We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Marathon Inn(North Head)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Rose(Grand Manan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
12
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
12
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslookout cabinloved every minutejamesloftfunkyyurtpropertyprivacysunriseuniquenesspeakbirdsamenitiesunitislandsummerferry
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

A group of eight of us (5 children between 8 and 14) shared the Larch Grove Cottage for two days this March. There was ample sleeping accommodation and a wood stove with plenty of kindling and firewood. The kitchen has modern appliances and is efficient. It was a pleasure to cook our own meals there. We recommend that you bring groceries with you as although there are grocery stores on Grand Manan, they may not be open the same hours as on the mainland. We had no problem getting fresh vegetables locally at the stores though. Check-in was easy and pleasant as could be. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank mlm1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Perfect outdoor shower and view of the birds. Love the landscaping and earth celebration. We met James, the genius behind the space at our arrival. He was funny, welcoming and kept a sharp wit. We stayed in one night to cook at our 'home' in the birdhouse and went out to explore the island the other 2 nights/days we were there. It was about a 10 hour drive from our home in Massachusetts but the whale watch and Birdhouse accommodations alone were worth it. I wouldn't trade it. We had a very sweet time there.

Room Tip: Birdhouse!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivablackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Castalia Marsh Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Its so nice to have such energetic people who appreciate the beauty of the island spend time with us here.

Hope to see you again soon.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

A unique set of lodging options set in the marsh on Grand Mañan Island. Our stay was in The Lookout. A spectacular private location with a 180 degree view of the marsh - Windows,windows, windows!

Out of all of our travels this was the most well-stocked kitchen we have ever come upon. The lookout was spic and span clean and an added bonus was a great private outdoor shower. The owner James was a delight. Our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night if we had it to do over again we would have spent several more evenings there!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetotravel546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in "The Barn". Very clean but rustic - a nature lovers paradise! Myself and a 2 old friends stayed during an overnight visit to Grand Manan. James allowed us to see inside most of the buildings before vacationers arrived. Each has its own uniqueness. ..the Lookout was our 1st choose for a couple vacationing and Larch Grove or Fern Alley for families.
It is very quiet place and laid-back. .great place to experience country living. We fed free range chickens on our deck! Beautiful scenery!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank debbie4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Our family (parents, kid, kid's friends, dog) has visited Grand Manan Island many times, often camping at Anchorage Provincial Park, wh I also highly recommend, and we stayed at Castalia Marsh Retreat two summers when camping wasn't an option. We stayed there most recently in *August 2011.* We stayed for one week in Fern Alley when it was initially constructed by the fishpond, and one week in the Lookout. I wd return in a heartbeat -- I really love this place. Grand Manan is a beautiful place to visit for anyone who loves nature, birds, whales, the ocean, or the diverse and sometimes harsh aspects of rural island life. Castalia Marsh Retreat keeps a lot of the good stuff about camping -- closeness to the out of doors (including the extraordinary tides of the Bay of Fundy), interesting and enjoyable fellow guests if you feel like being sociable, a certain simplicity of material life -- but is less rigorous than tenting, esp in a place where weather can be unpredictable. There's a roof, there's a bed, there's electricity, there's a kitchen (although Anchorage also has a kitchen for campers if I'm remembering correctly.) There's a sincere and successful effort to welcome visitors in a manner that is friendly to the environment. The cabins are hand-built, unique and beautiful. The sun rises and sets, the great tides roll in and out. Well-behaved dogs are welcome and will have a great time. There is a great bakery just north of Castalia Marsh in the village of North Head. Be aware that Castalia Marsh Retreat really prefers not to take credit cards (at least as of last time we were there four years ago.)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank swedishivy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews