We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
12
38
21
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
38
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small town lobby coffee hot springs bare bones room was clean walking distance stayed nights nice hotel per night main floor would definitely stay here again motel lake kitchenette gear motorcycle pet
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

This was an unplanned detour off our original vacation path, but we were pleasantly rewarded. The town is tucked away in the mountains and this motel seem to have kept some "old styles", but not in a bad way.

We had a standard room with one queen bed. furnitures were antiquey, but kinda cute in its own way. We like it because it made us feel we were truly away from the city and the big franchises, but at the same time we still had access to all the necessary amenities. The bed was comfortable, flat screen tv discreetly mounted on the wall, and air conditioned (very important!).
The staff were nice and accommodating, and pointed out many things to do in the area. We loved the beach, the hot springs, the parks. Turns out there will be mushroom picking around the region in October! Maybe we will come back for some mushrooms.

Room tip: Call to book ahead if you can, we almost didn't get a room because they were busy. (maybe just the summer?)
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madburk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Beds were hard. Two women sharing a room and we were given a half bottle of shampoo (obviously not replaced when partially used by previous guests). Internet appeared to be turned off much of the time.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Mary_Pop800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I stayed in Selkirk Inn for one night. I arrived mid- evening and was the only guest. I tried to negotiate a discount given the time of year, the fact that I was the only guest and the very outdated room. The owner was unwilling to negotiate: "the tourist season is so short so we have to charge this price." The room was large enough but very outdated. I have no problem with an outdated room if the rate reflects this. The room had no character, thin blankets and everything was synthetic. Hotels do not have to be like this. I checked out the other hotel in Nakusp which charged the same price and was equally characterless. If Nakusp wants to develop its tourism sector, it should re-consider the hotel rates and seek to provide nicer accommodation. Perhaps there are B&Bs with more character in the area.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lludlam_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

This place although seems clean is terrible. No heat was turned on in December! Arrived to a very cold room. We booked in advance and asked for adjoining rooms and when we arrived we got a room with a little cubicle and a cot as the adjoining room - no window. There was no closet to hang up clothing. No coffee pot - coffee made in lobby in the morning and sits all day. No clock radio, no hair dryer - bare wood floor - COLD!. I had to ask for a spare blanket for each of the rooms- we finally had to pay and get two separate rooms just to get a closet. The lady was very rude and when I asked her if she could upgrade my parents because the hotel is empty !!! she refused and asked for more money. They obviously are all about the money and I stay in Winfield at the Super 8 regularly with awesome service - warm comfortable rooms, with everything you expect to have in a hotel room and the price is only $3.00 more than here and breakfast is included. Shame on them. No wonder no one else is staying here. Unfortunately we booked in advance and have paid so will stay here but will never return or recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolAnnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samNakusp, Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

We feel unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay, and will do our best to improve and upgrade according to needs and demand of costumers in this region. However, we recognize, and hope you can understand, that since we (a motel in a town of 1500) are not a big franchised establishment in a city with 10k+ population (i.e. Super 8 Hotel in Winfield), not all of our amenities measure to their standards. In the winter when we do not often have full occupancy, we usually keep several of each room type heated, plus whichever pre-booked rooms; and as more “walk-in” guests come in, we will heat up more rooms. This building being an old establishment, we’ve tried to keep some of its “antique” character while gradually upgrading its amenities in the few years since we came into its managerial position.

The day prior to your visit, we had a lot of guests, plus you wanted to check-in before the actual check-in time, we did not have all the warm rooms ready. However, your father who has stayed with us before and who had made the reservation for this trip, asked for a specific room and that room was preheated. The room he asked for was a two-bed room with a single in the connecting kitchenette room. We do not have suites or adjoining units, and your father who has been here is aware our amenities, so the “connecting room” is not a stand-alone unit, and was never intended to be a fully equipped room on its own.

We were able to accommodate your unannounced early check-in, because the room your father specifically asked for was heated and ready. The kitchenette had all necessary cooking utensils, coffee maker, toaster, and such. But you were unhappy with this reservation and asked for a change of rooms (from one room to two different type rooms), we can only place you in rooms that were not occupied the night before since your early check-in means other rooms have not been finished cleaning. Therefore you got a room that has not yet been heated up, and we think it’s not unbelievable that two rooms would cost more than one, but we were willing to offer a discounted rate for the two rooms, together at a price not much higher the one room you had booked before (actually a lot cheaper than the lowest price Winfield Super 8 has listed).

When we refused your request to further upgrade for free, you began complaining about everything we had and hadn’t in the room. When we offered to refund your charges in full so you could seek other possibilities, you refused that as well. In truth, hairdryer, coffee maker, iron and board can all be obtained from the front desk, or have brought to your door with a phone call. Being in this business, we know for a fact that not all motels have full in-room amenities, but are happy to provide these up on request. In our case, these have not been placed in the rooms simply because of the old structure of the motel did not incorporate them, and upgrading infrastructure takes time.

Despite your negative review, we will take your criticisms to heart and do everything we can to serve better in the future. We would also be happy to serve you again, and please make sure you inquire about or put in any special requests at the time of reservation.


Sincerely,

Selkirk Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Camping with kids and hotsprings we stayed here one night and organized all our stuff there was 5 of us, we filled our cooler with ice again with the ice machine in the hall.
The coffee was down the hall in the morning. It was clean, the owner is nice. A good place to re group and shower. Not a destination.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModLebowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews