We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
4
3
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
2
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2006

Originally booked into the 4* Yavor in Golden Sands. Last minute, we were moved to the Golden Yavor which was a 4* superior. Should have been rated 3* . Reception only had 2 people who could speak english well enough to be understood. Seemed to cater more for Germans. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and german sausage every morning. No entertainment on at all. First night there a prostitute had hired one of the apartments on the ground floor and left the curtains open for everyone to see her with her 2 men clients!
Prostitutes are everywhere in Golden Sands. We hated the resort aswell as the hotel - very tacky with no decent shops - beggars and pick pockets made a good living. We were ripped off by the taxi driver who transfered us from airport , he charged us 3 times what he should have done. Sewerage running down the main street (drains couldn't cope with the rain they'd had the week before)
We thought because it was a med hotel it would be ok. - it wasn't. The rep was useless, he gave us wrong information on a trip went to in Istanbul (we wouldn't have gone if we'd have known the truth). When we complained he couldn't have given a ****. Will not go to another med hotel.
We went to Bulgaria for a cheap last minute holiday but it really wasn't worh it , Blackpool would have been a far better option!

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moneypenny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Was very worried after reading reviews but hotel was not that bad. Could not find TV control but after asking at reception a new TV and control was deliv ered while we were out walking. The pool area was not that impressive but we just walked to the Hotel Golden Yavor across the road and used that. Hotel was very cheap probably three star rather than four star.

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cliff04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Stay away from this hotel at all cost and i have three reasons why

reason 1 the staff the most useless and unhelpful bunch of people ever to work in a hotel

reason 2 the pool only swim in it if your in it for a claim dangerous as friday night in temple bar

reason 3 the food oh my god a kebab from abrakakabra on a sober night tastes like heaven compared to this

and one little story while we were staying there another irish girls passport was robbed from behind the desk the hotel didn't help at all and she had to fork out over €800 euro just to get home.

so please stay away

Date of stay: July 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank andrews3ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

Firstly, I need to explain what we're like as a couple and what we wanted out of this holiday. We're open minded people, happy to try out new things and visit somewhere different which is why we decided to go here instead of the usual places in greece/spain etc.

We essentially wanted a beach break. And we got a beach break. It was lovely and hot and we stayed in 'Hotel Yavor', a supposed four star hotel, which was a very convenient 5 mins stroll to the beach. However, as a couple, we also like a bit of class (desperately trying not to sound like a snob). Although the cocktails and food were cheap there was only so many times we could eat in a restaurant with rather unappetizing pictures of food on their menus. They obviously haven't mastered the art of a fine quality bar or restaurant just yet. More or less everything came with chips and a funny combination of everything you could think of on the plate.

When we fancied going to a 'nice' bar with good music and trendy layout, they were few and far between. Most places played loud eastern european house of some sort or traditional bulgarian music. Which of course is fine as it is after all the real bulgaria we wanted to experience. But anyone thinking that the night life would be on par with say barcelona or berlin will be highly disappointed. Not unless of course you're a young single lad. If so, you'd probably have an excellent time. Practically all the women there are stunning. They're confident and not afraid to dress provocatively. So much so that the bar maids in the local club we went to called 'Arrogance', all wore such short dresses you could see their nickers. Quite an eyeful for the lads.

And coming back to the supposed four star hotel, there was nothing remotely special about this one. In fact we got the distinct impression that the staff didn't give a flying #!*# about their paying customers. But that could have been because of the language barrier. Although I usually give people the benifit of the doubt, it wasn't a coincidence that everyone we encountered in the hotel (except the lovely cleaner) made no effort to make us feel welcome and failed to do there job properly. But of course as with most things, we could have just been an unlucky couple.

So, if you don't mind the above mentioned things and are just out to top up your tan, play in the rough black sea (best bit about the holiday!) and drink cheap cocktails, go to Varna.

I strongly believe that each place is to be discovered by the eyes of the individual. So have a wonderful time and remeber the name of the club...Arrogance.

Ta ta

A

Date of stay: June 2006
3  Thank Tubbstherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Just come back from a two week stay at the Yavor Palace Hotel in Sunny Beach.
Had a great time, if you go please say hello to Peter at the pool bar from us, he’s a sweetie, he needs to pratice his English so it would be great if you could spend a bit of your time talking to him. Try and take small denominations in Levs as the staff are not given floats so don’t have change.
We had no problems with the food, they have had an English consultant chef out there to get tings right, we could always find something that took our fancy. The staff are very good, rooms clean, and the drinks at the hotel are cheep as long as you stick to the Bulgarian drinks, try the Bulgarian brandy better than any of the French cognacs. Love the Bulgarians love Bulgaria. Please remember it's a poor country, you'll love the people they don't have much but they'll share it with you. We're going back as soon as we can

Barry & Jo

Date of stay: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Discover17865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews