We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
70
50
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
50
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door picture window gaelic college great view cabot trail satellite tv blue heron big picture cape breton wonderful restaurant week tour great place to stay nova scotia free wifi small table coffee pot would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped here by total accident as we were planning on heading on further but after a long day trekking the Cabot Trail we were exhausted.
We never saw any reviews ahead of booking but were pleasantly surprised how clean and well appointed this suite was.
Spotlessly clean, good sized fridge and TV with many channels, great water pressure
And a view out of the rear picture window that looked out onto water. Just beautiful, outside our suite was a small beach and we had a nice short stroll along the water.
High end satellite tv and really good coffee in the coffeemaker. (That’s a rarity in most hotels we stayed in over our three week tour) comfy bed, a desk and a small table to eat at if you so desired.
We had a great nights sleep as even though it looks like the highway is close in reality nobody drives there at night and it was quiet enough to leave the windows open and listen to the waves.
Stop here you won’t be dissatisfied!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve_and_BettyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed in room #1 for a weekend with my husband and 10 month old. The room was perfect, clean and comfortable. The view from the room is AMAZING. What a sight to wake up to. Hope to be back some day!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KatieS3079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Very well run motel with an exceptional location, every room within yards of St. Ann's Bay. You can sit in your room looking out the large picture window and see eagles diving for fish. Or herons standing motionless until they pierce the water for a fish. Very clean, simple rooms. Less than a km away is The Gaelic College and just beyond is the beginning of the Cabot Trail. Ask Chris for dining recommendations and she might direct you to the Lobster Supper down the road in Baddeck where it's all-you-can-eat mussels and chowder before you dig into the main event. Doug and Chris are experienced and caring hosts. I'll return.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We had a reservation for two nights at this motel expecting a clean simple property near Baddeck
Indeed, this is a simple motel, the rooms were clean, however it is 20 Km from baddeck, right off the main highway into the Cabot trail......a stone’s grow from the highway, really.....and across from the graveyard. There is NOTHING THERE. We thought it would be a little out of town, on a nice piece of property where you could relax after a day of touring.
It is a very small motel, gravel all around,very close to the highway.
We looked at the room, which was clean and as expected, but it was at the end.....right next to the road.
They kindly let us leave.
I am sure this is fine for some of you, it do not expect a bucolic, country motel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Doug greeted us when we checked in and provided assistance with how to operate the satellite TV. He also provided good suggestions for an evening meal. Our room was clean, comfortable and cozy, with the best view. Even the bedding smelled nice. It was nice to park right at our front door. Hope to return to this lovely little motel and Cape Breton some day!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank digitalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews