We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous time with great guides

What a fun half day we had. The guides were terrific, great with all levels of experience, and fun... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
jinilil
,
Australia
Fun tour, beautiful scenery and friendly guide!

Angelo, our guide, was very friendly and the scenery along the route is super beautiful. The... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
George G
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
178
10
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
10
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread half day tour chai tea bald eagles nova scotia great kayaking our tour guide light snack homemade jams local bakery hummus rest stop stay dry half hour drive points of interest a lot of fun fish cakes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

What a fun half day we had. The guides were terrific, great with all levels of experience, and fun. A wonderful snack of home made gingerbread with rhubarb & strawberry jam and chai made a great break. Loved it.

Thank jinilil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Angelo, our guide, was very friendly and the scenery along the route is super beautiful. The home-made banana bread, rhubarb jam, and tea at the beach (halfway point of the tour) is another highlight, haha. Angelo also owns brand new cabins on the riverside property with an outdoor pizza oven, stain glass windows, and guitar inside each one. Highly recommend if you find yourself on that side of Cape Breton Island.

Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Much thanks to Francois for a terrific 1/2 day paddling into st Ann’s harbour. Great establishment, very well run. They had everything we could need. It was a beautiful sunshine morning. Paddling around a bend in the harbour, we could hear the young eagles still in the nest calling for more food from their busy parents. We could see the 2 bald eagle parents circling and working to feed their young. Francois was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Great day - and don’t forget to ask Angelo if he could play you a song.

Thank whistlerkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We did the full day trip: highly recommended! Our guide, François was friendly, fun and a good instructor. Paddled out to a beach/cove and had hot/cold lunch, swam, and then flexible on the way back. Refreshing standing under the waterfall. Trying to stand in kayak was a highlight!

We went on a hot, sunny day. Bring your own bottle of water to tie on your kayak! If it had been windy, it would have been a really rough, tiring paddle.

Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

I had seen reviews on line for this and how awesome it was so we decided to book a 1/2 Day morning tour with my husband and I and our two teen daughters. We were thoroughly impressed at the staff, the tour, the scenery and the snack!!! We all just loved this experience so much. Don’t skip this if you’re considering. Thanks Sophia, Angelo and team!!!

Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked it one morning on a whim and it was one of the best days ever. The drive to the location is beautiful. They are super laid back and welcoming. It was our first time ever kayaking and they were so patient and informative in their instructions. Our guide was a young girl and was she ever impressive! She was so knowledgable and charismatic, and watching her in her element was amazing. She made us rookie paddlers feel so safe and capable. The tour itself is so beautiful, St Ann's Bay is so pristine and we were lucky enough to see so many bold eagles. The rest stop at the beach waterfall was an added treat, and the light snack provided is so tasty and hits the spot. We will definitely be back again to do the full day tour!

Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The folks at North River Kayak were experienced and approachable. Whether an accomplished kayaker or a beginner, these folks have you covered. I went on the 3 hour tour and found it to be a fun experience. There are nice photo opportunities if you are wise enough to bring a waterproof camera bag. The day I went there was only a bit of wind so it was an easy paddle up and down the bay.

Thank redbearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We did the half-day tour and had an exceptional experience. Our guides, Frank and Kelly, were professional and knowledgeable. The North River Kayaking drop in area is a very nice setting with hammocks and seating looking out to the river. It is very clean and well kept. The kayaks and equipment were all in very good condition. The break at the turnaround point with banana bread and tea is a nice touch. We did get to see eagles as another added bonus! I would recommend this tour.

Thank 864dawnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

While staying in Baddeck for a couple days on our week long visit to Nova Scotia we were looking for something fun to do and my wife found North River Kayak. We had been kayaking in the past and found this to be the perfect way to enjoy Cape Breton Island.

Upon arriving at the facilities we were served fresh strawberries that had just been picked. Absolutely delicious. There were 7 of us with a guide. Most of us were in doubles but you could take a single kayak if you prefer. What I love about this company is they do it right. These kayaks are the real deal, with rudders and foot peddles for steering the boat. And everyone wears an apron which attaches to the boat so that you stay dry. They even give you dry bags for your stuff so you can attach it to the deck of the boat and it stays dry. Great gear, very professional.

We spent about 3 hours on the water, heading about 5 miles along the coastline. We got to see a massive bald eagle nest and a bald eagle along the way. So breathtaking. We stopped along the shore for some fresh banana bread and tea, even took a quick dip in the water.

If you have time, definitely take a kayaking tour. It was one of our favorite things to do while in Baddeck.

1  Thank cameraeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed in Angelo's cabins for 3 nights in September 2017 and also did a 3 hour kayak tour. We live in Calgary, and we certainly wish that we were closer to visit this wonderful spot and all the great people there more often.
The cabins are in a quiet area. Our first evening, we were greeted by an eagle swooping low over us as we stood near the cabins. Eating our breakfasts overlooking the water was an awesome and peaceful way to start the day. Angelo makes you feel right at home - Steve and Kathleen were the employees who we met - wonderful, genuine people.We did some hiking, driving, exploring using the cabin as a base.
Our kayak tour was great - really nice equipment, very qualified leaders. It would be awesome another time to do a multi-day trip with North River Kayak Tours.
Betty and Randy

2  Thank BettyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews