We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
284
313
105
32
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
313
105
32
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east wing cabot trail great view cape breton dining room macneil house night package outdoor pool view of the lake walking trails bras d'or lake laundry facilities breakfast buffet nova scotia tour buses two nights comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We spent one night here while touring the area. It has a motel portion and some cabins as well. The grounds were well maintained with a playground, pool and a great view of Bras D'Or Lake. We arrived around one, and were told in no uncertain terms that we could not check in early...ok, but be nice about it! The desk was manned by an older lady who was not terribly friendly or welcoming....so we took a ride to downtown Baddeck; not too far away. When we came back, there was a young man there; a student at university of PEI...he was very friendly and nice to talk to...that's how you welcome guests! Our motel room was very comfy and clean with a loud but functional AC unit. Great bed! Not enough outlets, good wifi, place needs a little face lift. The best thing was the laundry area....wash and dry your clothes for about 2 bucks a load! There is no meal included with this room, which is not good as it was the highest price place we stayed in almost 3 weeks on the road, next to a B&B in downtown Charlottetown/PEI. This was ok for one night, but for a longer stay you might be able to find something cheaper with a meal included and more friendly ladies. Overall, we found Baddeck to be an overpriced town. Rating this only average d/t cool ladies at reception and higher price point/no meals. Location, view and room comfort was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Famontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for your review of the Silver Dart Lodge in Baddeck. I apologize that you were not made to feel welcome when you first arrived. I have taken note of your comments and have spoken to the Guest Services Supervisor about proper procedures to ensure this does not reoccur.

I was pleased you enjoyed our property and especially the laundry facilities. We hope you will visit with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The Silver Dart Lodge is a not-so-hidden gem. In fact, I chose it based on the stellar reviews posted here on Trip Advisor. The Silver Dart lived up to every nice thing posted in the previous reviews. We arrived on a cold, rainy night following a very long drive up from Yarmouth NS. For some reason, my GPS couldn’t find the address, but luckily, there are several readable billboards on the highway directing you to the door of the Silver Dart. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly in giving me a briefing on the property and amenities. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy the week we were there, so we didn’t get to try out the heated pool.
Our room was very clean, and I mean it. The tiles in the tub/shower gleamed; the mini-fridge smelled baking soda fresh, and there wasn’t a hint of dirt or dust or grime anywhere. The beds were very comfortable, and plenty of fluffy pillows available for all. This is the first hotel in North America where I felt like the housekeeping staff really deserved a big tip.
The restaurant was also excellent and has a spectacular view of the Bras D’Or lake. We ate breakfast there every morning, and even had dinner there one night. By sheer luck, we always arrived in the restaurant after the bus tour participants had departed. However, it definitely appeared that the Silver Dart is a popular stopping point for many bus tours, and I imagine that makes breakfast especially crowded.
Like most reviewers, I highly recommend the Silver Dart any time you’re visiting Cape Breton.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! It was truly a pleasure to read your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed our property. Please visit with us again next year and hopefully you will get a chance to enjoy the heated outdoor pool! Again, thank you and we hope you will visit with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Baddeck is a great starting point for the Cabot Trail and the Silver Dart Lodge is situated within beautiful grounds with a gorgeous view of Bras d'Or Lake. The staff were friendly and helpful; the suites were clean and had a pleasant aspect.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Baddeck truly is a great base for the Cabot Trail and we are so pleased to decided to stay with us at Silver Dart Lodge during your recent visit. Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will visit with again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This is almost like going to a cottage - hotel has many options but we stayed in the main lodge, with a view of the lake and a deck overlooking the front lawn. Our room was spacious with that rarest of commodities - two arm chairs for us to sit in!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for your perfect score on your visit to the Silver Dart Lodge in Baddeck. I was pleased you enjoyed the beautiful view and the great chairs! Please visit with us again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This was our favorite place we stayed on Cape Breton Island.

the rooms are simple and motel-style, but larger than you'd expect with two nice leather chairs and table, a desk with chair, fridge and wonderful view. Room 22 does have a bit of an obstructed view but we didn't mind. these were the BEST beds! Comfortable, high quality linens and fluffy comforters. We felt like we were sleeping in the clouds. Just to make it even better they have their own walking trails through lovely woods and garden plus laundry facilities. All the rooms have a/c and a little veranda with chairs to enjoy the view. The morning breakfast was just so so but they get points for having fresh and yummy gluten free bread to toast. If you get the package that includes dinner, you may have the lobsters.........

Room Tip: in the lodge rooms, numbers 21 and below or 25 and above. We liked lower level, but upper level would be grand too.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmousee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for staying at Silver Dart Lodge in Baddeck and thank you for your review of our property. I just loved your heading "Best on the Cabot Trail"! It sounds like you truly enjoyed our grounds and the property, but I did take note of your comment about the breakfast. I have spoken to the Kitchen Manager to ensure we are putting out the best products possible. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews