We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
53
26
9
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
26
9
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off season general store underground parking horse thief golf course cross country horseback riding mini golf grey wolf upper village nice week double bedroom half hour drive hide a bed boil order warm pool ski hill
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My wife and I stayed 5 days at Panorama and the Horsethief Condo was very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a full kitchen. The only issues were we had a lot of gear and there were a lot of stairs and the barbecue on the deck had an empty propane tank. A call to the front desk had this problem remedied quite quickly though.
The reason for the average rating is the check-in. I had email and phone contact with staff stating that we had booked 7 days but could only stay 5 days cutting the first and last day. When we arrived at the contact time of between 1:00 to 2:00 PM the staff informed us our room was not ready. This baffled me since I pretty sure the resort was not full and he was not very helpful at all. We could not get into our room till 4:00. The other problem was parking. We had a small ATV trailer and parking was an issue. The Resort does not appear to be very ATV friendly. We went ATVing SW of the Resort on Forestry roads but went into Invermere the following days and went riding south of town. We feel we should have stayed closer to Invermere and avoided the long twisty road out to Panorama. The Resort may be great for Golfing,skiing and mountain biking but its not for us.

Room tip: Front side has nicer view and less stairs
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your review Shane. The resort doesn’t allow motorized sport vehicles to access the trails used by bikers or hikers but there are plenty of folks that access the backcountry around the region. I’m glad you found some good places to explore and am sorry you didn’t know more about places you could have gone closer to us. We should have done a better job to put you in touch with some closer ATV accessible areas. We will improve that access to information for our future guests.
As for your check in issue, that absolutely should not have happened. The unit that you were assigned to had a Maintenance issue that could not be addressed in time for your arrival so we moved you to another available unit. The notes that you were arriving between 1pm-2pm were in the reservation and the notes were in your reservation that you were scheduled to arrive the day earlier but were coming the next day. No one communicated with you why you got into the unit late, and we should have done better. Your review created an opportunity for me to follow up with my team on the importance of communication and I thank you for bringing it to my attention. Having said that, it should not have impacted your vacation and we are sorry. I will reach out to you personally to discuss some kind of compensation.
Thank you for providing this information so our team is always learning from our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

During ski season, this place has lots of snow and moderate temperatures because of its close proximity to the West Coast warm air and the surrounding mountain peaks that seem to make the snow clouds dump all that snow and keep the temperatures in the 20's. It's a picture postcard of Christmas every day from December thru March!

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Serena_of_the_Dells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for the review Serena! I agree with you about those amazing views. We hope to Welcome you back again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Very nice resort high in the mountains not suitable for dissabled as many steps to climb. Most of the resort was closed for out of season at this time with only the shop and one bar open.
We stayed in Horse thief lodge there is no privacy as there is only one bedroom with a door on the walls are paper thin and you can hear what's going on next door

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for the review John. I agree that the stairs are challenging for many. The original construction was 1980's so it can be difficult if you have loud neighbors. The shoulder season is a quieter time at the resort with less amenities available but we hope you enjoyed the beauty of these majestic mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

as expected and explained good sevice only 2 resturant available
should take some food with you
you have to drive to the big pool with hot tub
all ok i think it will be better in winter as the snow facillity more

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank aghattas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you very much for your review. The shoulder season here at the resort is quieter so this is excellent advice for future travelers. We hope that you will join us again in another season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This resort is a nice place to visit, however if you are not into skiing, mountain biking or golf (which my family is not) there is not a lot to do at the resort, other than some nice hiking around the area (watch out for bears!) and enjoying the pools. They do have tennis courts and mini-golf as well. Units are clean and well maintained, although showing some age. It appears some units might be getting updated? Staff were friendly and helpful; check-in/out was smooth. Lower level hot tubs appeared to need some cleaning.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank sredstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H, General Manager at Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for the review. I hope that you enjoyed the hiking in the region and the pools, mini-golf and tennis. We did have several units under construction this Spring that were getting new exterior decks. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hot tub. I have passed that along to the Pools team. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews