We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning”
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #26 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from Bulgaria andbeen there for a week staying at The Diamond Hotel. The only good thing about the hotel is the location, our balcony door didn't lock, the food was disgusting and did not accommodate the British/Irish- there was a microwave but even at that the food was more for the Germans, which there was alot of! Because we went in September the noise level wasn't a problem but the people were not friendly (we were told this was there nature) but they didn't even make an effort even when we were polite to them. When we read reviews before going we knew the food wasn't great, we assumed this was in the hotels but even the restaurants any better! they dont like their food hot apparently so most of our meals were cold! and the food was the same as the hotel, accommodating Bulgarians and Germans, however there are Subway's, Mc Donalds, Burger king and KFC.

Bulgaria itself is a nice place but i did not feel safe as i heard of a mugging at 11 am in the morning and a friend got her camera stolen! this may be due to it being more quiet at that time of the year but i was glad to go home. some people really enjoyed it however it wasnt for me and i will not be going back to sunny beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just returned from a two week all inclusive stay here, and had major reservations after reading some of the reviews on here.
This is not a 4* Hotel, more like 2 *`s as some have stated previously, and we booked a Bronze room which overlooked the road at the back of the hotel. We had no issues with noise, and slept soundly each night. The room was large, with TV, air con and even a fridge, with constant hot water for showering etc.
We found it strange that the rooms and corridors were carpeted, and they were in need of a clean, but this is down to guests who stay there that they are in this condition, not the staff.
The food was adequate, and there was always something you could find to eat. It wasnt the best, not by a long way, but it wasnt as bad as some have made out.
Yes, most of the staff were a little surly, but to be honest, I believe this is down to the way they were treated by some of the guests, who, in my opinion, were a collection of the most most ill mannered and ignorant people I have ever come accross when holidaying abroad, thank god for the contingent of English that were staying there who actually knew the meaning of please and thank you.
The All Inclusive bar is the Pool Bar, and all local drinks are served in plastic cups, but this is no different to Majorca etc, so we didnt have any issues with this.
The rooms were cleaned everyday day, with bed linen and towels changed every other day, without fail.
Like ourselves and our good friends who we travelled with, if you wish to avoid the 18-30s guests who stay here, then it is best to travel in September, as there is a more mixed age group without the noise.
One problem we encountered were that there are nowhere near enough sunbeds by the pool to accomodate all the guests, meaning you had to be up very early to secure your place, which we did on a couple of occasions, but I could see this being a major issue in high season.
Overall, we were pleasantly suprised after reading some of the horror stories on here, and our stay was very enjoyable. We will not be going back to this hotel when we visit again, as there are so many to choose from, but from our perspective, this hotel is not as bad as has been made out on here, and quite frankly, if you want everything to be like it is in England, then stay at home, we had a really good time here for a great price, and we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Tips......... Next to this hotel there is a Curry Restaurant which serves the best curry we have had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrTruey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel from the 19th August until 3rd September, and we had a great holiday, hotel wasn't what it was cracked up to be. We had the pool view which was amazing, however my boyfriend's cousin and his girlfriend came out a week after us and were given the road side view, which the rooms were a lot smaller than what we had. During our second week, a window got smashed outside of my boyfriend's cousins room, which was obvious it came from outside, but then went and complained at reception, and the woman on the desk automatically blamed them but nothing else was said and the window got fixed.We had no problems with our room. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the people, hardly anyone speaks english and they're mostly ignorant, and most people took the fact that the hotel is 18-30's to an advantage, and ran up and down the corridors at early hours screaming and shouting on and making as much noice as they possibly could. The rooms were cleaned every day and the location of the hotel is perfect, it's only a 5 minute walk to the restaurants and bars etc. We will definitely come back to Sunny Beach another year, but not back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms definitely seem to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gem91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Fantastic location right in the middle of everything. I stayed on a half board basis but only ate once in the hotel. Food was very basic and certainly not to my taste. Hotel is very clean and the rooms are adequete,we were unfortunate and stayed in a room overlooking the main road. It was impossible to sleep at night as the road is busy 24/7 .We were charged 50lev for a safety deposit box for one week. When I challenged the receptionist over this excessive charge all of a sudden she couldn't understand English. There is a bank right next door to the hotel, change your money there you get the best exchange rate and they do not charge commission.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at The Diamond just as the season was starting and the hotel was winding up for the summer season. The hotel itself we considered adequate but the food was frankly awful. We were offered essentially the same meal EVERY day and each morning the breakfast could only be described as "Eggy". If you didn't like eggs, you stayed hungry that morning.
The staff with a few exceptions were unfriendly and non communicative but the cleanliness of the hotel was fine, so we had no real complaints. If it's chap drink you're after then fine, sunny beach is for you. If it's a positive holiday experience you value then try some other place and some other hotel. Suffice to say, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Pool rooms to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyBoyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Yavor Palace
Yavor Palace
#135 of 222 in Sunny Beach
226 reviews
0.4 km away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#24 of 222 in Sunny Beach
265 reviews
3.1 km away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#120 of 222 in Sunny Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#21 of 222 in Sunny Beach
518 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#86 of 222 in Sunny Beach
111 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Regatta Palace
Hotel Regatta Palace
#157 of 222 in Sunny Beach
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Address: | Sunny Beach Center, Sunny Beach 8256, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range: ₹ 2,964 - ₹ 9,664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing