We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #14 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Firstly i think i stayed at a different hotel to the previous reviewer we came back from a 10 day stay at the lion on the 11th June on the plus side the rooms were large and very clean ,daily towel change ,the hotel was in an excellant position close to the beach ,shops and bus stop without the noise .On the minus side we found restaurant staff to be efficient but surly also the girl on the exchange bureaux was mannerless and did not know how to smile, reception staff pleasant bar one .Sunbeds were cramped with no mattresses .My main gripe was the food breakfast was repetative but okay evening meals were awful we checked every night but ate out instead maybe as british people were a minority this is why ?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    106
    29
    18
    7
See reviews for
60
114
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirgoviste
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just come back from our 4 days holiday at Lion hotel. We were very pleased with everything from the beginning.
We checked in immediately after arriving to the hotel. We had a spacious room with a huge bed. The room was clean every day and the towels were changed on daily basis, too. We had a "view to the sea", but unfortunately the were other buildings that blocked it. The mini bar was filled with all sort of things that were not so expensive. The air con worked very properly , without making a lot of noise. The restaurant was nice and we were able to eat on small terrace.at the ground floor. The breakfast and dinner were tasty and as soon as the food was finished the the trays were filled up immediately..So, do not worry, there is always food, even though you are arriving late. The hotel has two pools- one bigger and one for the children. We have used the pool only once to see how it is. The water was very clean and it did not had a funny smell like the other pools. But who uses a pool when the sea was so warm and welcoming....
The weather was so nice and we went to the beach every day. The beach is situated 10 minutes walk away. from the hotel.
The personnel speaks very good English and they were always welcoming us with a smile- same thing goes for the waiters.
I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traveler200782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We enjoyed a week there last summer and we have fond memories. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and we had nothing to complain about. It is a little bit away from the beach but it is the advantage when you want to be away from the crowds.
We already booked a week there in July. This time more friends have joined.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRaykovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel was clean and the rooms were large enough and comfortable. the pool was clean and the pool area was big enough for the size of the hotel. We were half board, but after the first day we did not eat at the hotel, it was bland, limited and luke warm at best. the hotel is in a quiet location which is nice and we were not hassled by 'sales'. The main beach & strip is about 10 minutes walk away. Overall we had a reasonably good time in the hotel & great fun in sunny beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here for 10 nights and i must admit, from the moment i arrived (in the late early hours) the 'manager' at the reception desk was very rude. There was a few nice staff members such as the bar man and a couple of waitresses but the rest was extremely rude! Even when politely asking for cutlery or a drink i didn't get a response i just got ignored!
The staffs English was very poor, although i must admit, i wasn't sure if most of the time they was pretending they couldn't speak good English to get out of answering questions.
When they did speak to you they tutted at you, rolled their eyes and gave you a blunt response!
The maids in the hotel openly come into your hotel room and start cleaning when you are still in there getting ready for the day.
The food was very bland and appeared to be the same food most nights!
The pool is also very cold!
The rooms are nice and spacious and are kept clean although the sofa bed in the room is very uncomfortable and the shower often ran out of warm water!
This sounds like a very negative review but the hotel staff really did ruin the atmosphere of my holiday for being so rude and unhelpful! Along with the Russians as we was the only English in the hotel i could not believe how rude they was!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,340 reviews
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
608 reviews
2.1 km away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 220 in Sunny Beach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#19 of 220 in Sunny Beach
463 reviews
1.2 km away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#10 of 220 in Sunny Beach
337 reviews
3.9 km away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 220 in Sunny Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Property: LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,047 - ₹ 7,506
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing