We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give yourself time! ”

Remington Carriage Museum
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Cardston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This site features an impressive collection of horse-drawn carriages and provides exhibits relating their history and part in life during the 1800s.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We got to the museum around 3:30pm and it closes at 5pm so we were sure to make the most of our time there. (I would recommend giving yourself more time to enjoy it!). As we arrived they had just started a short video and then right after that a guided tour started, the timing was perfect. The guided tour is a must, the guide was full of information and stories and was quite funny too.
The museum staff were nice, the presentation was well laid out and all in all it was great. Wish we would have had time to have a carriage ride and slow down to enjoy it more but all in all totally worth the stop!

1  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Do come again, and we can make sure you get a carriage ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"carriage museum"
in 17 reviews
"horse drawn"
in 10 reviews
"guided tour"
in 8 reviews
"different types"
in 5 reviews
"restoration shop"
in 5 reviews
"restoration area"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"ask questions"
in 3 reviews
"huge collection"
in 3 reviews
"step back in time"
in 3 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 2 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 2 reviews
"daily life"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"by accident"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful collection"
in 2 reviews
"icing on the cake"
in 2 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

i really enjoyed this museum and only found out about it by accident as it has not been publicised at all during my journey, but it was worth the detour. i am pleased i arrived before the tour started as this was the highlight, the young man delivering the tour was very good, he was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all questions from the group. as some of the carriages are quite big i was impressed with their display, there was a lot of information which you can read or not depending on your preference and i liked that they showed you before and after restoration. i really recommend this museum. i suggest you call ahead to find out about the times of tours as this really brought the exhibits to life. it wont be for you if you have no interest in history.

Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks for coming, I am glad you enjoyed your guided tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

So good! If you enjoy history about horses, this is an excellent place to tour. This museum is filled with examples of what was "the" way to get around in style prior to the automobile. Covers what a coachman and footman did. How carriages were designed to allow those of society to "be seen" etc. So many restorations. Well worth the trip. Plan for a full day in order to get the entire museum covered as there is so much to see and read. The movie is worth the 15 minutes too!

2  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The carriage museum was the only reason I went to Cardston. Was nice to see. Too bad I wasn't able to visit at a different time of year and see the horses and go for a drive. (Would be nice if they gave a discount for these times when one can't do or see quite as much).
Staff were great.

2  Thank Way2Tyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for coming I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We do not include the fee for a carriage ride in our admission, but we do keep at least two horses on site for visitors to see out at the barn. We know a carriage ride makes the visit even better, but we do not have the staff or budget to provided this service in the off season. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Your pleasant surprise will start as you pull into the parking lot. The grounds are beautiful and elegant. As you enter, you realize this is something special. Every sort of carriage and horse-drawn item you can imagine is in here. This will require some time as the inside is done as nicely as the outside. This is not just old stuff. This is beautifully restored and well organized history. Easy to get around....all indoors, clean neat and reasonable. A highlight is the workshop where they do restorations for customers. They will take a few moments to talk to you about their work and they are clearly very good at it. This was a great stop as we returned from Canada to the US. I could go back here and spend the day. If you enjoy old school craftsmanship, you will love this place.

2  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for your kind words! Please come again and see our new McLaughlin Display that tells the story of the McLaughlin Carriage Company and their journey into the automotive age. If you find yourself up here again we would love to have you come by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Remington Carriage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Remington Carriage Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing