We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Sea Echo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Echo Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port au Choix
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Stayed one night in July 08. The room was clean and comfortable and the meal in the attached restraurant was good.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
13
26
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We arrived in town without a motel, and asked around. Everyone agreed that this was the best motel in the area. We found it to be excellent. Shirley Spence, who runs the place with her husband Bill and brother Stephen, was a delight, helpful with advice and more than willing to share stories of the old days in the village. She has a horror of dirt, and the rooms are spotless. Ask for Room 104, the largest room on premises, or one of the 3 cabins, where you get a full kitchen as well as 2 rooms with double beds and a sitting room. Cabins are $114/night, rooms in the motel about $89. The free internet connection is excellent in the motel rooms, but too weak to work in the cabins. We loved our overnight here, and this would be our lodging of choice were we to return.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FarVistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown PA USA
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

My wife and I have stayed at the Sea Echo several times on our trips up & down the Northern Peninsula. Rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. The attached restaurant serves delicious seafood at very resonable prices. You won't regret a stay here.

  • Liked — Clean, reasonably priced accomodation
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holyrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

As part of our trip to Newfoundland in August 2005, we stayed at the Sea Echo Motel in Port-aux-Choix. Unfortunately, for us, it was a rainy, dreary day and Port-aux-Choix did not look very inviting. On top of that, we discovered our car had a flat tire and since it was after 6 pm on a Friday, we could not find any place open to take care of the problem.

We checked with the desk personnel at the Sea Echo and found out there was a garage right next door to the motel. The owner of the Sea Echo promised us he would contact the owner of the garage the first thing the next morning to take care of our problem. About an hour later, he realized that the next day was Saturday and the garage would not be opening for business. Somehow he managed to find someone who worked at the garage and persuaded him to come out in the rain at about 9 p.m. to fix our tire which took about 15 minutes to do. If you wonder why I couldn't have changed the tire, the spare was one of those donut type of tires and would only last about 50 miles. The car was a rental vehicle and the closet location for a replacement tire or vehicle was about 75 miles away in Deer Lake.

I just could not believe all of this. First, that someone would come out on a rainy Friday night to fix a tourist's car and then charge us such a reasonable rate, that I had to double the amount. Second, that the motel personnel would go this much out of their way to make sure that our problem was resolved. I can't say enough in praise of these folks. They helped us when we really needed it.

I guess this wasn't a real review of the Sea Echo--only of the folks who operate it. The motel itself was clean and comfortable and had a more than adequate restaurant. We had a number of conversations with other guests and motel staff that were very enjoyable. I had heard the that "Newfies" were frinedly people. Now I believe it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkEckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 August 2003

We just have arrived home from a three week vacation in NL. Although we have been there many times to visit relatives, we have usually always stayed on the beaten path. For the first time this year we took the trip up the peninsula to St. Anthony and visited Rocky Harbour, Port Saunders and Port au Choix. We always thought the scenery in Newfoundland was outstanding in the past, but after driving north from Deer Lake, within minutes we realized we hadn't seen anything in Newfoundland in the past. The scenery is nothing less than breath-taking. We saw 10 moose on our trip and 6 foxes. And to drive for hours with the Atlantic Ocean with its white-caps breaking along the shoreline and the majestic Long Range Mountains on the other side, WOW! We stayed in Port au Choix at the Sea Echo Motel, a lovely place, clean and cozy. I would also highly recommend the little Seafood restaurant on the same road as the Sea Echo Motel, but a short distance further along, on the left side of the road, I believe it is called the "Anchor" something or other. The food was great and the place was abuzz with people and it seems to be a very popular place for the locals, as well as travellers. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal there. If anyone were to take the long drive up to St. Anthony and Gros Morne, and are looking for a place to stay and to eat, we would highly recommend the Sea Echo Motel in Port au Choix and the "Anchor" restaurant. Loved our trip.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sea Echo Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Echo Motel

Property: Sea Echo Motel
Address: Fisher Street | P.O. Box 179, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port au Choix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port au Choix
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,968 - ₹ 7,039
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Echo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Echo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Echo Hotel Port Au Choix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing