We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful New Years Eve in Trinity”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Goose Cove Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Inspired by a ship deck, Goose Cove Retreat has upper and lower decks, and a bonfire pit.
At night.
With beautiful panoramic views of Trinity Bay, Goose Cove Retreat still remains secluded.
The Retreat's hot tub operates year-round.
The kitchen, living and dining areas are open concept. Perfect for family gatherings and foodies!
The main living room houses a custom-built Rumford fireplace, and deep couches for reading.
View of the dining area.
Main bedroom, overlooking the oceanfront.
Three bathrooms are fitted with showers, towels, and toiletries.
For work and play: the lower level boardroom table also converts to a pool table.
View of Trinity proper from the water.
Kayaking and water sports operators work in Trinity during summer months.
Trinity is located on Iceberg Alley, where ‘bergs float from the arctic, down the island’s coast.
Whale watching is abundant in Trinity in particular. These social creatures often show off!
Goose Cove is minutes from a vast network of hiking trails. This is the view from Skerwink trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trinity, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
biggirl2
Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful New Years Eve in Trinity”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a great holiday weekend at Goose Cove Retreat with our large extended family. We had plenty of space to spread out and enjoy all that this beautiful place has to offer. Large immaculately clean bathrooms, comfortable beds and linens, well stocked gourmet kitchen and lots of sitting areas in which to gather and chat, play games or strum your guitar. The hot tub, sauna and pool table were well used and well enjoyed. I was impressed by the Newfoundland artwork and many local books available. We especially enjoyed the outdoor fire pit and indoor fireplace. It is a very private setting with many scenic areas close by to photograph or just enjoy the view.

A wonderful vacation home that is every thing you see on the website and much more.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for completing this review and for choosing Goose Cove as your destination for New Years. We hope to see your return. Kind Regards, June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321Dee201...
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property with stunning scenery.”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a large party of six adults and five children and space was not an issue. The three separate wings allowed for privacy and comfort during the night and the large central dining/living area was spacious enough for everyone to gather around. The kids never got bored; there were lots of places to explore both in and around the property. It offered everything you could ask for plus a little extra. I loved the wired-in speakers in every room of the house plus outside. Flip flops at the door leading to the hot tub, blankets for lounging outside, your pick of gas or charcoal BBQ for cooking, and numerous extra touches made this place a real retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for staying with us at Goose Cove Retreat. we appreciate you completing this review and hope to see you return again. Thank you. June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan F
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
“Elegant Modern Chalet Tucked Away in Rustic Serene Countryside”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Goose cove retreat was a dream! Chic modern decor yet a cozy country feel, and all the amenities of a hotel! Spaces were immaculately clean, pristinely organized and beautifully decorated. Kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were stocked with all the items and appliances you could need, even flipflops for the hottub/sauna!
Chalet is very spacious, with high ceilings and big bright windows. Loved waking up to the beautiful view of the bay through the tree tops, and enjoying a hottub in the middle of the wilderness.
I went with a group of friends and we found the space perfect for relaxing, and wining & dining, with a great sound system and separate wine fridges.
We look forward to returning soon!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for choosing Goose Cove as your place to Get-Away. We appreciate you doing this review and hope you get to come back soon. Thank you, June
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganJacq...
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I was invited to join some friends for a weekend up at the "cabin". Let's just say I was not prepared for a Goose Cove Retreat. I was initially struck by the sleek modern design which quietly stands apart from the rugged Newfoundland landscape. Scattered between the shameless full length windows over looking the ocean, white walls and stainless steel furnishings were antiques, personal books, magazines and games - refinement without pretension. Everything was where I would expect it to be, but always with an extra touch... a warming oven in the kitchen, robes in every bedroom and even speakers outside the house so you didn't miss a beat of your favourite song when sinking into the hot tub!

I only wish I had more time to spend at this home away from home.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for choosing Goose Cove Retreat as your get-away place. Happy that you enjoyed the magic of this special place on the edge of the North Atlantic. Please come again and tell others about this place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do we have to leave!?”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nearing the end of an amazing weekend at Goose Cove Retreat, I was left asking my friends: "Do we have to leave!?"

If you are looking to get away from the city, spend quality time with friends and family or if you want a luxurious home base to explore the charming town of Trinity this is the place to do it! Not only is the home spacious and extremely well equipped, but it is also comfortable and welcoming. The unique layout is perfect for spending time in larger groups while at the same time providing many intimate spaces to relax with a book or a nice glass of wine.

If the weather is warm and sunny you can choose from one of multiple decks or terraces, light the fire pit or head down to the dock. If mother nature isn't agreeable thats all the better! There is no need to go anywhere! Light the fireplace, start up the hot tub or sweat away your worries in the sauna. Rain or shine, sun or snow, Goose Cove Retreat will not disappoint.

I can honestly say that my stay at Goose Cove was one of the more relaxing experiences I have ever had and I would enthusiastically recommend it to friends, family and strangers alike.

Now that my friends and I are back at home the only question left is: When are we going back!?

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind words to describe this place on the edge of the North Atlantic. We thank you for coming and we hope you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing