We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to have seen this”

Remington Carriage Museum
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Cardston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This site features an impressive collection of horse-drawn carriages and provides exhibits relating their history and part in life during the 1800s.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The carriage museum was the only reason I went to Cardston. Was nice to see. Too bad I wasn't able to visit at a different time of year and see the horses and go for a drive. (Would be nice if they gave a discount for these times when one can't do or see quite as much).
Staff were great.

2  Thank Way2Tyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for coming I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We do not include the fee for a carriage ride in our admission, but we do keep at least two horses on site for visitors to see out at the barn. We know a carriage ride makes the visit even better, but we do not have the staff or budget to provided this service in the off season. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Remington Carriage Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016

Your pleasant surprise will start as you pull into the parking lot. The grounds are beautiful and elegant. As you enter, you realize this is something special. Every sort of carriage and horse-drawn item you can imagine is in here. This will require some time as the inside is done as nicely as the outside. This is not just old stuff. This is beautifully restored and well organized history. Easy to get around....all indoors, clean neat and reasonable. A highlight is the workshop where they do restorations for customers. They will take a few moments to talk to you about their work and they are clearly very good at it. This was a great stop as we returned from Canada to the US. I could go back here and spend the day. If you enjoy old school craftsmanship, you will love this place.

2  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for your kind words! Please come again and see our new McLaughlin Display that tells the story of the McLaughlin Carriage Company and their journey into the automotive age. If you find yourself up here again we would love to have you come by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I love going to museums especially if you will learn more about history. I like vintage/antique stuff because it will tell you a lot of stories from the past. I saw a huge collection of carriage over the years! Some were even allowed to ride on so that you can take a picture. For 25$, it's not bad Coz they posted a lot of information even during war time with the use of carriage. It's very educational and we even tried to ride a carriage with big horses. I will treat my family here next time.

2  Thank arwen_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Guest Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit! Come again and check out our new displays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Having heard of this, I was glad we finally got a chance to walk around and here both the director's presentation and the film in the theatre. One of the gems of Alberta.

1  Thank Stirling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for your visit and your kind words! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

this is a great way to spend a day kids and all. the various sleighs, wagons and carriages are interesting but the docents and the plaques have so much information presented in an interesting fashion. the movie about seabiscut and his Alberta born jockey was icing on the cake.it shows how they were used and how styles changed as needs changed. winter and summer rural school transport was eye opening.

1  Thank mawt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardston123, Public Relations Manager at Remington Carriage Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit and your tour. We love hearing how much people love the stories that go with the horse-drawn vehicles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Remington Carriage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Remington Carriage Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing