We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Peaceful, Paradise on the Island!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castalia Marsh Retreat
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My husband and I spent a night in the Birdhouse at Castalia Marsh Retreat in September and we will definitely be back, we LOVED everything about it! The location was central and easy to find, the owner James was very friendly and easy-going and left us be once we checked in, the cabins are all hand-built and totally unique and charming, and the property is very natural and rustic (some would say 'hippie-ish' in the best possible way!)

The Birdhouse was SO cute, I fell in love with it instantly. It had everything we needed, was so cozy and peaceful (it seems to be the most hidden of all the cabins), the views and windows were to die for, waking up in the sleeping loft to the mist of Grand Manan is something I'll always remember. Even the outdoor shower was fun!

We will definitely return, the prices are so reasonable and my only fear is that a new owner (James is trying to sell), will try to change this beautiful piece of paradise on the island!

We had no complaints at all, and I miss it already.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Genevieve_vev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed three nights in the Fern Alley Cottage, loved every minute and now cannot wait to return. Each unique cottage is built and cared for by a very talented man named James. I considered this a prime place for nature lovers as several cottages are situated right on the marsh that overlooks the ocean. Others are located in a wooded area. Each is private, quiet, relaxing. Most have compost toilets and showers, others use a main shower area. This is not a place for someone who likes all the luxuries of a B&B, but is a perfect place to enjoy the outdoors and all it surroundings. Thank you, James, for building a place I cannot wait to return.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed at the BirdHouse during our stay at Castalia Marsh Retreat and we absolutely loved it. The small cabin had everything that our little couple needed plus the views are to die for. When we layed down in our bed the 3 massive windows gave us a picturesque view of the marsh and North Head during the day and the most beautiful starry skies at night. On our first night, we invited the owner, James, to dine with us and had a wonderful night. He was very insightful man and told us a lot about the region. There's a grocery store nearby that can satisfy much of your needs and a Liquor/convenience store about 2.5km north. If you're looking for a very relaxing, quiet, picturesque and romantic spot to spend your time on the island, please don't pass the chance to rent the Birdhouse.

Room Tip: Amazing View from the patio and the loft bed. Quite cozy. Very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Great family stay at at Castalia Marsh Retreat! Stayed for two nights with our two young boys. The boys where fully entertained watching James's chicken wander around the grounds. Night one at the lookout was nice and secluded and night two at the barn was more than enough space for the four of us (it can accommodate 9 people). The owner James is extremely friendly and answered any of our questions. He recommended the local bakery and introduced us to Saint John bread....it was delicious!

If your looking for a secluded and quiet stay during your visit to Grand Manan....Castalia retreat is where it's at!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here, it was perfect for our two families as a home base to travel the island. We stayed in Larch Grove with plenty of space for three adults and three kids. The owner, James, was amazing and encouraged us to wander the property, visit the chickens and even let us pick lettuce from the gardens! He sold us 6 eggs, fresh from the henhouse, for $2, such a treat! The cabin was great, an interesting mix of new amenities (gas stove, washer & dryer) and funky older pieces, just like you would expect at a well-loved cabin. The location was great, with good access to the other places on the island, and good birding on the property near the marsh. The birder in our group was thrilled with a peak at a Nelson's sparrow. Overall, a great trip and a fun place to stay!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Asante_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
5.2 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
58 reviews
5.3 km away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Head
83 reviews
35.7 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices

Been to Castalia Marsh Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castalia Marsh Retreat

Address: 11 Bancroft Point Rd | Grand Manan, New Brunswick E5G 4C1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat site is seven acres of forested land overlooking Swallowtail Lighthouse, the saltwater marsh, the fishing village of North Head and picturesque islands in the Bay of Fundy. It is a safe, warm, and dry environment where one can relax and be surrounded by nature. There is a network of nature trails connecting four small fish and frog ponds and the various cabins and tent site. We try to create a supportive environment where people who want to share what they have learned can be actively involved in increasing their knowledge of personal, spiritual, and environmental health or just relax and enjoy the natural beauty. We have a facility ideally suited for hosting workshops or facilitating gatherings focused on personal, spiritual, and environmental health. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castalia Marsh Retreat Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing