We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A presidential view.”

Roosevelt Campobello International Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk in the footsteps of the Roosevelts, visit Franklin's Beloved Island. The Summer Home of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. His 34-room cottage has been preserved as a museum telling the story of his early life before he became President of the United States. Preserved by the U.S. and Canada. Open daily through Canadian Labor Day. Free admission.
Near Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A presidential view.”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The house and grounds are kept impeccably well. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly and courteous. A "must see" on any tour of the island.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank foodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    106
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss Campobello if you are in the area!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Enjoyed the house, gardens with beautiful flowers, and small museum and film. The guides are very helpful and respond well to questions. There is a new daily event called "Tea with Eleanor" held once a day and tickets are limited and must be secured first thing in the morning, as they go fast.
Just imaginng how the Roosevelt family spent all those summers at this "cottage" is worth the trip. The house and park are very well maintained and there is no charge but donations are accepted. Be sure to bring your passports if you are coming over from Maine.
Take time to drive around the park and the entire island if you have time. The is a lighthouse at the eastern point and when we were there whales were off in the distance.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sandra29492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss "Tea with Eleanor".”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I enjoyed "Tea with Eleanor" served by Carolyn and Debbie on Sept 20, 2011. Tea and cookies were delicious, and the presentation by the two ladies could not have been any nicer. Both of them are so knowledegable. We have been coming to FDR's beautiful island for over 30 years, and learn something new each time we take visitors through the "cottage".

The tea is new and is being well received according to reports.

I read a story in the National Park Service May, 2011 news letter about the "cottage" , and laughed when I read that the author believed it was in Portabello, Canada. She probably ate mushrooms that day.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, ME
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a great place to visit. Situated on the small Canadian Island of Campobello, this park has a lot to see and do and it's all by donation. There is no charge to do anything here unless you want to donate. The house tour is great with staff in every area of the house to give you a quick synopsis of the life of the Roosevelts at this home. They are available to answer any questions you may have.
There are trails and some great spots in this park. We didn't do all of them but we did visit the beach called Raccoon Beach across the road from the entrance to the camp and that is a MUST see. Smooth rocks of every color fill the shoreline. It's a sight to see!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ribsmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of US and Canadian history”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We visit Maine every summer and for years I have wanted to make the drive to Campbello Island. This year we did it! I love historical sites so I really enjoyed it but I can't say that for the whole family. It is a long drive from the Bar Harbor area and I'm not sure it was worth the drive, especially with three teenagers. There is little to do on the island other than East Quoddy Lighthouse, which was cool except for the fog (the purpose of the lighthouse!) and the Roosevelt complex. The first floor of the cottage was accessible but not the 2nd floor which is a primary reason why FDR didn't return after the onset of polio. The island had three 'restaraunts'.
Overall, a fun trip that you need your passport for but pretty far from the typical vacation spots in Maine.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank gnj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roosevelt Campobello International Park also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 

Been to Roosevelt Campobello International Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing