We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
61
43
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
43
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking trails european style bedroom cottage well equipped kitchen cabot trail cape breton nice patio coffee table easy drive king size wifi worked well kitchen area wished we could have stayed longer beautiful view great place to start week trip minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We booked this accommodation because we did not find anything else available for the nights we were going to be in Baddeck. Sounded good on the website...good location.
BUT, shame on the owners for "milking the cow": rundown, dirty! Clients seemed mostly families or several couples staying a week or more. In that case, this is cheap for the money. I would NOT have cooked and eaten there! The shower/tub was very dirty! It was cheap in every sense. It felt like there had been no deep cleaning in a long, long time!
Never again! Sorry, Rolando. We expected much better from a German/Italian!

Room Tip: Unless you are looking for really cheap, cannot recommend
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandPalmizi, General Manager at Hunter's Mountain Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your review. I have to admit that in the 22 years of the existence of Hunter's Mountain Chalets, did we not have such a devastating review. Therefore I do not really know how to react to these accusations, other than to say, we apologize for having failed your, obviously, very high expectations. To call our place dirty and cheap is simply untrue. We work hard at maintaining our rental units, as well as our reputation as being one the cleanest places in the Baddeck area, as proven by our other 112 reviews on TripAdvisor and many more on other online portals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We were traveling with our son, his wife and two children ages 7 and 5. We booked a two bedroom and were so pleasantly surprised!! Roland was a great "host" as he took us to our chalet and explained everything. The kids wanted to hike one of the four trails right on the property (only about 20 min.) My husband was very content to sit and admire the beautiful view. It is clean and comfortable. We wished we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nana_mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

This was our last accommodation in a 2 week trip that included stays in 5 different cabin/cottages. This was the largest of all our accommodations. When we checked in, Roland gave us a tour of our cottage and showed us how things worked. He is very friendly. There is a BBQ right on your patio as well as a patio table that seats 6. The living room area includes two couches, both comfortable. The kitchen is tight but perfectly fine. No oven, but that was not a problem. No A/C but it cools down in the evenings so there was really no need for A/C. Wifi worked fine.Besides the cabins, Roland has groomed some of his property into trails. So we had a nice walk one afternoon. Tis location is perfect. You are 90 minutes to the Fortress of Louisbourg and about the same distance to Cheticamp and the entrance to Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The grocery store is about a 15 minute drive from the Chalets. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Two bedroom cottage with kitchenette. Living room with love seat and chair, large kitchen table. NO air conditioning. Beds are twins push together. Bedrooms smell a little mussy. The view is amazing looking over the mountains. The start or end of the Cabot Trail close to Bedeck, NS

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cmcginn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Great evening spent. Everything you would need in a cabin is provided. Clean, friendly, beds were great, lots of hot water and well maintained with a great view. They came right to the cabin at check in to make sure everything was satisfactory. We had a great relaxing evening after traveling the trail. Will go back.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank Milton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews