We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
24
51
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
51
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet was included gros morne national park door entrance gas station baked beans stayed here for one night early risers comfortable beds recently stayed here grocery stores and restaurants check in was smooth and quick suited our needs gluten free next morning nice hotel seafood chowder good nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Due to the proximity to Deer Lake airport, 5 minutes, Gros Morne National Park, 60 minutes and the positive feedback on Tripadvisor we booked this hotel for our first trip to Newfoundland.

We were checked in by Sydney, who was so helpful assisting us with much needed advice and help with an important phone call. Thank you Sydney! Our two Queen bed room was spacious, clean, the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet allowing for a good nights sleep. Room amenities: TV (good reception and ample channels), coffee maker with coffee pods (creamer, sugar), frig, and air-conditioner, . Wash area was separate from toilet with nice Pantene shampoo and body lotion.

Hotel amenities: Restaurant, please see my review of Deer Lake Restaurant , complimentary breakfast. for early risers a continental breakfast was available at 3:30 AM and a hot breakfast buffet began at 6:30 AM. Self coin laundry, complimentary parking free WiFi and exercise room.

A gas station was across the street and two grocery stores and restaurants are a 3 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Got the last room available on this Friday night. The recently renovated room was much bigger than expected and the bathroom well fitted out with toiletries supplied. Knew there would be a fridge in the room but it also was bigger than expected and there was also a coffee pod machine.
Breakfast is included. Can't explain other negative Tripadvisor comments about breakfast. Just about everything was there you could expect from hot buffet (sausage, bacon egg 2 ways, potato etc) and other cold buffet options (bread, muffins, cereals). About my only criticism would be the scrambled egg was a bit dry - but hey, this is a buffet after all.
Would certainly stay here again when passing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DadandCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I'm sure most people stay here for the convenience to the airport; it literally took us 13 minutes to get to the airport and drop the car in the rental lot. It was clean and equipped with a bar fridge. There were two access doors with one directly opening onto the parking lot making it easy to bring the luggage in, etc. There are a couple of gas stations in the area but otherwise very little within walking distance. Overall it suited our needs well.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

My husband and I recently stayed here three nights while vacationing in Newfoundland. I would highly recommend this attractive motel to anyone. Check in was smooth and quick in a beautiful lobby by cheerful and knowledgeable staff. The first floor room could be accessed directly in front with a dedicated parking space or by inside corridor. This made moving in and out simple but also provided indoor hallway to the lobby and restaurant. The room was clean and well maintained, adequate hot water and excellent shower pressure. The beds were comfortable with good mattresses and comfy pillows along with alternative down comforters.. A plus was a Keurig maker in the room. The restaurant served good food and was moderately priced and had good service. A breakfast buffet was included in the price of the motel and was wonderful consisting of 3 meats, eggs 2 ways, pancakes, oatmeal, beans, cereal and various drinks. It was a great start to our day. If I am ever in Deer Lake again I will choose this motel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, General Manager at Deer Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us during your vacation to Newfoundland. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Spent one night between our hunting trip and our flight. Great, friendly service, and we got to keep the room for hours after checkout time as our flight was late in the evening. The restaurant is a bit overrated, but completely OK.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VidarV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews