We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #13 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very rude staff!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here for 10 nights and i must admit, from the moment i arrived (in the late early hours) the 'manager' at the reception desk was very rude. There was a few nice staff members such as the bar man and a couple of waitresses but the rest was extremely rude! Even when politely asking for cutlery or a drink i didn't get a response i just got ignored!
The staffs English was very poor, although i must admit, i wasn't sure if most of the time they was pretending they couldn't speak good English to get out of answering questions.
When they did speak to you they tutted at you, rolled their eyes and gave you a blunt response!
The maids in the hotel openly come into your hotel room and start cleaning when you are still in there getting ready for the day.
The food was very bland and appeared to be the same food most nights!
The pool is also very cold!
The rooms are nice and spacious and are kept clean although the sofa bed in the room is very uncomfortable and the shower often ran out of warm water!
This sounds like a very negative review but the hotel staff really did ruin the atmosphere of my holiday for being so rude and unhelpful! Along with the Russians as we was the only English in the hotel i could not believe how rude they was!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    100
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
50
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel was very clean in fairly good location, away from all the noise. Rooms decent size with good maid service. We were on 5th floor, so our balcony had no cover, so when it rained we were unable to use the balcony as everything was soaking wet ad the floor was slippery. Aslo had two evenings where we had no hot water to shower, mentioned it to reception, but they were not that interested really. The food was not good, but edible, the choice was very limited and kept repeating itself, having sprouts or broccoli with hard boiled egg and frankfurter is not my idea of breakfast! The hotel consisted mainly of German and Russian guests only heard one other couple speaking English. Some of the staff were very unhelpful, whereas others were fine. We asked reception where our homebound times were in the reception to be told they don't put up the English flights!! So had to call our rep who we only saw the day we got there, no sight of her the rest of the holiday. There is nothing to do in the hotel and the small swimming pools are very cold. Would certainly go back to Sunny Beach, but not this hotel. Next time we are going to an apartment as the food is so cheap and there are brilliant restaurants around with good food, just a shame that we had to use them so much after paying for half board.

Room Tip: Do not have room on top floor as no cover on balcony. Eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is in a great location just back from the beach 10 min walk, The rooms are big enought and the staff are really freindly, Thats the good. The food is where is goes BAD on our frist night we went to the restaurant for dinner there was a limited selection and so I went for the chickhen when i cut into it it was only half cooked, I went back to the serving area and told one of the waiting staff and she took the chicken away so i was happy they had paid attenion the problem is 10 mins later another tray came out and it was the same. I spoke to the manager who said it would not happen again but we didnt eat there again. But i would stay there again just stay out of the restaurant. There are loads of good place along the beach anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foxy1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just back from a two week stay at this hotel. Couple of hitches at start of holiday. When we got there at 6pm our room was not available until the following day. We had booked an apartment with two rooms (interconnecting door) but were given a room with a six foot bed and a sofa bed for the night. The room was good but we could not relax and unpack. The following day we were shown the room we were supposed to be in and were really pleased with it. A really large room with a six foot bed and a double and single sofa bed (sofa beds not very comfy). The room was huge. Then there was another large room with a six foot bed. There were two bathrooms, one in each room with plenty hot water. More than enough space for 2 adults, and 3 teenagers. We also had a south facing balcony that overlooked the 2 pools. The pools were immaculate and a lifeguard was there all the time. There is a small bar beside the pool and a snack bar selling pizza and kebab. £1.25 for a large slice of pizza and £2.50 for a chicken kebab. There are 3 supermarkets within 100 yards of the hotel. The beach is a very slow 10 minute walk and there is also a huge promenade with shops and restaurants there too. We were half board and the breakfast consisted of the usual continental type food, cheese, ham, salad, bread rolls, sliced bread that you could also toast. A variety of eggs, hard boiled/poached, scrambled, baked beans, pasta, hot dog sausages etc. Evening meals were varied and consisted of fish, chicken, pork in different sauces, rice, salad, sausage etc. One night a week usually Thursday were pizzas. Desserts were mainly fruit or ice cream. Nothing fancy but definately edible without an upset tummy. Coffee and tea available at breakfast and you need to buy your drinks for the evening meal but they do not rip you off too much a decent bottle of wine will cost about £10. Sunbeds are always available up to around 9am - 10am so no need to rise early to reserve them. A lot of nationalities use the hotel but everyone was fine. No entertainment in the hotel which is great if you just want a relaxing holiday. There is a night club about 200 yards away but never heard a single noise from it. Beer costs about £1.50 a pint and some bars offer it for 50p a pint in happy hour. Loads of activities on the beach. Hire of 2 sunbeds and a parasol on the beach is about £11 per day. Family of 5 ate out one lunchtime. All had pizza/pasta in a beachfront bar with drinks and ice cream for kids for £25. Only downside to the hotel for us was that when we switched rooms the bell boy took our cases to the new room. Unfortunately he dropped the case with my laptop in it and it broke the screen. The hotel would not pay for the repair as their insurance does not cover damages. ~We were offered the safe free of charge for the whole of our stay due to the inconvenience of our room not being available when we arrived. The staff were always polite and helpful. This is a true and accurate report of this hotel and the negative comments can only be from a reflective image of the complainer. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed when you left them on the floor. Bedding changed a couple of times a week. All in all the rooms were spotless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caz13en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Lion in Sunny Beach with my parents, who live in Romania and booked this hotel for us. It is a modern building with an attractive but cramped pool area outside. The front desk staff are helpful upon arrival and spoke good English (among other languages) and we were given adjacent rooms quickly. The rooms are basic, but appear to have been recently refinished (a 'damage list' provided on the desk will alert you to the expense of causing too much ruckus; maybe that's an issue in Sunny Beach: it's sort of like Bulgaria's version of the New Jersey Shore!). Every room has a balcony, some of which have views over the pool. A buffet breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate, but don't expect anything remotely fancy -- it's a rather cursory affair, with limited choices likely to only appeal to certain palates. That said, everything I did eat was very fresh tasting and satisfying. Breakfast is a similar story: the Bulgarian yogurt is excellent but I did not find the rest of the offerings as appealing. If you're a coffee addict as I am, you'll want to avoid the stuff they provide for free. Do yourself a favor and order some coffee from the bar: it's inexpensive and rather good. Be warned that many amenities in the hotel, such as safe deposit boxes, parking, and beach towels are levied an extra fee. Location wise, it's not the closest to the beach -- you're about a block out , but it's near a few clubs and bars, as well as a corner store that'll keep you stocked of the sorts of food one needs for a beach vacation (provided that you, like me, find the pairing of beer and potato chips an epiphany) and allows you to further undercut the reasonable minibar charges. Safety was never an issue; there are always people around and many families as well as younger folks. I haven't sampled any other hotels in Sunny Beach, but as much as I can tell from speaking with others, the Lion compares with other 'four star' hotels in town. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would consider it again on another trip to Sunny Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a poolside view; their are two buildings with the pool in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 km away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#23 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#16 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.2 km away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Property: LION Hotel Sunny Beach
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,955 - ₹ 6,517
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing