We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was delicious but the service was EXCEPTIONAL (10/10)”
Review of Robert's Place

Robert's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves in creating honest and satisfying breakfasts, lunches and dinners from 8 am to 8 pm, 7 days a week. All menu items are available for take-away.
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The food was delicious but the service was EXCEPTIONAL (10/10). There is obviously a lot of love and care that goes into the food and service, which left us smiling and content throughout our time at the restaurant.

From the moment we arrived at the restaurant, David and the team made us feel like we were at home; REAL SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY (David is from Virginia). We sat out on the patio which was beautifully adorned with hanging baskets full of colourful flowers. The atmosphere was very relaxed; This is exactly the place we were looking for.

Food (taste:8/10, variety/creativity 9.5/10): A very creative menu that caters to all dietary needs. We told David we were vegetarian and he was very excited to share all of the delicious vegetarian options that were available to us. We had the mushroom wellington with a salad (David added in a miso gravy on the house) and the black bean burger with fries). Both were presented very nicely and were very satisfying. David showed us some of the vegetarian specials that they've been putting on recently; they sounds amazing, we'll have to come back and try (see the photos attached).

Affordable: Both entrees were very reasonable at $12.50 each; there was plenty of food.

Overall, highly recommend this place. Thank you David for being so warm, kind and caring, you're a true gem!

Next time we are on Gabriola, we will definitely be coming back to Robert's.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_and_David, Owner at Robert's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much Oliver, for the very lovely review and kind words about me. It really means so much to me. It was so wonderful to meet you both and I thank you for both for your kindness when you were at our restaurant. I truly hope to see you both again someday.
Best Wishes: David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Roberts place offers very tasty food. The desserts are fantastic everything is fresh baked. Plus they offer “theme” nights like taste of India etc. Robertt, his partners and staff always make you feel welcome

Thank richm0nd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This place gave us exactly what we wanted- amazing food and the true Gabriola experience. Thanks to David for being such an amazing host!!

Thank Seaside763975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_and_David, Owner at Robert's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. This means so much to me and really warms my heart. With so much gratitude and thanks!
Best Wishes; David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Eating here is a treat! We had dinner last night with friends to celebrate a birthday and the food - especially the sauces and dressings - was delicious. And the memory of the best vegan chocolate birthday cake ever (vegan or otherwise) on another occasion - a few years ago - still lingers!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank n0screennamethanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

My wife and I were in a few days ago and were fortunate enough to be there when they had the Wor Wonton soup on the Specials list. My wife had the soup and I chose the Garlic Prawns/Caesar Salad special. Probably the best Wor Wonton soup we've had in a long time. Ditto for the Garlic Prawns. Finished the dinner with a really choice chocolate cream pie.
Thanks guys.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spiinyynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert's Place also viewed

Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
Gabriola Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Robert's Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing