We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“early season retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castalia Marsh Retreat
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This is an eccentric but totally functional 'retreat' resort. We stayed in early April when it was still chilly but the cabin - 'Fern Alley' - was warm and comfortable. It had a spectacular view from huge windows and a balcony facing east over the wetland and North Head to the archipelago beyond. The sunrise was spectacular. Host James Bates is relaxed, friendly and helpful. Oh yeah, excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: try to get a view over the wetland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Castalia Marsh Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

It was a delight to meet you.
I hope the blues concert turned out to be as enjoyable as the last one.
All the best.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016

A group of eight of us (5 children between 8 and 14) shared the Larch Grove Cottage for two days this March. There was ample sleeping accommodation and a wood stove with plenty of kindling and firewood. The kitchen has modern appliances and is efficient. It was a pleasure to cook our own meals there. We recommend that you bring groceries with you as although there are grocery stores on Grand Manan, they may not be open the same hours as on the mainland. We had no problem getting fresh vegetables locally at the stores though. Check-in was easy and pleasant as could be. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank mlm1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Perfect outdoor shower and view of the birds. Love the landscaping and earth celebration. We met James, the genius behind the space at our arrival. He was funny, welcoming and kept a sharp wit. We stayed in one night to cook at our 'home' in the birdhouse and went out to explore the island the other 2 nights/days we were there. It was about a 10 hour drive from our home in Massachusetts but the whale watch and Birdhouse accommodations alone were worth it. I wouldn't trade it. We had a very sweet time there.

Room Tip: Birdhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivablackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Castalia Marsh Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Its so nice to have such energetic people who appreciate the beauty of the island spend time with us here.

Hope to see you again soon.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

A unique set of lodging options set in the marsh on Grand Mañan Island. Our stay was in The Lookout. A spectacular private location with a 180 degree view of the marsh - Windows,windows, windows!

Out of all of our travels this was the most well-stocked kitchen we have ever come upon. The lookout was spic and span clean and an added bonus was a great private outdoor shower. The owner James was a delight. Our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night if we had it to do over again we would have spent several more evenings there!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetotravel546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in "The Barn". Very clean but rustic - a nature lovers paradise! Myself and a 2 old friends stayed during an overnight visit to Grand Manan. James allowed us to see inside most of the buildings before vacationers arrived. Each has its own uniqueness. ..the Lookout was our 1st choose for a couple vacationing and Larch Grove or Fern Alley for families.
It is very quiet place and laid-back. .great place to experience country living. We fed free range chickens on our deck! Beautiful scenery!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank debbie4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
5.2 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
58 reviews
5.3 km away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Head
83 reviews
35.7 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices

Been to Castalia Marsh Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castalia Marsh Retreat

Address: 11 Bancroft Point Rd | Grand Manan, New Brunswick E5G 4C1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat site is seven acres of forested land overlooking Swallowtail Lighthouse, the saltwater marsh, the fishing village of North Head and picturesque islands in the Bay of Fundy. It is a safe, warm, and dry environment where one can relax and be surrounded by nature. There is a network of nature trails connecting four small fish and frog ponds and the various cabins and tent site. We try to create a supportive environment where people who want to share what they have learned can be actively involved in increasing their knowledge of personal, spiritual, and environmental health or just relax and enjoy the natural beauty. We have a facility ideally suited for hosting workshops or facilitating gatherings focused on personal, spiritual, and environmental health. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castalia Marsh Retreat Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing