful Island. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Take care,
Daniel and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This was our second stay at this campground, with more time to spend walking the grounds than last time and we were blown away! All of their tent sites are very private, there is a swimming pool and playground for the kids, hiking trails (they are currently working on) and a small beach on the lake. This has become one of our favorite campgrounds in Nova Scotia, definitely recommend to anyone- and do recommend often. See you next year!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn_y24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, General Manager at Baddeck Cabot Trail Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Katelyn,
thanks for the great review and staying at our campground again. Looks like you really like everything about our campground and had an amazing time. Nothing better than having Happy Campers. Thanks so much for recommending our campground to friends and family. A great review is really helpful, but nothing is better than personal recommendations.
We cannot wait to see you again next year. Take care and have a beautiful winter.
Thanks,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Well our trip to this part of Canada in our RV could not of been better. We had booked in here for three nights over the October Thinks Giving weeekend but we arrived a day early so thought why not let's just stay here for a bit longer. Well what a weekend we had! Great camp site with friendly staff. We were told as my husband Andrew is into his photography that an eagle came and sat in a tree in the camp site but he had not been seen for a few days, but on the Saturday morning there he was people watching us taking pictures of him a truly majestic bird.

Over the weekend we met some great people had drinks and laughs round the fire at night and even the night it rained it didn't dampen our spirits we just moved under the awaning of our new neighbours! Friends for life.

A trip round the Cabot Trail was nice, but a long day made better by dropping in for a lobster lunch. The colours of autumn were starting to come through in beautiful shades of rusts ambers and reds although according to the locals at least a week late due to the warm air that was due to the hurricanes that America had been having.

To use here as a base was great! would highly recommend

Sally and Andrew

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyd512017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, General Manager at Baddeck Cabot Trail Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Sally and Andrew,

thank you so much for that wonderful review and staying with us for almost a week. It was just a big pleasure having you here. You are extremely great people with such a great sense of humour (The Brits have just the best sense of humour on that planet). Thanks so much for the beautiful picture of our eagle. This great photo will be on our website very soon. We hope you had a great flight home to Manchester. When you decide to come to Cape Breton Island you definitely have to visit us again. Thanks again for everything.
Take care,
Daniel and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The owner was super nice. He gave us worthwhile attractions to go to and he gave maps how to get there. We had WIFI in our tent trailer. There was a playground for children. Also there was a swimming pool.

That first night we did the laundry.

We can hike in the forest and there is a lovely lake to enjoy! Kayaks are available to anyone.

I really like that campground. Too bad we were here for only two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, General Manager at Baddeck Cabot Trail Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi Robby,

thanks so much for staying with us and thanks for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our campground so much and would have loved to spend more time here. It is a long drive from Toronto to Cape Breton Island, but we really hope you will visit us again.
Thanks again for everything,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We arrived with no booking and asked for two nights. (Despite the fact that Jose was brewing in the Atlantic, we enjoyed it so much, we stayed a third night !) Staff could not have been friendlier and we did not have to move sites.

We have a Class B camper van and were given a corner site close to the bathhouse and rec room and behind some of the cabins. Lovely big "Christmas" trees on the site !

The washrooms were spotless and warm. And the rec room has the most interesting tables - under glass, beautiful displays of shells, rocks and driftwood. We could not pick up any TV with our antenna but there is a large TV in the rec room.

This is an excellent place to stay for exploring the Cabot Trail.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, General Manager at Baddeck Cabot Trail Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Rosalind, thanks so much for the nice words and staying with us for 3 nights. You came all the way from beautiful North Carolina to visit beautiful Cape Breton Island. So we are very happy and proud to hear our campground was the perfect fit for you. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff and the clean bathrooms. We hope you will visit us again. Have a great trip home. Thanks again for the excellent review.

Take care,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews