We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming home and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Village of New Bonaventure The Harbour of New Bonaventure
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Village of New Bonaventure
The Harbour of New Bonaventure
Hodder House
Hodder House
Rock the Sunset away on the wrap around deck
Icebergs in season
Wildlife abounds
Whales are just off shore
Upstairs Landing
View from the master bedroom
Master Bedroom
Double Room
Traditional furnishings
Double Room
Singles room Featuring Original Door Headboards
Singles room Featuring Original Door Headboards
Livingroom
Living room Featuring 32' TV/DVD Combo
Livingroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Kitchen window view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Trinity, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
232darlen...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming home and location”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this little village and home while visiting the Bonavista area. It's a little out of the way but the home made up for it. The owners have made it comfortable and welcoming. The record player and collection of lp's was fun and the bedding, linens and rooms were well appointed. We wish we could have stayed longer! I would recommend this place if you're ever in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for this great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embert G
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended base for Bonavista area”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about our stay at Hodder House was perfect. The house itself is charming and well-equipped. I enjoyed barbecuing outside with a view of the iceberg and the lovely church up on the hill in the setting sun. We spent three days exploring the area: Trinity, Skerwink Trail, puffins at Elliston, Bonavista; everything is within an easy drive. Georgina was very helpful from the start, even when we locked ourselves out of the house.... I couldn't recommend Hodder House more enthusiastically. Thank you, Georgina, for making our stay in New Bonaventure possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVE it here!”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing Gem of a find!! If you are planning a stay in this area, I highly recommend staying here! This a beautiful home, restored in a way that highlights its heritage, and is fully equipped with all the modern conveniences for you to enjoy. Even picked some of the in season Rhubarb, as suggested, to enjoy a tasty dessert topping off our tasty meal of local cod! Thanks so much Georgina for sharing your vacation home with us and for sending the special order iceberg in view right out the front of the house!! I will be sure to call this my NL home away from home. During our stay we took in the Rugged Beauty Boat Tour, (an absolute must!) and toured up the Bonavista, Elliston and Trinity. Only wish we would have had more time to soak up the calm, quiet, quaint NL outport of New Bonaventure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP S
GUELPH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Excellent place to”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house and 'tiny harbour' are fabulous and there is enough to do within an hour's drive to fill a week (puffin viewing in Maberly and Spillar's Cove, exploring Bonavista area, hiking at Kings Cove and Skerwink Trail, exploring Trinity). We arrived in cold and wet with the harbour so jammed with ice (as far as the eye could see) that the fishermen had trouble coming in, but left with several spectacularly sunny and milder days (that blew all the ice out) and views of half a dozen icebergs. The hike to British Harbour is spectacular (beautiful secluded harbours and mountaintop vistas), but strenuous and wet. The grocery store near the corner of Hwy 236 has an adequate variety of fresh and frozen foods. The house is comfortable and has almost everything you could need...including good quality kitchen implements (probably everything you need to cook a turkey dinner for 8!). The owners replied quickly when we had questions.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay even with the rain and ice and hope to hear from you again soon.
Safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kersaraam
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax and soak up beautiful Newfoundland!”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Hodder House was a perfect landing spot for our small group of 4 adults. The house is set in a beautiful cove with fabulous water views. During our stay we wandered the tranquil and quaint roadways around the house. We stumbled across a huge expanse of wild blueberries - what a deliciously fresh and organic treat they were!! The house is a great base from which to explore the broader area. There was so much to see. The house itself is well laid out, neat-as-a-pin, and equipped with everything we needed for our 4 night stay. The beds were wonderfully comfortable, with ample bedding. We had one small plumbing glitch during our stay. In a matter of hours the repair was made without a bit of fuss for us. The owner was immediately responsive to emails and made planning a breeze. We left a few clothing items behind. The owner brought them back to Ontario for us - you can't ask for better customer service than that! We'd definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a fantastic spot for experiencing Canada's most spectacular province - Newfoundland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review we love giving others the opportunity to experience our little harbour and surrounding area in this wonderful province.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing