We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, convenient place to stay”
Review of Deer Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Lake Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This motel is along main road, but main road not that busy. It is not scenic, but the people are very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. This is convenient to the Deer Lake airport and is an easy drive from St. John's on the way to Gros Morne

Room Tip: the rooms facing the back of the motel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The Deer Lake Motel is not fancy, but it is clean and very comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was stocked with a nice selection of amenities. This is a great place to stay after disembarking from the Port Aux Basques ferry. They welcome late arrivals and you can carve some time off your long drive if you are going onward to Eastern Newfoundland.

We were very, very pleasantly surprised with the quality of food in the restaurant. They have a wide range of tasty food including veggie burgers, a rarity in Newfoundland. It is open until 10:00 pm which certainly helps when you are coming from the ferry. We liked the restaurant so much that we stopped for lunch on our return trip to Port Aux Basque. It was a Sunday and it was packed with Newfoundlanders enjoying brunch.

Best of all, they are very pet friendly. At check-in the desk staff demanded to meet my dog and when they did they showered him with love. We are always thrilled when quality accommodations allow responsible pet owners to prove that animals and guests can co-exist happily and peacefully.

I highly recommend the Deer Lake Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Layne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The check in friendly, beds were comfy, wifi worked but AC sounded like a 747 taking off which prevented deep sleep and room smelt a bit - generally ok for a single night stop, wouldn't want to do more

Rob

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Five minutes from Deer Lake airport, this motel was a great starting point for our trip to Newfoundland and Labrador. How handy that the restaurant was open till 10pm when our flight from Toronto was delayed. This motel has very friendly staff (front desk, restaurant, housekeeping), spacious, two-room units, and facilities such as a small gym, a laundry and wifi. We were able to park right in front of our unit so getting in and out was easy. The rooms were so comfortable, we were sad to only stay for one night. They include a full hot or cold breakfast with the room. At the juncture of two main highways, we were able to get going on our way easily the next morning, Absolutely no complaints.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at the Deer Lake Motel. Sure, it's an older property, but it has been recently updated and the breakfast was fantastic!

The beds are very comfortable --- not too soft and not too hard. We both slept like logs, which doesn't happen too often when sleeping in a hotel bed!

We stayed in a first-floor room and it was very quiet. The clerk at check-in was efficient and courteous, as was the clerk who checked us out the next morning.

Now let's talk about breakfast. The breakfast buffet was included with our stay, and it was, by far, the best breakfast we've had on our trip so far. Everything was freshly prepared --- no scrambled eggs made from powdered eggs, or food prepared off-site and then re-heated, which is typically what you get at a hotel that includes breakfast with the room. The hot breakfast buffet at the Deer Lake Motel was fresh, fresh, fresh, AND it was actually hot, too! There were 3 kinds of meat (bacon, sausage and slices of grilled ham), 2 kinds of eggs (we each had the scrambled, I think the other choice was basted or poached), French toast, hash browns (the cubed style), and toutons (so tasty!) and baked beans. The beans are made in kitchen, definitely not from a can --- I've never tasted baked beans like them. There was also 2 flavours of yogurt, toast & jam, bagels & cream cheese, four kinds of cold cereal, 2 kinds of juice and coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

The hot breakfast buffet starts at 6:30 AM, but they also have a continental breakfast that starts at 3:00 AM. I've never seen that offered anywhere else.

We had already reserved a room at the Deer Lake Motel for our last night in Newfoundland before the ferry back to Nova Scotia at the end of the trip, but because it is a 2.5 hour drive from Deer Lake to the ferry in Channel-Port aux Basques, we thought we might cancel the reservation and try to find a hotel closer to the ferry terminal. But since we slept so well and the breakfast was so tasty, we decided that we would suck it up and do the 2.5 hour drive back to catch the ferry in the morning!

My mum has bad knees so she asked for a ground-floor room for when we come back at the end of the trip, and the clerk found the reservation card, and made sure to write "ground floor" on it to ensure that we get a ground floor room. We liked that she made that extra effort for us.

We would both definitely recommend this motel to our friends.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Deer Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank-you very much for staying with us at the Deer Lake Motel during your visit to the province. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Newfoundland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
2 km away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
38.8 km away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
16 reviews
2.3 km away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lake Motel

Address: 15 Trans-Canada Hwy, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 2E5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range: ₹ 8,535 - ₹ 8,790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Lake Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deer Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Lake Hotel Deer Lake
Deer Lake Motel Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing