We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Marathon Inn(North Head)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Rose(Grand Manan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
12
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
12
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslookout cabinloved every minutejamesloftfunkyyurtpropertyprivacysunriseuniquenesspeakbirdsamenitiesunitislandsummerferry
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed three nights in the Fern Alley Cottage, loved every minute and now cannot wait to return. Each unique cottage is built and cared for by a very talented man named James. I considered this a prime place for nature lovers as several cottages are situated right on the marsh that overlooks the ocean. Others are located in a wooded area. Each is private, quiet, relaxing. Most have compost toilets and showers, others use a main shower area. This is not a place for someone who likes all the luxuries of a B&B, but is a perfect place to enjoy the outdoors and all it surroundings. Thank you, James, for building a place I cannot wait to return.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed at the BirdHouse during our stay at Castalia Marsh Retreat and we absolutely loved it. The small cabin had everything that our little couple needed plus the views are to die for. When we layed down in our bed the 3 massive windows gave us a picturesque view of the marsh and North Head during the day and the most beautiful starry skies at night. On our first night, we invited the owner, James, to dine with us and had a wonderful night. He was very insightful man and told us a lot about the region. There's a grocery store nearby that can satisfy much of your needs and a Liquor/convenience store about 2.5km north. If you're looking for a very relaxing, quiet, picturesque and romantic spot to spend your time on the island, please don't pass the chance to rent the Birdhouse.

Room Tip: Amazing View from the patio and the loft bed. Quite cozy. Very charming.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Great family stay at at Castalia Marsh Retreat! Stayed for two nights with our two young boys. The boys where fully entertained watching James's chicken wander around the grounds. Night one at the lookout was nice and secluded and night two at the barn was more than enough space for the four of us (it can accommodate 9 people). The owner James is extremely friendly and answered any of our questions. He recommended the local bakery and introduced us to Saint John bread....it was delicious!

If your looking for a secluded and quiet stay during your visit to Grand Manan....Castalia retreat is where it's at!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here, it was perfect for our two families as a home base to travel the island. We stayed in Larch Grove with plenty of space for three adults and three kids. The owner, James, was amazing and encouraged us to wander the property, visit the chickens and even let us pick lettuce from the gardens! He sold us 6 eggs, fresh from the henhouse, for $2, such a treat! The cabin was great, an interesting mix of new amenities (gas stove, washer & dryer) and funky older pieces, just like you would expect at a well-loved cabin. The location was great, with good access to the other places on the island, and good birding on the property near the marsh. The birder in our group was thrilled with a peak at a Nelson's sparrow. Overall, a great trip and a fun place to stay!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Asante_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This is an eccentric but totally functional 'retreat' resort. We stayed in early April when it was still chilly but the cabin - 'Fern Alley' - was warm and comfortable. It had a spectacular view from huge windows and a balcony facing east over the wetland and North Head to the archipelago beyond. The sunrise was spectacular. Host James Bates is relaxed, friendly and helpful. Oh yeah, excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: try to get a view over the wetland
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Castalia Marsh Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

It was a delight to meet you.
I hope the blues concert turned out to be as enjoyable as the last one.
All the best.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews