We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
24
50
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
50
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffet was includedgros morne national parkdoor entrancegas stationbaked beansstayed here for one nightcomfortable bedsrecently stayed heregrocery stores and restaurantscheck in was smooth and quicksuited our needsgluten freenext morningseafood chowderdesk staffgood nights sleeplake motel
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The Deer Lake Motel is not fancy, but it is clean and very comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was stocked with a nice selection of amenities. This is a great place to stay after disembarking from the Port Aux Basques ferry. They welcome late arrivals and you can carve some time off your long drive if you are going onward to Eastern Newfoundland.

We were very, very pleasantly surprised with the quality of food in the restaurant. They have a wide range of tasty food including veggie burgers, a rarity in Newfoundland. It is open until 10:00 pm which certainly helps when you are coming from the ferry. We liked the restaurant so much that we stopped for lunch on our return trip to Port Aux Basque. It was a Sunday and it was packed with Newfoundlanders enjoying brunch.

Best of all, they are very pet friendly. At check-in the desk staff demanded to meet my dog and when they did they showered him with love. We are always thrilled when quality accommodations allow responsible pet owners to prove that animals and guests can co-exist happily and peacefully.

I highly recommend the Deer Lake Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Layne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The check in friendly, beds were comfy, wifi worked but AC sounded like a 747 taking off which prevented deep sleep and room smelt a bit - generally ok for a single night stop, wouldn't want to do more

Rob

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Five minutes from Deer Lake airport, this motel was a great starting point for our trip to Newfoundland and Labrador. How handy that the restaurant was open till 10pm when our flight from Toronto was delayed. This motel has very friendly staff (front desk, restaurant, housekeeping), spacious, two-room units, and facilities such as a small gym, a laundry and wifi. We were able to park right in front of our unit so getting in and out was easy. The rooms were so comfortable, we were sad to only stay for one night. They include a full hot or cold breakfast with the room. At the juncture of two main highways, we were able to get going on our way easily the next morning, Absolutely no complaints.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at the Deer Lake Motel. Sure, it's an older property, but it has been recently updated and the breakfast was fantastic!

The beds are very comfortable --- not too soft and not too hard. We both slept like logs, which doesn't happen too often when sleeping in a hotel bed!

We stayed in a first-floor room and it was very quiet. The clerk at check-in was efficient and courteous, as was the clerk who checked us out the next morning.

Now let's talk about breakfast. The breakfast buffet was included with our stay, and it was, by far, the best breakfast we've had on our trip so far. Everything was freshly prepared --- no scrambled eggs made from powdered eggs, or food prepared off-site and then re-heated, which is typically what you get at a hotel that includes breakfast with the room. The hot breakfast buffet at the Deer Lake Motel was fresh, fresh, fresh, AND it was actually hot, too! There were 3 kinds of meat (bacon, sausage and slices of grilled ham), 2 kinds of eggs (we each had the scrambled, I think the other choice was basted or poached), French toast, hash browns (the cubed style), and toutons (so tasty!) and baked beans. The beans are made in kitchen, definitely not from a can --- I've never tasted baked beans like them. There was also 2 flavours of yogurt, toast & jam, bagels & cream cheese, four kinds of cold cereal, 2 kinds of juice and coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

The hot breakfast buffet starts at 6:30 AM, but they also have a continental breakfast that starts at 3:00 AM. I've never seen that offered anywhere else.

We had already reserved a room at the Deer Lake Motel for our last night in Newfoundland before the ferry back to Nova Scotia at the end of the trip, but because it is a 2.5 hour drive from Deer Lake to the ferry in Channel-Port aux Basques, we thought we might cancel the reservation and try to find a hotel closer to the ferry terminal. But since we slept so well and the breakfast was so tasty, we decided that we would suck it up and do the 2.5 hour drive back to catch the ferry in the morning!

My mum has bad knees so she asked for a ground-floor room for when we come back at the end of the trip, and the clerk found the reservation card, and made sure to write "ground floor" on it to ensure that we get a ground floor room. We liked that she made that extra effort for us.

We would both definitely recommend this motel to our friends.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Deer Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank-you very much for staying with us at the Deer Lake Motel during your visit to the province. We certainly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Newfoundland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We totally enjoyed our stay here. Our room,146, had an outdoor and in door entrance. It is right on the highway and close to the highway to go to Gros Morne. The staff were awesome. There is a restaurant right in the Motel. There is a quaint gift shop and museum not far away. The room was kept clean and made up. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The bath area was separate from the sink which was nice.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on ground level you can park your vehicle right outside your room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews