We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second to none” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
Freetown, Sierra Leone
1 review
“Second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having travelled all over the world but often confined ourselves to fancy hotels, we had chosen to lodge at the Dragonfly Dock B&B because we could not find a "high class" hotel in the area. But as soon as we called Della for the booking, we were instantly charmed. Staying at the B&B made us discover the little and big things one misses by staying in large, often impersonal hotels. We were cared for as if we have known the Lawrences for ever and we got all the help and support we needed to make our son settle in his new school. We went as visitors and left as family friends. It is a relationship we will jealously guard and surely we can't wait to get back...for us, it is a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
It was our pleasure to have you and our family as our guests. We are always happy to help the new students coming to the area to make sure they have a great start to their new adventure. We look forward to your next visit to Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
thornhill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

No surprise that Dragonfly has moved up to #1 status. Della works hard to make sure guests feel at home. We stayed in the "Moose Lodge". The room was impeccably clean. The bed was so comfortable. The accessories are all "Tommy" and "Ralph". The breakfasts seriously challenged our diets. No need for lunch. The dock is a relaxing spot to relax with a good book.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jocdocThornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I had never been to a B&B before, I admit I was hesitant to stay in a stranger's home, however on the advice of a friend I stayed here. I stayed here with a group of friends & it was exceptional. The hosts made you feel completely at home & catered to every need.

Breakfast was outstanding, with a huge variety of options. Everything was so fresh & thoughtful.
I felt like I was staying with friends. The hosts were the perfect blend of being considerate, as well as leaving you to relax.

I would recommend this B&B to all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucks2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I live in hotels and B & B's literally around the world nearly 300 nights a year - and it is rare that I find a place that makes me feel as good as if I were home. From the beginning email, to our first phone conversation - to Salmon Eggs Benedict - to a glass of wine on their private 2-tier dock which hangs out over the lake - there is nothing that is not perfect about this place. My bed was better than any Four Seasons; my breakfast more delicious than a Relais et Chateau, and the friendliness and serenity were perfectly paired. I'll be back again and again !!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaScubaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We had a terrific time at Dragonfly despite the non-stop rain. An absolutely grand experience from the moment we arrived until our departure. The pool table was a real bonus. The breakfasts were second to none! What a view! Terrific hosts too! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DragonflyDock, Owner at Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was wonderful to meet your family. Next time you come to visit, we will put in a special request for sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnigan Lake
4.4 km away
Shawnigan Suite
Shawnigan Suite
#2 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
8.8 km away
Ruthie's Roost B&B
Ruthie's Roost B&B
#1 of 3 in Mill Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.1 km away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
4.7 km away
Shawnigan Lake Bed and Breakfast
Shawnigan Lake Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.4 km away
Shawnigan Vacations
Shawnigan Vacations
#8 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1874 West Shawnigan Lake Rd, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,648 - ₹ 8,923
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our private, forested, lakefront one acre bed and breakfast. Located on Shawnigan Lake's waterfront and backing on to the Trans Canada Trail for hiking or cycling, there are three guest rooms to serve your needs -1 King with ensuite, 2 Queen with shared bath. Plush guest robes, hairdryers, internet access and quality amenities available. All guests have access to the outdoor hot tub, guest lounge with pool table, fridge, microwave, coffee and tea and more. Incredible Views, Delicious Breakfasts, Warm Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dragonfly Dock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing