We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, dreamscape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Manan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castalia Marsh Retreat
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Perfect outdoor shower and view of the birds. Love the landscaping and earth celebration. We met James, the genius behind the space at our arrival. He was funny, welcoming and kept a sharp wit. We stayed in one night to cook at our 'home' in the birdhouse and went out to explore the island the other 2 nights/days we were there. It was about a 10 hour drive from our home in Massachusetts but the whale watch and Birdhouse accommodations alone were worth it. I wouldn't trade it. We had a very sweet time there.

Room Tip: Birdhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivablackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Castalia Marsh Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Its so nice to have such energetic people who appreciate the beauty of the island spend time with us here.

Hope to see you again soon.
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

A unique set of lodging options set in the marsh on Grand Mañan Island. Our stay was in The Lookout. A spectacular private location with a 180 degree view of the marsh - Windows,windows, windows!

Out of all of our travels this was the most well-stocked kitchen we have ever come upon. The lookout was spic and span clean and an added bonus was a great private outdoor shower. The owner James was a delight. Our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night if we had it to do over again we would have spent several more evenings there!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetotravel546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in "The Barn". Very clean but rustic - a nature lovers paradise! Myself and a 2 old friends stayed during an overnight visit to Grand Manan. James allowed us to see inside most of the buildings before vacationers arrived. Each has its own uniqueness. ..the Lookout was our 1st choose for a couple vacationing and Larch Grove or Fern Alley for families.
It is very quiet place and laid-back. .great place to experience country living. We fed free range chickens on our deck! Beautiful scenery!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank debbie4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Our family (parents, kid, kid's friends, dog) has visited Grand Manan Island many times, often camping at Anchorage Provincial Park, wh I also highly recommend, and we stayed at Castalia Marsh Retreat two summers when camping wasn't an option. We stayed there most recently in *August 2011.* We stayed for one week in Fern Alley when it was initially constructed by the fishpond, and one week in the Lookout. I wd return in a heartbeat -- I really love this place. Grand Manan is a beautiful place to visit for anyone who loves nature, birds, whales, the ocean, or the diverse and sometimes harsh aspects of rural island life. Castalia Marsh Retreat keeps a lot of the good stuff about camping -- closeness to the out of doors (including the extraordinary tides of the Bay of Fundy), interesting and enjoyable fellow guests if you feel like being sociable, a certain simplicity of material life -- but is less rigorous than tenting, esp in a place where weather can be unpredictable. There's a roof, there's a bed, there's electricity, there's a kitchen (although Anchorage also has a kitchen for campers if I'm remembering correctly.) There's a sincere and successful effort to welcome visitors in a manner that is friendly to the environment. The cabins are hand-built, unique and beautiful. The sun rises and sets, the great tides roll in and out. Well-behaved dogs are welcome and will have a great time. There is a great bakery just north of Castalia Marsh in the village of North Head. Be aware that Castalia Marsh Retreat really prefers not to take credit cards (at least as of last time we were there four years ago.)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank swedishivy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Lurch Grove is simply the perfect place for a family or friends to unwind and just let relax. Views from all sides are second to none. There are even feeders outside the window and a set of binoculars.

A bookshelf lined with books, movies and, puzzles. Very quaint with wood limbs for hangers,live plants, and wait til you see the stove. James, the owner, is a lovely man. Try to find his hidden treasures. .

A firepit facing the marsh, axe and all the firewood you could ever need or want.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureHeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
5.2 km away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
58 reviews
5.3 km away
Marathon Hotel
Marathon Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Head
83 reviews
35.7 km away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices

Been to Castalia Marsh Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castalia Marsh Retreat

Address: 11 Bancroft Point Rd | Grand Manan, New Brunswick E5G 4C1, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Manan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grand Manan
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat site is seven acres of forested land overlooking Swallowtail Lighthouse, the saltwater marsh, the fishing village of North Head and picturesque islands in the Bay of Fundy. It is a safe, warm, and dry environment where one can relax and be surrounded by nature. There is a network of nature trails connecting four small fish and frog ponds and the various cabins and tent site. We try to create a supportive environment where people who want to share what they have learned can be actively involved in increasing their knowledge of personal, spiritual, and environmental health or just relax and enjoy the natural beauty. We have a facility ideally suited for hosting workshops or facilitating gatherings focused on personal, spiritual, and environmental health. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castalia Marsh Retreat Grand Manan, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing